We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a wonderfully seaside themed hotel right by the beach with great food & lovely appointed bedrooms. Definately worth a visit along with its close proximity to Rye for some shopping & other good pubs & restaurants

Room Tip: Go for the deck rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    380
    117
    47
    32
See reviews for
159
761
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Made use of Travelzoo voucher for overnight stay, and hoped for a pleasant time. We arrived late Sunday afternoon, with Sunday lunch still being served. Michael the Manager was extremely welcoming, and after unpacking and heading for bar for drink, reminded us that afternoon tea and cake were available. What a treat ........ A relaxing hour spent we headed back to our room for rest before dinner. Our room was extremely well presented with very large comfy bed, thick bath robes, chunky wooden furniture using reclaimed wood, books to read, tea & coffee making faciliities and homemade cookies. So much attentiion to detail.... we were looking forward to our evening meal.... and that didn't disappoint either. Excellent breakfast next morning and somewhere we will definitely return to again.... with the sandy beach just over the dunes..... what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taurusCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Driving towards Camber with the sea on your right, you suddenly come upon the sign for The Gallivant Hotel ON YOUR LEFT! Oh dear. And despite the protestations of the owner, this is a MOTEL, not an hotel. And the motel is situated on the bend of a fairly busy road (again, in contrast to what the owner says in response to other criticisms on this site.)
Sure... he cannot do anything about the location, but he shouldn't litter his website with photographs of the beach. You're never going to see the beach from the motel. Even if you stood on the roof you wouldn't see the beach! It's across the aforementioned busy road, through another car park and on the other side of a rather steep sand dune.
And while I'm talking about the owner... who is he? He's rarely seen, even by the staff (as they quietly admitted to me.) There is a manager who rolls up from time to time, but he exhibits not one iota of managerial 'presence'.
We had one of the larger rooms and both the bed and the sofa were comfortable. Thereby ends the positives. The wifi signal was completely useless. The bathroom had exposed plumbing. The whole place paid tribute to it's motel origins. And as my wife said... the little touches that perhaps only a woman would notice, were sadly lacking. The owner and the manager (both male) need to get a woman in quick to give this place a makeover.
They're charging quite steep prices and I'd be interested in knowing how many people make a return visit. The website is, I would say, misleading, and I certainly would not return. The restaurant is actually very good and I'll make that the subject of a separate review. In the meantime. thank you for reading this review (and please read plenty of the others - I am not alone in expressing these views!)

Room Tip: I don't think there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Booked via Travelzoo very good deal and able to take our beagle. Complementary tea and cake, lovely room with huge bed and very dog friendly. Booking and check in with Heather was made very easy and a great welcome to the Hotel. The Gallivant is opposite Camber Sands which from 1 October has no dog restrictions. In season you can still take your pooch on the best part of the beach anyway!! Camber Sands is really beautiful out of season would thoroughly recommend. Dinner at the Gallivant was very special, great choice of local produce and wine matching by the glass for each course which I'm a sucker for!!! Lovely ambience and very attentive staff. Breakfast was equally good with home made bread and jams, banana bread and choice of breakfasts. We plumped for the full English which again was beautifully presented, with chefy poached egg for me, fried for hubby and black pudding. All produce again locally sourced and very good value for money. Go if you have a dog or like this part of the world.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We adored the little touches in this impressive little hotel by the dunes. We have come to expect White Company toiletries, fluffy dressing gowns and huge comfy beds which did not disappoint, but it was the little things, like a selection of books, rubber duck, quirky key fob and amazing welcoming cookies that really made our trip special. The staff were welcoming and knowledgeable. The wine menu was extensive and balanced, the food beautifully executed. A most enjoyable stay. Many thanks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at The Gallivant on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal which was excellent value. On arrival, we were offered tea and cake with compliments of the hotel – a very nice touch. Our room was small but beautiful – in a beachy way – clean, lovely comfy bed, duvet & pillow, and all our needs catered for with the added bonus of a hospitality tray. We found absolutely nothing to take issue with but if I had to find something it would be for somewhere to perhaps sit and have a read when it’s too cold outside. However, I believe the larger rooms do have this facility. We found the staff particularly pleasant and helpful both at reception, and in the restaurant. Our dinner, although chosen from a limited menu, was fine, as was breakfast chosen from a wide selection with, I am sure, something for everyone. It’s a lovely part of East Sussex, particularly after the crowds have gone leaving the stunning beach on which to walk in peace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I had a dinner/B&B deal at the Gallivant last week and had a very pleasant stay. Our room (no. 5) was small but bright and pleasant (apart from the overwhelming smell of room freshener) with a good bathroom. All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The limited-choice dinner menu was delicious (wonderfully fresh fish and local salt marsh lamb). Breakfast was fresh and tasty though butter portions were mean, the Marmite pot was empty and wasn't replaced when we pointed it out, and the home-made jams weren't labelled so it was difficult to tell what they were. The hotel is a short drive or walk to Camber Sands for wonderful open skies, wide seas and lovely fresh air. Picturesque Rye is in easy reach with a car, as is Dungeness. It was a delightful break from London and we would stay at the Gallivant again.

Room Tip: If you're on a special deal you're not going to get the bigger rooms, but for one night the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.7 mi away
River Haven Hotel
11.3 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Property: The Gallivant
Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye
The Gallivant Camber, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing