We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

No amount of words would do justice to the beauty we experienced at Taj Exotica. The location of the resort is only the beginning to a wonderful holiday. The service and hospitality are impeccable. Dining at the resort was first class. The resort takes care of all your needs. Be it adventure or entertainment or just a lazing around the beach. Snorkelling at the Coral Garden is an experience no one should miss. Kudos to Mr.Girish Sehgal for steering his "ship" the right way. A big thank you to Mr.Hariharan for making it feel like home. Our butler, Adam and housekeeper Jameel made our stay extremely memorable. We met some great people during our stay.To sum up, at the end of our holiday, we felt a sense of ownership ! Bidding farewell was one of the most difficult things to do. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The deluxe lagoon villas are perfect for privacy for a couple. For families, the beach villas are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohiniBoppana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. We have communicated the same to Mr. Girish Sehgal, Mr. Hari, your butler Adam, Housekeeping attendant Jameel and the entire team at the resort who are all very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    83
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
203
848
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

How much ever one tries to express the experience it will still be less... you need to be there to be able to experience it. Everything was impeccable ... I wonder how do they manage things to be so perfect.
1) wonderful reception
2) Dedicated butler
3) Villas are very neat and very well maintained
4) Amazing food
5) Water sports are excellent I am amazed with the safety precautions and rescue procedures
6) Very friendly staff

When we arrived at the hotel “we were welcomed as a guest and were sent off as a friend”

Room Tip: Lagoon Villa beach is on either side and you are closest to Recepition, computer room, sports area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukhvinder v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of the property and our services. It gives us great pleasure to read that you came to the hotel as guests but left with many fond memories as our friend.

We are certain that your kind words of praise and appreciation will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable experience.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It has been designed as an edgy, modern resort that offers more than a romantic Maldivian escape.The rooms were big.The bathrooms were very clean.The staff was excelent.The hotel is the best.
I will recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

We are delighted to read your review post your stay with us. We have shared your wonderful feedback with the entire team at the resort and they are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable experience.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent property. We stayed in the deluxe lagoon Villas - really enjoyed our stay there. Be warned though that at night during high tied there is lot of noise (water hitting the wooden villa) and the villa shakes a bit! Water activities - snorkling, scuba diving, etc were of high order with excellent staff to guide you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

We would like to thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. Your feedback has been

Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives is nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in whole of Maldives measuring upto 200 acres approximately. Hence the water levels in the lagoon do not fluctuate much due to low and high tide. The over water bungalows are a unique feature of the Maldives and loved by almost all our guests. It is the sound of the water lapping under the villa which can be very soothing. However, Maldives being a tropical island nation can sometimes experience strong winds.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I went to the Maldives in July 2011, the Taj Exotica beingt the secong hotel I went to. The hotel was extremly beautiful, and I hated the time when we had to leave. The staff were really friendly and helpful. And the activites were endless. The Taj Exotica is a must-visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongTravelsKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We would like to thank you for your lovely review post your stay in July 2011 at our resort. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort very much. We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the resort and they are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Truly 5 star! Amazing place, very helpful staff, had a fantastic time, the best place I've been ever! The island is quite small but you feel like you're alone all the time. Great food, would highly recommend the Deep End restaurant!

Room Tip: we were in a standard villa without jacuzzi, those villas are located separately from the remaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoana_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

We are very happy to read your review post your recent holiday with us. It gives us great pleasure to learn that this was your best holiday ever and you loved the culinary offerings at the resort. You wonderful words of appreciation have been communicated to the entire team at the resort who are very happy to have received the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Before booking this holiday, we spent hours agonising over the few negative reviews that people gave this resort. I'm sure there are many people who, like me, read the negative reviews first and then often rule out a resort purely on that basis. So let me address the negatives first and put them in context of my 5 star review of the resort:-

Location - this is one of the closest resorts to Male (only 15 minutes speedboat transfer) and is directly in the flight path of the huge jets that land all day long. Some times this seems to be more noticeable than others and at peak times there is a jet about every 15 minutes and then nothing for a few hours. Having said that, once you are immersed in the luxury of your surroundings, you stop noticing them after a day or two.

Food cost - many people have raised this as an issue. You simply CANNOT compare prices with your local restuarant - this is the Maldives - the logistics of getting fresh food onto the islands are complex and lead to a high food cost. This is the reality of the Maldives. The Taj however has taken food quality to an unprecedented level in the Maldives - I am in awe of what they have managed to achieve here as the food is quite simply amazing - the cost is fully justified - budget for it or don't go to this resort. We stayed on a B&B basis - the breakfast menu is superb - no buffet, but rather a comprehensive a le cart menu that you can eat as much as you like from - this easily saw us through to dinner so we ended up only paying for our evening meal which came to around 120USD per night excluding alcohol. We ate one night at "The Deep End" which is an experience not to be missed - this was a bit more expensive but worth every penny - this could rival many Michelin starred restuarants that I have eaten in.

House reef - unfortunately there is no "house reef" at this resort so you might be disappointed if you are an avid snorkeller. There is however an abundance of marine life if you know where to look and the relatively calm waters enclosed by the delux water villas with pools yeilded the best variety of fish, particularly around the base of the columns supporting the wooden walkways to the villas. In one particular photo that I took I counted 7 different species of fish and there were at least 15 different varieties seen on any one day. Although there is a large amount of dead coral in this area, the Taj is actively growing fresh coral and planting new "frames" to encourage coral growth around the island - not something that I'm aware of many other resorts doing. Due to the lack of coral close to the shore, there is an "Ocean Pavillion" built in the sea a little off the shore just next to a lovely coral garden which makes good snorkelling - there is a "shuttle service" by speedboat out to this spot twice a day and this is the single criticism that I could possibly levy at the Taj - there is a charge of 15USD to use the shuttle - I feel this should be a complimentary service for guests or at least each guest should get one complimentary trip out there in view of the absence of coral accessible from the shore. After going there once I was inspired to go even further afield and gladly paid for the daily snorkelling trips with the resident marine biologist to nearby reefs and islands - these are well worth doing as the real beauty of the Maldives lies beneath the water and what you see above pales by comparison.

So those were the negaives. Onto the positives:-

Staff & service - every single staff member we dealt with was happy, friendly, professional. I don't know what system they use to recognise people but from the first day we were greeted by name everywhere we went. The service is without fault and rivals the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world - well done and full marks on this account.

Rooom and facilities - we had a delux water villa with pool - luxury and elegance, beautifully appointed, immaculately tidied twice a day. Perfect.

Spa - do yourself a favour and get over there - the Spa is a cut above the rest - the facilities are outstanding, the treatments comprehensive, the setting sublime.

Food and drinks - if you are a foodie you will love this place. We never had a single meal that we had any complaint with. Do be careful of the dishes marked with a chilli if you don't like spicy food - when they say spicy, they mean spicy. You can of course request anything to be made as you want it so make use of this. Even the bar menu was brilliant and we ended up eating there on 2 of the nights - of course that was probably down to the comprehensive cocktail menu that once we got started on was difficult to move away from .........

Location and setting - the island is tiny - approx 700m long and 25 to 30m wide was what we were told. It is however beautiful - walking through the trees to get to our villa was just fantastic. The layout of the sun loungers along the beach means that you never feel like there are many other people there with you.

Summary - this was not our first trip to the Maldives and certainly will not be our last. We went significantly over our budget on this stay but have no regrets and we would absolutely return to this resort in the future. If you can afford it - don't think, just book - you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Odd numbered water villas with pools are much more private than even numbered ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KunalArya, Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives.

We would like to thank you for your brilliant review post your recent stay at our resort. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us be it food, snorkelling with the resident marine biologist, relaxing and rejuvenation at the award winning Jiva Grande Spa. We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the resort who are all very happy to have received the same.

You would also be happy to know that in the month of November 2011, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives was hailed as “TOP GOURMET GETAWAYS IN MALDIVES” by the Conde Nast Traveller.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at our island paradise for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Kunal Arya
Senior Duty Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Email - kunal.arya@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emboodhu Finolhu
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,720 reviews
14.4 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,168 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
13.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,462 reviews
13.2 mi away
COMO Cocoa Island
COMO Cocoa Island
#1 of 1 in Cocoa Island
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa

Property: Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Address: 2117
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Emboodhu Finolhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emboodhu Finolhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-winning resort is a sublime fusion of luxury and nature. Nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in the Maldives. Accommodation is a choice between villas built entirely over water and beach villas. Pan Asian. World Progressive. In villa dining. Interactive dining. Or a romantic dinner for two under the stars... Dining is a culinary adventure. The acclaimed Jiva Grande Spa provides an extensive range of holistic treatments in the over water treatment rooms. Welcome to an island sanctuary where luxury and landscape merge to create a living experience that is one with nature. Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives is located on the exotic Emboodhu Finolhu Island, in the middle of one of the largest natural lagoons in the world. This tropical isle, once known as the 'Three Coconut Island,' ornamented with pale white sand and crystal blue waters is lush with tropical flora. The resort is only 15 minutes by luxury speedboat, available 24 hours, from Malé International Airport. The award-winning resort seamlessly extends the magic of the island's blessed natural beauty in its design even as it offers the finest in contemporary amenities and services. Luxuriously appointed villas and suites, private plunge pools and personal sundecks with endless views of the Indian Ocean, make this the perfect setting for a private retreat. Our Jiva Grande Spa, an authentic Indian spa, offers a range of ignature wellness experiences. A choice of bespoke dining experiences, water sports, and recreation options make for a complete and exclusive estination holiday. Taj Exotica Resort and Spa, Maldives, has been voted the Best Resort in Asia and the Second Best in the World.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Taj Exotica Resort And Spa
Taj Exotica Maldives
Taj Exotica Resort All Inclusive
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Maldives/South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing