We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Common Barn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Common Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainow B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed twice at Common Barn Farm. It is set in gorgeous countryside and there are many beautiful walks. There are also many great pubs, restaurants and things to do in the area. The rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. There is also a great sitting room with fantastic views, a TV, Wii, wireless internet access and books. Rona runs the B&B and could not be more helpful, kind and friendly. The breakfasts that she cooks are amazing - all made with locally sourced produce.

We will definitely go back: hopefully many times. It is so nice to be on a working farm with the sounds of the sheep, the birds and the cows, but with all home comforts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here one night for our anniversary as stayed here the previous year and wanted to make it our yearly stay.

On entry to the room, everything looked nice as did last year but in the bathroom floor was a bag with used tampons and other waste, which I figure was left when cleaning room.

We went to use the kettle which was stained yellow and the piping was worn, dated and filthy. We asked if we could have a different kettle, no apology was given for dirty one or rubbish in bathroom and a new kettle was supplied. This time the kettle had been glued shut and we couldn't get into to to fill with water, the third kettle we recieved actually had mould in it, and we where told to give it a clean in the room! Pretty appalling.

Shame this happened as we would have continued to book here yearly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie89Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Rhona the friendly hostess makes the place special. She is kind friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, on suite, spacious guest lounge and dinning room.
Great walks all around, would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirimewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the farm and Rona could not do enough for you. Clean, quiet and very warm Common Barn Farm is close enough to the busy city (you can see Manchester airport from the fields on the farm) but far enough away to feel you are in the middle of nowhere. Home cooked breakfasts with sheep at the door, Rona has a vast knowledge of the area. You only have to ask!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Such a homely b&b. Rona was so helpful and friendly- couldn't do more for us. Food was fantastic, with great choice. Rooms were comfortable, clean and QUIET- despite all guests being there for a wedding! Absolutely beautiful surroundings. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for two nights in January. A wonderfully warm, clean, comfortable B&B with amazing views and walks right from the door! Rona is a lovely lady, very helpful and a good cook! On arrival we were given a choice as to which room we wanted. All the rooms we saw were very spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice. In the evenings we ate at the Robin Hood pub in Rainow - we had the fish and chips and the steak and ale pie - both lovely, and at very reasonable prices. Will definitely stay at this B&B again - hopefully this summer.

Room Tip: Room 5 (twin) has a lovely view over the farm fields - also has a bath with shower over. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a lovely time here with a good group of friends.

The kitchen had EVERYTHING you need (but takes a lot of searching for). The rest of the cottage is extremely well done with beautiful surroundings.

Definitely worth a walk to the pub (about 20 mins downhill but a hell of a return walk uphill) and be sure to try the steak and ale pie!

Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsGuy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainow
2.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
14.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Barn Farm

Property: Common Barn Farm
Address: Common Barn Farm Smith Lane, Rainow, Macclesfield SK10 5XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Rainow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Barn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional working sheep farm is situated at 1200 ft above sea level, on the quiet, unspoiled western side of the Peak District National Park in Rainow, near Macclesfield, Cheshire. We enjoy excellent open countryside with far-reaching views over the Cheshire Plain to the Welsh mountains. On the farm we have five Bed and Breakfast rooms, plus two self catering holiday cottages in tastefully converted stone barns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Common Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing