We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I arrived here after a long drive and way just ready for bed, a smooth, easy check in, pleasantly sent to bed with good wishes.

The hotel is newly refurbished / built and is very well presented and has a contemporary feel. The rooms remind me of a CP style, but with not as much money spent on it.

I had breakfast and this was the only low point, it was not fresh and not to a standard normally expected in a Holiday Inn, however the service and attention was excellent.

A quick round up of the add ons, great parking, easy to find and a good WIFI signal.

Would I return, yes and if I was to stay in Kingston again would try here first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Steve5839,

A Big Thank You for your Gracious comments. The Team is delighted to learn that your over all stay was excellent and that you enjoyed the beautiful hotel and the services.

I am sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to your expectations however, we would urge you to consider this case as an isolated one, and we will continue to dazzle you and our guests in all aspects including the breakfast quality too.

Thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    228
    96
    37
    24
See reviews for
121
198
36
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Now, the first thing you have to do is to frame the review with the fact that this is a Holiday Inn. I have nothing against Holiday Inn (especially after this stay) but your expectations are at certain level based on where the brand is positioned in the world of hotels.
We had an extended stay at the property (10 days) as a family and the thing that really stuck out for us was the friendliness of the staff.Especially at the front desk and the restaurant. Service levels were certainly up there with premium brand hotel chains.
The property itself is also nice and clean and the restaurant is good. To the point that we did witness locals dining there, which to me is a sign of a better than average hotel restaurant.
We had two junior suites with river views. Both with balconies, which we could not enjoy due to the weather. As with some other guests, we had issues with maintaining a steady temperature in the rooms and the a/c unit in the other room was a bit loud. The rooms were very clean and well equipped, though size wise you get the "London experience", so a junior suite is not that large but does have a separate bedroom and a living area. Bathrooms are very nice compared to many Holiday Inns but again not that large.
So it is a Holiday Inn, but a very nice one and the staff alone will make it worth staying at. Friendly greeting every morning and every time you arrive, no request is too small or large, smiles all around. Definitely recommend considering this hotel if you need a place to stay around the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jukka K,

A sincere Thank You for your glowing comments post your recent stay at The Holiday Inn, London Kingston South and we hope that the Holiday Inn and Intercontinental Brand has impressed you to join our I.H.G. Rewards Club, where you can earn and reap great benefits.

The Team is glad that we were able to delight you during your stay; we take pride in our services and are very happy that we were able to surpass your expectations. Your comments are very motivating and will certainly help in keeping our standards high.

Thank You once again and we look forward in welcoming you back some time very soon.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week over night. The staff are very friendly and the hotel very clean, we arrived quite late but we were allowed to eat dinner, which was a really good curry.We were in an executive room which was very good large and great river view. There was no milk but a phone call sorted that out and it was bought up to our room in minutes. The only problem with the hotel is the parking is a little way from the hotel and in the rain is not good ,but you can drop your bags off at the front door and there are a few short stay places. Overall a very nice stay .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Simet123,

Thank you for your delightful message.

I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Irrespective of the time of the day, Our Team is always there to assist you; Guest Delight and satisfaction remain the motto of our Staff, who we are proud of.

I would like to take this opportunity to Thank You once again for your custom and for your positive feedback, which will certainly boost the morale of our Team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain at your disposal for any assistance.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here for three days with my partner and had booked executive room with lovely river side view(room on third floor:) ). Room was big and quite nice but freezing cold when we came in. In second day we didn't get still water and no one doesn't bothered to change our towels and face cloth.
Reception staff nice and friendly however couldn't answer to all my question.
Food was good except restaurant overall view- table cloth dirty and wine glass with lipstick marks!!!!! It looks like no one is in charge in that hotel :(
Looking forward to better stay :)
~Belgium couple~

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansel9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Hansel9876,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the views of the Thames River from your Executive room and I am disappointed to see that the service standards slipped in few of the areas. These are basic expectations and we should not only have delivered them but should have exceeded your expectations. We take your constructive feedback in our stride and will ensure that these slip ups do not happen again.

Once again, Thank You for your genuine feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to delight you in every aspect of the service.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as my daughter was going to Kingston university for an open day. I thought I would get a more upmarket hotel for a nice break for 2 nights as the visit would be stressful. We also wanted to see a show in London and I thought it would be close. I booked 2 nights, twin room with breakfast. Website makes it look like you are on the relaxing river area, it doesn't show the main road that runs in between, bit misleading. No rooms have river view except the deluxe ones. Ours looked into the houses next door. When we checked in we were given a double room with a camp bed made up in it, due to there being no twins apparently! So why did it let me book it online the day before? The room was small and crowded with the extra bed. I had a terrible nights sleep on a camp bed and complained the next day, to be told there were no more rooms. When we got back that night from a very long day we were told at midnight we could move to a twin room. The guy on reception was lovely to be fair and offered to help. We duely moved rooms in our tired state but the new room had no heating that worked and the bathroom was next to the bed with a glass door, so you could see each other in the toilet! I love my daughter but no no one wants to see that! Breakfast was pretty good, but we had to wait 20 minutescto have vegetarian sausages cooked for us, bit behind the times I thought. A lot of veneer with this hotel, dark brown walls and modern furniture, but rooms that need sorting, our tv didn't work either and no extractor fans in the bathroom. Basic stuff really.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank saazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Saazc,

At the outset, please allow us to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that you faced during your recent stay and that we fell short of your expectations. Our Executive rooms overlook the River Thames and we would love to have all the rooms with River View however, we are restricted due to practical inverted ‘U’ shape of the building.

Since your daughter is studying at Kingston University, we invite you back to the Hotel to enjoy the facilities and I am sure that the Team will be able to win you over. We have taken a note of your valid feedback and will ensure that we work on it and come up to your expectations as; our priority always is our guest’s satisfaction.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stay here 3-4 times a year for business and the welcome is always friendly . The rooms are good, with a reasonable amount of space, comfortable beds, free wifi. I wish the showers were more powerful but the bathrooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: There's a special executive suite on the third floor with a separate lounge and a massage chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Louise,

A sincere thank you for your patronage towards Holiday Inn London, Kingston South. I am delighted to learn that you always enjoy your stay with us and that The Team is able to enchant and anticipate in your needs consistently.

We have recently changed our Menu and would like to invite you back to give us your valuable feedback with some exciting dishes too.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon and meanwhile, let us know if we could be of any assistance.

Yours Sincerely

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend with my husband and my baby boy.We had a great night sleep as beds are very comfortable.The food in the restaurant was superb. And the lady in the reception very welcoming .Defo we will come back again .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X788MOPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Kingston South, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear X788MOPaula,

Thank You for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay. Your comments are very encouraging and do motivate our members of the Team to deliver a consistent and great service. I will ensure that I pass on your compliments to the Team; meanwhile, we look forward in welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours Sincerely

Gagan Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surbiton
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Kingston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Kingston South

Property: Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Address: Kingston Tower Portsmouth Road | Kingston Tower, Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames KT6 5QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames > Surbiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surbiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Kingston South 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London Kingston South, a contemporary and stylish hotel for Kingston, perfect for guests staying for work or pleasure, within easy reach of central London, the M25, A3, M3 and Heathrow airport. Overlooking the River Thames, one mile from Surbiton station this Holiday Inn Kingston hotel is the perfect base for many major events including Hampton Court Music Festival, The Derby at Epsom, Wimbledon Tennis Championships, Hampton Court Flower Show and Twickenham Rugby. For a great family get away Chessington World of Adventures is close by and Kids stay and eat free at the Holiday Inn London Kingston South. Seven function rooms seating between 10 and 250 delegates make the Holiday Inn Kingston South hotel ideal for conferences, corporate events, social gatherings and weddings. Each room perfectly suited for all your needs with air-conditioning and wi-fi to ensure your event is a success. For a great night s sleep each one of this Kingston hotel s bedrooms includes a pillow menu with choice of five different pillows for your extra comfort. Air conditioning, the latest flat screen TV s, free high speed internet access. Other facilities include accessible accommodation, business support, Restaurant, 24hour in-room dining, No.8 Bar & Lounge, on-site parking and fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Kingston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South Hotel Surbiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing