We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boyne Arms

Boyne Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Burwarton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Boyne Arms is a rare example of a large country pub that focuses on quality locally sourced food and service in a welcoming and comfortable environment, either in the less formal main bar area or the Dinning Room. Food is served at lunch and dinner Tuesday to Saturday and at Sunday lunch. The range of our menu feature fresh seasonal produce produced by the talented chefs in the Boyne Arms kitchen. The venue benefits from its secluded location amongst the Shropshire Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with access directly on to Brown Clee Hill from the pub and therefore is perfect for walks and short-breaks.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

After a nice long walk up Brown Clee Hill nine of us went for lunch at this delightful pub in a small village nearby with a B & B next door. Between us we had a good selection from the menu. We didn't have to wait long for the meal with all plates coming out together and the hot meals being piping. In particular the vegetable and cheese crumble was delicious. The battered cod was very tasty. The steak was lovely and the pulled pork was perfect. It was very good value for money off the lunchtime menu and I would recommend a visit as they have a good selection of ales as well. Thank you to the proprietor.

Visited April 2014
Thank BT3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Germany
2 reviews
“Friendly atmospheric restaurant with friendly waitress.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Discovered this nice Restaurant & Pub on our journey to Ironbridge. After a quite exhausting day we were looking forward to have a relaxed dinner. I ordered Ribeye steak which was brilliantly cooked and definitely worth the price. My friend followed the recommendation of the waitress and ordered the blue trout, which had been a tasteful nice dish.
We had a couple of ales afterwards which were draght on tab. All in all I can definitely recommend the venue. Really nice restaurant with good food and kind staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nilsweber88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had high hopes of this pub/restaurant but were sadly let down. Maybe it was chef's night off (it was a Tuesday) but I doubt whether any of the food had seen a chef as it all seemed to be from Brake Bros. A pretty tasteless starter of scallops and black pudding, very ordinary scampi and chips and a lamb tagine which was not at all good. The staff were fine, but the pub has very little charm and we came away knowing we won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4 Thank vamplew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoyneArms, Owner at Boyne Arms, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience at the Boyne last Tuesday. We are sorry that you appear not to have liked your meal and have now taken time to write. When we discussed your review with our staff they were amazed by what you had written, as they checked with you that every thing was satisfactory on the night and they said you also left a £10 tip.
We are a pub and try to provide our customers with honest food which we attempt to cook with care. We have never had our scallop dish described as lacking flavour. The large seared Black Pearl scallops served with pan fried authentic Bury black pudding, crushed garden peas and a brown butter and sweet vermouth jus,have bags of flavour you just can't make it disappear. the Lamb tagine is made with the best lamb which we source from Shrewsbury. this is marinaded in our own blend of 9 spices and freshly grown herbs for 24 hours before it is slow cooked for a further 4 hours so that all the flavours infuse and the meat is juicy and tender. I make no apologies for the fact that the scampi is delivered to us frozen. There are a number of grades which you can buy, we buy the best whole tail scampi. Deep fry it in clean oil and serve it with our own three times fried hand cut chips, which are made from Maris Piper potatoes, which are sourced from one of the farms on the Boyne Estate. All this is accompanied by our homemade Tartar sauce.
We buy the best ingredients, sourced locally if we can, and provide our customers with good honest food at reasonable prices. The 3 mains which you describe in such a scathing manner cost a little over £10 each. We aim to be an honest, unpretentious country pub selling good homemade food at reasonable prices. our menu starts from £5.95. We aim to provide a range of pub Food at around £10, and small number of fine dining dishes at slightly more which non of your party chose.
We are a small, hard working family business which will be significantly damaged by your comments, we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience as much as the hundred's of other people who eat at our pub every week and are disappointed that you will not be returning so that we could make amends. We only hope that the next time you make time to review another business that you are a little less quick to criticise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had a lovely lunch here. Two vegetarian dishes shared between us so that we could taste both dishes. Freshly cooked and both beautiful, tasty dshes that were satisfying on a grey dull day. Log fire made it welcoming too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRA8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“£5 lunch menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Went for a light lunch with the wife today, both of us had a meal from the £5 menu, BBQ pulled bap for me, roast ham and egg for the wife, both with chips (we only realised later the ham should have had peas too, o'well)
The place was quite, the service was good, the fires were lit, and we both enjoyed our meals.

Visited January 2014
Thank WoodyWoodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boyne Arms also viewed


Been to Boyne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing