We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent quality business hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent quality business hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here this last weekend for an event held in the hotel. The hotel is smart, clean & modern. Reception staff professional without being over friendly.

Parking seemed to be less than ideal. There is a multi storey (well a few floors) set well back from the hotel behind a Land Rover dealership. You'll need an umbrella if it's raining, the spaces are tight & there doesn;t seem to be enough of them.

The rooms or at least ours was unusal, being long and quite narrow. Certainly not the biggest in the world. Bathroom well finished, however the frosted glass door, allows you to easily make out what somebody may be up to in there!

Food at the event was faultless. Roast lamb, can be difficult, but this was superb. The inclusive breakfast was top notch. Scrambled eggs were perfect, proper bacon, proper sausages. Service again very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hell Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feed back.
We are pleased to hear you were very happy with the food and the service you received.

We have a variety of rooms and next time you come in we will choose a room for you which will suit you better. We have realised the issue with the frosted glass in the bathroom and we are preparing to change this.

The car park is indeed about a minute awway from the hotel and when the hotel is full and we have many events it can get crowded unfortunately.
You can park in front of the hotel for luggage drop off and check in. A member of staff will be happy to escort you back with an umbrella in case you do not have one.

I hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards
Sumit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    222
    96
    37
    24
See reviews for
118
192
36
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Held my wedding here and I couldn't have wished for more!! The staff are truly amazing and customer service is above and beyond exceptional they made my day!! Food was brilliant everyone commented on how wonderful it was and how quick it all came out! Place is always clean and tidy and the staff are always on hand to help with anything!! Would highly recommend as a wedding venue absolute professionals!! 10 out of 10 the whole day ran so smooth thanks to the staff, stayed the night before and the night of and on each night they bent over backwards to see that I had a stress free day,truly amazing x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arosie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hello Arosie22,
We were very pleased to hear how happy you were with your wedding celebtrations at our hotel. We understand that excellent customer service is essential to make an event a day to remember.
We hope to see you again in the future and are very happy to be at your service.
Kindest Regards
Yours Sumit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

First time at this location. I took the bus from Heathrow Airport to Hatton Cross and changed bus, took X26 to Kingston , and from Kingston, it is 2.5 km distance to the hotel. I paid £10 for the trip from the bus station. Easy check-in , and I very nice room. I didn't try the breakfast as I went down to the Surbiton center and bought myself food I had for the breakfast. The room had a empty fridge where you can store drinks and other food items. Surbiton main street is about 10-15 min walk from the hotel and is very easy to find. They have Sainsbury, Marks &Spencer etc, so it was easy to do my shopping. From Surbiton you can catch the train to Wimbledon in 7-8 minutes or you can go to London in 25 minutes.

If you like running, it is nice to run to the Hampton Court Palace, which is about 2.5 km from the hotel. You can also do as I did, run up to Kingston and take the footpath on the other side back to Hampton Castle and to the hotel which gives you a 10k run.

I will certainly stay here again and I would like to come back a nice summer day and walk along the river !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rwegianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Norwegian Travellor,

Thank you for taking your time and writing a feed back at trip advisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Holiday Inn London, Kingston-South and especially the beautiful surround.
We hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards Sumit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am a business member of Holiday Inn and use them on regular occasions for business use, I have to say that this is the best I have stayed in.
The building is very modern and well decorated with plenty of glass and clean edges, a huge, and I mean huge TV greats you when you enter the bar area followed by the restaraunt area which was serving all you can eat Indian buffet on the 2 evenings of our visit. The food was of very good standard with plenty of choice and so was the breakfast. I have to say tha the hotel was very busy as the England Rugby game was on just a short distance away so the breakfast area was very busy each morning but the staff seemed to cope with no issues.
Rooms were nicely decorated with a small but modern bathroom.
Staff were excellent and very helpfull booking taxis and recommending bars to visit a short distance away

Room Tip: Jump a cab into Kinston for a few drinks by the Thames, its only a short distance and will cost £8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Dave,
I was very pleased to hear that you always enjoy your stay at our Holiday Inn London, Kingston-South and hope to welcome you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely
Sumit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Am traveling a lot for business and stayed several times. The service is exceptional. Everyone is friendly, attentive and helpful. Where you are used to hearing a “No” you hear a “Yes” in this hotel. Internet is really high speed. Wouldn't it be great if all hotels were like this?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback. We are all very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at our Holiday Inn London, Kingston-South.

Astrid F, you are a highly valued customer and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this excellent hotel for a special family celebration. Our daughter was 18 and this hotel offered all the criteria to make it such a memorable perfect venue. Located in a central area to cater our itinerary we were close by to surbiton train station, Windsor and just round the corner of the delightful Kingston town. All the facilities were of a high standard. Exceptionally comfy attractive modern rooms. We dined in the restaurant several times where we found the wide choice of fresh excellent quality food. The bar menu was also very good with a waiter who can mix up any cocktail of your choice!!! The highlight of our stay was the very kind helpful professional staff who really couldn't do enough for us! We will definitely be returning to this fabulous hotel sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn London-Kingston South.

Craig J, you are a highly valued guest and I thank you again for your valuable feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any future assistance. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited the Holiday Inn in October for Sunday carvery as a big family get together (about 20 mixed adults and kids). The car park is a short walk behind the hotel but is free for hotel/restaurant users, spaces are bit tight. We were seated the whole row at the back which was fine.

The restaurant and general interior is lovely, staff seemed friendly enough. Our drinks were reasonably priced, however other family had wine that was a bit pricey (3 glasses = £20).

Food was good, started with cold salad, soup and roll. Carvery meat was beef (tasted good but little bit fatty/chewy), gammon (again nice but a bit salty), chicken quarter (nice and big) or veggie option. Yorkshire pudding and a good choice of veg, overall very nice.

Choice of 3 puddings - cheesecake, chocolate gateaux and fruit cocktail and ice-cream. I chose fruit cocktail because I wanted the ice-cream but was disappointed that the fruit was straight from a can. All the other food was fresh and tasty, so I don't know why they couldn't just knock up a bit of fresh fruit. Other family that had cheesecake said it was lovely, and the chocolate cake was good. As they didn't come with ice-cream, other family asked for some and got it without any fuss (don't think they had to pay extra).

Cost was £15.95 per adult which is a bit pricey for a carvery but since under 8's eat free this worked out at a very good price.

Overall an enjoyable meal and would recommend (other than the fruit cocktail).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pinkteddywinniepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumit V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your family get together at our Holiday Inn, Kingston-South. We always strive to deliver excellent food at competitive prices.
I appreciate your time to provide us with your feedback because it enables us to improve our services to our highly valued customers. We have taken your comments on board and made necessary changes.
I hope in the near future we can welcome you, your family and friends again at our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Kingston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Property: Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Address: Kingston Tower Portsmouth Road | Kingston Tower, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Kingston South 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London Kingston South, a contemporary and stylish hotel for Kingston, perfect for guests staying for work or pleasure, within easy reach of central London, the M25, A3, M3 and Heathrow airport. Overlooking the River Thames, one mile from Surbiton station this Holiday Inn Kingston hotel is the perfect base for many major events including Hampton Court Music Festival, The Derby at Epsom, Wimbledon Tennis Championships, Hampton Court Flower Show and Twickenham Rugby. For a great family get away Chessington World of Adventures is close by and Kids stay and eat free at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Seven function rooms seating between 10 and 250 delegates make the Holiday Inn Kingston South hotel ideal for conferences, corporate events, social gatherings and weddings. Each room perfectly suited for all your needs with air-conditioning and wi-fi to ensure your event is a success. For a great night s sleep each one of this Kingston hotel s bedrooms includes a pillow menu with choice of five different pillows for your extra comfort. Air conditioning, the latest flat screen TV s, free high speed internet access. Other facilities include accessible accommodation, business support, Restaurant, 24hour in-room dining, No.8 Bar & Lounge, on-site parking and fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Kingston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Hotel Surbiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing