We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely welcome”
Review of Common Barn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Common Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainow B&B and Inns
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This is is a very nice, homely place to stay. Stayed in room 3. Underfloor heating made room very warm and window needed to be open- heating takes ages to cool down when turned off, but once it did we only needed additional heat from bathroom radiator.
Comfortable guest lounge with large tv and pc for guest use. Free wifi. No mobile phone signal.
Location good, although approach farm track rutted so 4x4 useful.
Breakfast enjoyable, good choice. Nicely cooked to pre order
Only negative point was mattress- not comfortable, could do with replacing, as could some of pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw13abl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
41
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a one night stay whilst visiting relatives in Rainow. Our room was very clean and comfortable, couldn't ask for more. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a superb breakfast the following morning. All in all a great little find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had an excellent new year stay at one of their cottages which is about half a mile away from the B&B.

http://www.cottages-with-a-view.co.uk/cook-hill-cottage/

Everything is a very high standard from the solid furniture to the under floor heating and power showers. Plenty of room and the split level living room works well.

About 35 min walk from the nearest pub in Rainow, which had 3 or more real ales and home made pies on the menu. Some great walking and cycling opportunities.

I think we'll be booking it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blacklee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our small group could not ask for more in the way of kind hospitality. This was more than B&B because Rona was a fund of local knowledge - historical and geographical. And nothing seemed too much trouble for her.

Room Tip: The twin-bed room offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Want to get away from it all. This is the place. The whole Common Barn Farm B&B was once a barn and it has been converted in to the most welcoming and comfortable rooms you could hope to find. It is the type of place that you wake up at farm hours and wander around among the sheep, cows, ducks, geese and horses. Rona the hostess is real country friendly and provides the most wonderful breakfasts. This working farm is about 9 kms in to the Peak District National Park from Macclesfield (Derbyshire). The views are spectacular (I think ''The Peaks'' rivals The Cotswolds and The Lakes District for beautiful scenery). The scenery is so totally different to the rest of England and you can drive for miles & miles and marvel at the beauty of it all. It is broken by a number of little villages which are all fairly ancient and unchanged for 100's of years. It is my second visit the ''The Peaks'' and if I ever get back to the UK I will head straight there. Do your self a favour and book in nto this place. It is both B&B and i believe there is self contained for families. You will love it!

Room Tip: Stay a few days. One day is not enough to enjoy all this place has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Lovely location off the beaten track but not too far from towns, shops and places to eat. A friendly welcome and a very warm and comfortable family room was much appreciated. The breakfast was ample and tasty. Overall, a great place to stay if you want a traditional English B and B experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Common Barn now have a cottage further up the road which accommodates up to eight people. The cottage itself is a restored barn on the top of a hill with excellent views across the valley looking towards Whaley Bridge.

The cottage is extremely well appointed with three marble bathrooms (two of the rooms have an ensuite), underfloor heating, a large well equipped kitchen and reasonable size living spaces both up and down stairs. The cottage also has two large screen TV (if your into that sort of thing) and wifi that you can connect to, as mobile reception in the area is a bit hit and miss.

There are plenty of great walks which set off from your doorstep including a very pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk across the fields to the Common Barn Farm. The drive from the cottage across to Buxton via Errwood Reservoir is spectacular. Alternatively take your road bike and join the numerous cyclists who train in the hills around the area you won't regret it. This place is ideal for one or two families or those people who would prefer to self cater.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainow
1.3 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#4 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
17.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Barn Farm

Property: Common Barn Farm
Address: Common Barn Farm Smith Lane, Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Rainow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Barn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional working sheep farm is situated at 1200 ft above sea level, on the quiet, unspoiled western side of the Peak District National Park in Rainow, near Macclesfield, Cheshire. We enjoy excellent open countryside with far-reaching views over the Cheshire Plain to the Welsh mountains. On the farm we have five Bed and Breakfast rooms, plus two self catering holiday cottages in tastefully converted stone barns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Common Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing