We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefines Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Redefines Luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The resort simply redefines luxury - be it the place, the people, the villas or the food.

The place is simply surreal. You have to be there to believe a place like this can exist. No picture can do justice to this beautiful island. Even when the resort is full capacity, you'll hardly see people around, making you believe you are the only ones in the island. The property has a lot to offer and in our stay of 5 days not even once did we leave the resort.

The staff is extremely warm and friendly. The service is excellent. Room service always happened whenever we stepped out of our room and not at fixed timings. And room service happened multiple times a day - whenever we left our villa, each time leaving behind some sweet surprise! Wow!

We stayed in their Lagoon villa with plunge pool and what an experience! The magic was created right there. The endless ocean view from the bedroom, the bathtub, plunge pool, ocean deck, well the spell was complete!

Unlike other resorts in Maldives, Taj offers a great range of vegetarian menu. We tried almost all the vegetarian dishes each being a sheer delight. Breakfasts were definitely the most awaited meal - unlimited plated orders served at your table. What a relief from all the buffets! And its more than a buffet :)

Highly highly recommended for Honeymooners!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PriyankaGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your review. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us especially the vegetarian food and our team could make your stay memorable. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef Sheroy Kermani and his team along with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another wonderful and relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    81
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
193
829
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The villas at taj exotica completely live up to what you have heard about them and a bit more. The resort has some amazing scenic spots and is very very photo friendly.
There is not much to do around the resort as it is on a lagoon, hence reef snorkeling and scuba diving requires a trip into the ocean away from the resort.
But taj is perfect for a couples holiday away from all the touristy rush of Maldives and you know that you are one of the lucky ones who is getting to experience this luxury first hand. In terms of activities all the water sport options are available and there is the feeding of sharks and sting rays.

There are some great restaurants on the resort and the breakfast was one of the best I have had compared to all the hotels that I have been to.
All in all, go to Taj for some couple time and choose the water villas. It would turn out to be a perfect holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kediastuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

While Taj Exotica Resort & Spa is nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in the Maldives we do have great diving and snorkelling sites within a short distance of not more than 10-15 minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise for another wonderful and relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spend 7 unbelievable days in the most relaxed place you could imagine . The staff , food ,and the island itself were all we expected and more , The chefs on the island prepare every meal with a passion to please and every staff member bar none were friendly and polite .
Thank you to the management for giving us a late checkout (8 hours after checkout time) at no cost to assist with our flight times
Again thanks to all at the TAJ EXOTICA for giving us a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team made your holiday memorable. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa in the not too distant future for another wonderful and relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Belated write up. We visited in february for our honeymoon. Amazing place, great service from start to finish. You are greeted by their staff as soon as you arrive in the Maldives and are put in their own speedboat for a short ride to the island. The island is small and peaceful with the most lovely staff. Very relaxing and although it was full you wouldn't think so as it never appeared crowded anywhere. Lovely food and great rooms. We stayed in two types of rooms which were both great. The weather was perfect, no humidity and not too hot either. We were thoroughly looked after and had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your review. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our team made your honeymoon memorable. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa in the not too distant future for another wonderful and relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Came back from the Mt.Everest expedition in May, and needed to take a couple of days out for rest and recuperation. Maldives is paradise, and The Taj Exotica is fabulous in every way. The rooms/villas, the water, the food and service, all par excellence - proud of the Taj group of hotels as an Indian. Travelling for work and leisure we spend more than 80 nights a year in hotels. Taj matches up with the best - everytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdityaGupta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your review. We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get the much needed rest and recuperation. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The friendly and efficient airport arrival chaperone certainly knows how to keep a surprise. Their cheerful send off, "enjoy you stay" as you glide out from the airport jetty in the Taj motor boat, doesn't quite prepare the novice visitor at Taj Exotica. Taj does drop a hint here and there on the motor boat. Bvlgari freshen up kit for starters! But you are interested in spotting the resort looming in the horizon and growing bigger by the minute.
The arrival - distracted by the surf and spray surrounding the lagoon, imperceptably the boat slips into a channel and you are treated to a stylish James Bond flourish, a wide arc turn in the aquamarine lagoon.
Bring on the magic. Thereon, Taj Exotica's magic spell will hold you in thrall. The resort is fabulous. Disconnect from the world and let go. Time is measured by sun rise and sunset and the ebb and flow of the tide. Land lubbers can dig their heels at the beach, or the poolside or the Spa or at the library or simply give in to the tempting slumber.
If you have a yen for the water world, this is indeed your christmas wish come true. Pool, beach, snorkel, dive. We snorkeled in the lagoon from our over the ocean villa. Up close and personal with a dazzling array of fish. Not to be missed, the school of fish will follow you during your snorkelling trip around the ocean villa!
From spotting baby shark, to sting ray glide by in the lagoon and the resident heron making the daily visit at our villa pool, we were in raptures all through our stay. It is reminder of the intense effort put in by the hotel to be eco friendly.
24 degrees was our favourite, it is the all day diner, try the Maldivian fare if you are at peace with condiments and tropical spice flavours, also ensures low carbon footprint. We also used in room dining (room service) and nothing quite fazes the team at Taj. They will lay out a sumptuous spread in your ocean villa under the starlit sky and waves lapping below.
The most dramatic off course is the underwater special night lighting along the ocean villa walk way.
The team at the spa, the restaurants and off course the personal butlers, the house keeping team, the folks at the dive centre, the team at the reception, they make you feel good, pampered and happy. The experience was superlative.
The magic was created right there. The endless ocen view from - your bedroom, your bath tub, your personal plunge pool, your ocean deck, well the spell was complete!

Room Tip: Over the ocean villas, use the golf buggy if you have kids. These villas are near the spa, gym and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gm_on_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Maldives.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your wonderful review. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our team made your holiday memorable. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another magical and relaxing holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing is the first word comes in my mind whenever I am thinking about my last trip to Maldives at Taj exotica. I returned home with bag full of lovely memories.

To start with, I just loved everything they did. When we ( me,my husband and our kid) reached to our deluxe lagoon villa, I was surprised to see a baby crib, bottle sterilizer , toys, pacifier and lots of detailed preparation for us. Room was very beautiful with a pool attached and a deck. The sea view from the room and bathroom took my breath away.

Now comes the food : what a delicious food we had. I must say best food ever. We ate Mexican that was awesome ( best best ever ), Chinese, Italian, Indian and many more. Desserts were so mind blowing that while thinking about them brings water in my mouth. Master chefs at work!

Whole staff was so generous that whenever we interacted to any of them we felt like a family.

I must say its a must see place and if you are looking for a perfect vacation choose Taj for memorable trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rashmi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit P, General Manager at Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It gives us a great pleasure to read your wonderful review. We are delighted to learn how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, especially the award winning culinary offerings. I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the resort and they appreciate the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa in the not too distant future for another wonderful holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Ranjit Phillipose
General Manager
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emboodhu Finolhu
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
14.4 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
13.2 mi away
COMO Cocoa Island
COMO Cocoa Island
#1 of 1 in Cocoa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Exotica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Resort & Spa

Property: Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Address: 2117
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Emboodhu Finolhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emboodhu Finolhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-winning resort is a sublime fusion of luxury and nature. Nestled amidst one of the largest lagoons in the Maldives. Accommodation is a choice between villas built entirely over water and beach villas. Pan Asian. World Progressive. In villa dining. Interactive dining. Or a romantic dinner for two under the stars... Dining is a culinary adventure. The acclaimed Jiva Grande Spa provides an extensive range of holistic treatments in the over water treatment rooms. Welcome to an island sanctuary where luxury and landscape merge to create a living experience that is one with nature. Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives is located on the exotic Emboodhu Finolhu Island, in the middle of one of the largest natural lagoons in the world. This tropical isle, once known as the 'Three Coconut Island,' ornamented with pale white sand and crystal blue waters is lush with tropical flora. The resort is only 15 minutes by luxury speedboat, available 24 hours, from Malé International Airport. The award-winning resort seamlessly extends the magic of the island's blessed natural beauty in its design even as it offers the finest in contemporary amenities and services. Luxuriously appointed villas and suites, private plunge pools and personal sundecks with endless views of the Indian Ocean, make this the perfect setting for a private retreat. Our Jiva Grande Spa, an authentic Indian spa, offers a range of ignature wellness experiences. A choice of bespoke dining experiences, water sports, and recreation options make for a complete and exclusive estination holiday. Taj Exotica Resort and Spa, Maldives, has been voted the Best Resort in Asia and the Second Best in the World.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Destinology, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Exotica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Resort And Spa
Taj Exotica Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Taj Exotica Maldives
Taj Exotica Resort All Inclusive
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Maldives/South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing