We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dog-friendly, clean and comfy, good dining... but a little bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“dog-friendly, clean and comfy, good dining... but a little bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is an excellent location for a visit to Camber sands, the beach, and rolling dunes which is a good coastal walking area…(dogs not allowed on the beach from May to September though).The hotel itself is a revamped Motel, and the rooms, though small are clean and comfortable, with free wi-fi and free view TV. The hotel restaurant served very good food..(and I'm fussy!) Service was good, staff friendly, so no complaints except the price was a little high for our one night stay…
£200 for 2 adults and a small dog…

Room Tip: There are two 'larger rooms' neither of which are particularly large but they don't requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynisL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    391
    121
    49
    33
See reviews for
164
785
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wandsworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is in an area of stunning natural beauty and i suspect thats why the price for a room is a tiny bit on the high side, but overall probably value for money.

The staff were lovely, helpful and charming
The room was big and clean, we brought our one year old black lab who loved the bed and chew they supplied, a really nice touch. Our room (20) was big and the decor was well done.

We had supper on the second night and it was really rather nice, worth a try if you stay.

Only very minor gripe is that you have to pay extra for a full english, i didnt bother as the dippy eggs were amazing and there is plenty of inclusive food to eat, but at the room prices i think they should just throw in a few sausages.

All in we loved it

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timbond1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked a two night break for our wedding anniversary, and found this little gem.
We stayed in a bigger room and found this very clean, roomy and the decor was a nice change from usual hotels. The Bed was large and extremely comfortable.
The room could have done with another table in for making the tea but The Hotel has nice touches like the free afternoon tea and cakes.
The food is first class, the breakfast was relaxed and the cooked part of the breakfast was so tasty. The evening meal did not disappoint and kept up the very high standard.
Would recommend this hotel, and going in low season was a great idea as i could imagine the area would get very busy.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife decided at the last minute to have a night away from London and to not travel too far. We were recommended Gullivant and were not disappointed. On arrival we were received by a very efficient and friendly member of staff and shown to our room which was a little compact but perfectly comfortable and clean. Within five minutes a staff member turned up with two gasses of champagne- a nice touch.
That evening we had the set dinner which was of excellent quality. The wine list was not over large but provided good selection and at reasonable prices.
The following morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Home made muesli, delicious yoghurt and home made bread and jam.
Our excursion was co pleated by a long walk on Camber sands which across the road from the hotel.
All in all a most enjoyable break.
D

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was perfectly adequate for our stop over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normski_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

On a whim, my boyfriend and I decided we needed to get out of London and booked last Monday off work. We settled on The Gallivant as a windy walk on the beach would blow away the cobwebs (it did) and it wasn't too far out of London. As we were there on a Sunday, we went for their package: £145 (we upgraded to the largest room), 3 course lunch, and breakfast the next morning.

Food - Very nice food. Service was a little slow but it gave us breathing space between courses. We were randomly seated on the sofa for 15 minutes even though our table was free, which seemed odd. And then due to a communication error we were brought the bill for the meal because they hadn't realised we were on the package despite telling them. The second time the bill came back we had been charged twice for service, although the waitress was very apologetic. The breads, granola etc were good at breakfast, and I liked that you could select your freshly cooked hot item, but whilst my boyfriend like his, my eggs benedict had undercooked bacon (instead of ham) and was drowned in the hollandaise sauce.

Room - We did upgrade as my boyfriend planned to watch the Superbowl and we thought a larger room would make it easier when I wanted to go to sleep. But we didn't expect the room to be so enormous, with a separate sofa area in front of the TV which was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean, I loved the New England beach house decor, and the little touches such as the biscuits in the jar. I would recommend that they improve the tea, coffee selection though as a hot chocolate would certainly have been appreciated. Also, please add net curtains to the rather large windows. A little more privacy would have been nice.

Hotel - Check-in seemed a little chaotic but everyone was nice. Decor was consistently attractive throughout. It does have a motel feel to it but it still felt luxurious.

Location - We had no problem finding it with google maps but you should plan the route in advance. The beach was literally across the road, which seemed rather quiet as we certainly had no problems crossing. Obviously no views but I already knew that from other reviews.

Overall though, we have already recommended to family members, and would definitely think about returning again, something we always avoid. Maybe in the sunshine this time though!

Room Tip: It would be worth the upgrade to a larger room, especially if you are staying more than a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight on the 2nd of February in one one the Deck rooms (Room 1) paying £125 B&B.
We thought the room was a little small. Nowhere to put the case down except the floor or on the bed. The only place to hang clothes were on pegs along the wall behind the bedroom door. To have a cup of tea you first have to plug the kettle into a socket and leave it on the floor as there is no where as to put it.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows were too soft for me and I had to use a jumper to bolster them.
Even after turning off all of the heating in our room before going out for our evening meal we were both too hot during the night and had to resort to opening the door to the outside (on to the decked area) from about 1am till after we got up for breakfast. We were surprised that considering the price of the room that there wasn't any complimentary water bottles in the room. So we had to have water from the taps during our hot night in the room.
When we went to bed we found that we could hear sounds coming through our wall from the kitchen area. So we had to listen to the chap who does the washing up as we feel asleep. And in the morning they had the builders in and we were woken to the sound of someone using a drill in the kitchen wall by our heads. GREAT!
One of the lights didn't work within the shower room and also one of the two light on the deck area didn't work.

Room Tip: As far away from the kitchen as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCowPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in one of the bigger rooms with our little whippet. Perfect... Great location, fabulous room, lots of little extra touches, genuinely friendly staff and a brilliant breakfast. We would definitely return and were sorry to leave!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank swannic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Property: The Gallivant
Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye
The Gallivant Camber, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing