We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook Hill Cottage”
Review of Common Barn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Common Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent our second Christmas at Cook Hill Cottage and again it was superb. Two sisters husbands & grown up off springs just the perfect place, Rooms for young & not so young to do there own things. Amazing walks then back to 5 star accommodation what more could you ask. We all love to cook & the kitchen is so well appointed and with the most amazing table Christmas dinner is a doddle!! Rona is always on hand at a discreet distance if help is needed.Thank you for everything Rona. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellabutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Common Barn Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed here two nights, views are amazing! There's hardly any network inside the building. One night me and my partner decided to order some Indian takeaway. The B&B owner was nice enough to order the food for us. She said she'd set some plates out for us to eat in the tea room. Once our food arrived we decided we'd rather eat our own room instead of the tea room whilst watching TV. After a few minutes the owner knocked on the door, she wasn't happy that we were eating our take out in the room, she didn't want the room to smell of curry or us to stain anything, which was understandable. However, we paid for the room, and we've stayed in a lot of other places, this has to be the first time where we weren't allowed to eat in our own room. Apparently it was a rule which we weren't aware of. When she told us she'd leave the plates out in the tea room we thought she was just being nice. Also, we're not kids and we're definitely not animals to stain any furniture or the carpet. The owner was very upset, which again is understandable, but from our perspective we didn't do anything wrong, she told us she wanted to ask us to leave but she won't. This put us in a bad mood for the whole two nights we were there. Overall the place was really nice and the views were amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalmaBegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g_greengrass, Owner at Common Barn Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Apologies for the situation regarding the food, it should have been made clearer that hot food is not allowed in the bed and breakfast rooms. This is because accidents do happen, so we want to safeguard against spills, but also prevent lingering odours for future guests. If guests wish to eat hot food, we happily provide plates and cutlery so they can eat in the breakfast room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a very homely stay in a beautiful location. Right in the middle of a running farm, the B&B is warm and cosy. The room was really comfortable and had some very cute little kitsch features. It was warm and spotless. We had a thermostat in the room so we could control the temperature. This was handy as being almost 7 months pregnant, I get really hot, even when staying in the coldest place in England. I needed an extra pillow which I asked for at breakfast and when we got back we found a brand new comfy pillow waiting for us.

The lady running the B&B gave us as much advice as we needed on what to do and places to eat as well as cooking up a smashing breakfast.

I'd love to stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EilisNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent 11days at Cook Hill cottage and had the most wonderful time. The cottage was ample size for my husband and I plus daughter, husband and 2 children. Everything supplied that you could possibly need, it was just like being at home. We entertained family in the beautiful kitchen/dining room and it was just perfect. Roma was a great host and basically gave us the privacy to enjoy our holiday. The views were amazing. We would love to come back one day. Thank you Rona.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just had 2 nights in this B & B, Set in beautiful surroundings, with breath taking views from every aspect.
A warm friendly welcome from the owners. Spotlessly clean and very spacious. Great breakfast. Can not fault it. Would definitely recommend it.
Very good free wifi connection. Stayed with family, used the lounge both nights. Felt right at home.
Rona and Geoff should be very proud, they run an awesome B & B
A licenced bar would have made it just perfect!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1, family room, very nice & spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinegary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A very hospitable B&B on a real upland farm with real sheep, real sheep dogs and, above all, real breakfasts! Slimmers will need to avoid the temptation to eat more!

Our room was spotless and comfortable. The location is a great antidote to the claustrophobia of the city. Phone signals there are very weak - perhaps a blessing in disguise - but there is a communal PC with Internet and also wi-fi (a bit patchy).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and everything is thought of and provided. Mrs Rona Cooper is very pleasant and produces a lovely, healthy breakfast (with choices) every morning. The area around the farm is breathtaking, the air is fresh and it is an idyll of quietness and peace. There are lots of places to visit in the area, from stately homes to museums and wonderful walks and hikes in the Peaks. I highly recommend Common Barn Farm for a long weekend or a full holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeangela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainow
1.3 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
3.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Barn Farm

Address: Common Barn Farm Smith Lane, Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Rainow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainow
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Barn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional working sheep farm is situated at 1200 ft above sea level, on the quiet, unspoiled western side of the Peak District National Park in Rainow, near Macclesfield, Cheshire. We enjoy excellent open countryside with far-reaching views over the Cheshire Plain to the Welsh mountains. On the farm we have five Bed and Breakfast rooms, plus two self catering holiday cottages in tastefully converted stone barns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Common Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing