We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gallivant
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hope Anchor Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$128
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Hotel(New Romney)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
727
488
155
64
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
488
155
64
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsdeck roomcamber sandsbeach hutsand dunesenglish wineslambdungenessopposite the beachwine listsmall roomboutique hotellocal producetea and cakesouth coastgranolacomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived shortly before 4 pm, just in time for the complimentary tea and cakes served in the Bistro, wonderful start to our stay. The staff were welcoming, we were shown to our room (no.9). The rooms was warm and extremely clean and comfortable. The bathrobes were a nice touch. The evening meal was wonderful. The package included the Beachcomber menu but for £15 you can upgrade to the Al a Carte. The food and service were faultless, an extensive wine list and a nice relaxed atmosphere. After a lovely breakfast, great choice, we had a wander over to the beach, which is directly across from the hotel. In summer I can imagine this being a very popular location, you can;t get much closer to the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn1138966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have to say I was rather disappointed when we drove up to the Gallivant. It's not a particularly attractive building, is on a busy main road and does not have sea views, BUT it is literally opposite the beach and so is in a great location. The reception area is warm and inviting and the seaside shabby chic theme is executed well. We stayed in one of the rooms that aren't in the main building - hence why to us this was definitely a motel - and it was clean, nicely decorated and reasonably spacious. There was no wardrobe which I could imagine would be rather irritating if you were staying for more than a couple of nights. The view from our window was of an overgrown garden which was not great. We wanted a drink before we ate, but there is only a very small lounge area and not much room at the bar and so we had to go straight to our table. It was great to see local produce on the menu and, despite the menu being small, the food was good. Unfortunately one of the oysters I ate gave me a bit of sickness (NOT the chef's fault) and I pitied the couple in the next room as they could definitely hear my night time manoeuvres as the walls are very thin! The Secret Escapes deal we had meant the room was reasonably priced and included breakfast, but to be honest I don't think I would pay that much more. I can imagine in summer it's a great place to stay as you're so close to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucymariejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Somewhere, out on the far edge of the haunted Romney Marsh, where the tide and the sky collide, framed by the waving Marram Grass, and the eerie sand dunes, and surrounded by hidden creeks and waterways, redolent of ancient folk memories of smugglers and highwaymen, stands the Gallivant Hotel and Bistro. You have got to want to find this little gem, because your journey would not naturally bring you here to pass its door. It sits quietly and unobtrusively, almost squatting against the low skyline, and unless this was your destination, you would pass it unnoticed. This is as it is intended to be because the Gallivant keeps its surprises inside the hotel. It is an old Motel, which has been taken by its owners and given a very clever facelift. Adopting the New England Beachfront motif, it sports a wide variety of sun and wind-bleached wood, white scrubbed furniture, and wood floors. Its 20 comfortable rooms reflect this theme, and unashamedly use the beachcomber motif to the full in the furnishings. But you don't come here for the rooms alone. They are fine and need no more said.

You come here for the food. And what food. A full menu offering only the freshest local produce locally sourced. Wonderful fish dishes, brilliant meat, simply cooked and presented in elegant but non-fussy ways. The breakfast menu is sublime, offering just about every possible option of breakfast dishes.

We spent 2 nights here, using the days to explore the surrounding countryside (which is spooky and full of memories of our dark past), but we spent the evenings, cosily ensconced in the bar having a quiet drink before being shown to our table. The staff are quietly efficient (from Poland, Romania, Hungary and Ireland) and they know their business well. They are around when you want them, but leave you alone to enjoy yourselves and your incredible food.

This is really a fantastic restaurant, with 20 rooms attached to the side, and really, not a hotel in the true sense of the word at all. Go there and enjoy a unique experience.

But beware, I went out for a breath of air before turning in, and I am convinced I heard the sound of muffled hooves and creaking harness of smugglers' ponies carrying barrels of brandy up from the beach. There are old ghosts in these deserted flatlands, so '...watch the wall my darling as the gentlemen go by..."

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are possibly better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was a travel zoo deal and it was a pre-christmas break with my husband, brother and sister-in law. The hotel was previously a motel but has been renovated to a very high standard and is now very modern and comfortable. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The food was out of this world and the hospitality second to none. Complimentary afternoon tea was on offer, comfy sofas to chill and relax in. Our evening meal was to die for and I continue to salivate just thinking of it and the breakfast was delicious, the home made bread and jams were such a lovely touch. Our room was very comfortable, lovely linens and snuggly duvet. Complimentary toiletries, tea and coffee and little home made biscuits. This was such a wonderful experience and we shall certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Worth the 250 mile journey. Food excellent delightful staff. Bed really comfortable and good heating slept well no disturbances. Thought management very good can't be this good with no management ? More than makes up for the "motel look" of the hotel at first site

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slimlymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews