We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Kingston Upon Thames
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at this for four weeks whilst work was being done on our house and none of the family were ever woken by noise, even though we had a room overlooking the road. I cannot praise the hotel enough, the staff were amazing, so friendly whist being so proffessional, real old fashioned service that is rare these days. The chef was brilliant, we never repeated a meal on the menue and were never disappointed with any meal, exceptional - thank you Bhaskar.
Sumit, Jimmy, Promish, Abiskek and all the staff did Mr. Singh their excellent Manager proud and made our stay feel more comfortable. Even though we live around the corner, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treveneaguegds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suresh s, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Dear Treveneag,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, and that our staff were efficient and helpful in their service. Please be assured that I have personally passed on your compliments onto Sumit, Jimmy, Promish, Abhishek and Chef Bhaskar. I am indeed proud of the team we have here.

Thank you again for your feedback, I and the whole team look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London- Kingston South in the near future.

Kind Regards

Suresh Singh
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    231
    100
    38
    25
See reviews for
124
207
36
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed in an executive room for 2 weeks from September 12 this year.
The balcony was dirty and had green slime on the base, the bedding had holes in it, the walls in the room needed cleaning as did the windows.
The noise from the road was excessive and meant you couldn't leave the balcony door open when you went to bed. Even when the air conditioning was on, you could hear the noise from the road. The air conditioning didn't woek properly.
I found some of the reception staff unfriendly.
There was no designated rest area for residents apart from a bench outside where people smoked. The bar area was too small and the chairs uncomfortable.
Very disappointing. For me, there are better alternatives if you are a business traveller.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fox555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSandfort, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about the Holiday Inn London – Kingston South on Trip Advisor. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please let me apologise for the inconsistent service you received during your stay. We have now changed our entire linen and towel stock to brand new ones, to ensure that there are no defects in this area going forward. Our new housekeeper is also working very closely with her team to ensure that rooms are cleaned to the high standards our gusts expect.

We continually train our staff to be genuine, attentive, caring and helpful and we will ensure that any individual training needs are identified and corrective training will be held.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Marc Sandfort
General Manager
Holiday Inn London – Kingston South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here multiple times since this hotel opened when attending University, particularly during exam weekends. However, the hotel has recently focused on wedding/other functions on the weekends to fill their rooms. This results in late night parties and a lot of noise penetrating to the rooms. Staff did not respond to requests for a quieter room higher up in the hotel for the second night. We will not be staying here again. Otherwise this is a new hotel with clean, modern rooms and facilities. Upgrading to executive rooms is not worth it. Given that they are targeted at business travellers they do not even include free internet and the premium for the room is not worth it.

Room Tip: In another hotel if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go0dtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSandfort, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about the Holiday Inn London – Kingston South on Trip Advisor. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please let me apologise for the disturbances caused by the functions during your stay. I very much regret that we were unable to move your room to a more quiet area of the hotel on this occasion.

The hotel is a part of the local community and we therefore are a venue for locals to celebrate their family occasions. We are working with a specialist company to further improve the sound insulation of our function room to ensure that all other areas of the hotel are quiet, even when an event is held.

The upgrade to an executive room now also includes free Internet and free mini bar, coupled with the rooms being larger and having a balcony overlooking the River Thames, this new offer makes the small upgrade fee better value than before.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance. I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc Sandfort
General Manager
Holiday Inn London – Kingston South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South whilst attending a Conference at Sandown Race Course.

The Hotel met all my expectations and met all the expectations I would expect from a Holiday Inn. The hotel is easily accessible from either Surbiton or Esher Train stations; however both are a short cab ride which should only cost you £5 or £6 pounds.

The rooms were spacious, very modern with a great shower which is a must after a long day at work! Breakfast was good, and they also offer a good evening menu. Parking is a little limited so I would check before booking.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suresh s, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear TigEnland,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, and that the accommodation was comfortable.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

With every good wish
Best Regards

Suresh Singh
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here on Business for 2 nights in August 2011. Was very impressed with the standard of the rooms - its all very modern. I stayed in one of the executive rooms overlooking the River Thames.

The food was exellent on both nights and reasonably priced compared to other Holiday Inn/Express hotels in the area.

I managed to get a 2 nights for the price of 1 offer which made the stay extremely good value. However if I had to pay the full rate this hotel would have been out of my price range.

The only slight disappointment is there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suresh s, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,
On the outset, I thank you for choosing Holiday Inn London- Kingston south as your preferred choice of hotels during your recent visit in Kingston.

Having just read your review I immediately shared it with our team. Your words are motivational and very much appreciated by us all. I am ever so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and were moved to posting a positive review.

I along with my team members look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.

With every good wish
Best Regards

Suresh Singh
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights finding it absolutely faultless. The staff were very pleasant and attentive, we wanted for nothing. The rooms (inter-connecting) were clean and very well appointed. The breakfast (as I would expect from Holiday Inn) was superb.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkChute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suresh s, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent experience at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, and that our staff were efficient and helpful in their service.

Thank you again for your feedback, I along with my team members look forward to welcome you again to the Holiday Inn London- Kingston South in the near future.

Regards

Suresh Singh
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our room was clean & well appointed, we had a standard double room. Only stayed one night & had a B&B package. Breakfast was very good and hot. Staff service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suresh s, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Guest,
On the outset, I thank you for choosing Holiday Inn London- Kingston south as your preferred choice of hotels during your recent visit in Kingston.

Having just read your review I immediately shared it with our staff. Your words are motivational and very much appreciated by us all. I am ever so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and were moved to posting a positive review.

We never tire of aiming to further improving our services and I am glad to see that our effort is paying dividend.
I along with my team members look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.

With every good wish
Best Regards

Suresh Singh
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,028 reviews
1.1 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
266 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Kingston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Property: Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Address: Kingston Tower Portsmouth Road | Kingston Tower, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Kingston South 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London Kingston South, a contemporary and stylish hotel for Kingston, perfect for guests staying for work or pleasure, within easy reach of central London, the M25, A3, M3 and Heathrow airport. Overlooking the River Thames, one mile from Surbiton station this Holiday Inn Kingston hotel is the perfect base for many major events including Hampton Court Music Festival, The Derby at Epsom, Wimbledon Tennis Championships, Hampton Court Flower Show and Twickenham Rugby. For a great family get away Chessington World of Adventures is close by and Kids stay and eat free at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Seven function rooms seating between 10 and 250 delegates make the Holiday Inn Kingston South hotel ideal for conferences, corporate events, social gatherings and weddings. Each room perfectly suited for all your needs with air-conditioning and wi-fi to ensure your event is a success. For a great night s sleep each one of this Kingston hotel s bedrooms includes a pillow menu with choice of five different pillows for your extra comfort. Air conditioning, the latest flat screen TV s, free high speed internet access. Other facilities include accessible accommodation, business support, Restaurant, 24hour in-room dining, No.8 Bar & Lounge, on-site parking and fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Kingston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Hotel Surbiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing