We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly as good as Pontins!”
Review of The Gallivant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gallivant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Came as refugees from Rhythm Riot (last year we woke up wet through in our 'superior' room at Pontin's!) and to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Comfortable and clean room, bathroom a bit boring (hate shower curtains, but better that the bath at Pontin's!). Water pressure abysmal - OK if you've got all day to run a bath. Food excellent, and really appreciated the availabilty of the all-day menu. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiemuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

We had previously stayed when known as the Place, so we knew that the hotel was in a great location opposite one of the best beaches on the South coast. We received a warm welcome, and had the changes at the hotel pointed out, such as the new lounge and refurbished rooms. The food was excellent throughout our stay, especially the local seafood, and there was a great selection of breakfast choices. Although the rooms are quite small, they are well-equipped and very comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly and we would definitely recommed it as a weekend treat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I had read many positive review on Tripadvisor and decided to try out 'The Gallivant'. The hotel/motel is just across from the marvellous dunes and sandy beach. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very comfortable and charming. The room was very clean and spacious; the bed was big and comfortable with good quality linen and the bathroom was well equipped and stocked with lovely soaps and shampoos etc.
The main event, however, is centred around the kitchen. The dining room is very nicely dressed in an unusual and apealing 'beachcomer' style. The food was absolutely brilliant! We could have been in a michelin star restaurant. They are really trying hard. Delicious oysters, perfect wild mushroom rissotto, Sea Bass - so fresh and perfectly cooked and exquisite cheeses. Take a chance on the 'English 75' cocktails - we had to order a second! Wines were well priced too. The breakfast menu is original and interesting and again, the quality was exceptional. Last, but not least was the first class service. There staff were the icing on the cake - all friendly, very helpful and attentive. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin209960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This was our third visit here for a short break. We love the location, especially out of season, and the area - great for long walks and de-stressing. Camber sands - just across the road from the hotel is a favourite for walking, as is Rye for pottering around the antique shops.

Rooms are simple, clean and comfortable and have baths - lovely on a cold evening. Food is fab - even better than last time.

Thoroughly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalominoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Not only was The Gallivant perfect, but it's location was superb too. 5 minute walk from beautiful Camber Sands, it felt like being in another Country. Our room was really great and the bed was the biggest most comfortable thing we have ever slept in! We chose The Gallivant, as we wanted to spend our first wedding anniversary somewhere nice, not too far and that had a good restaurant, we were not disappointed!
The bistro was fantastic, the food and the staff were faultless - catch of the day - changes every day and it was my fave choice every day! Don't worry if you aren't a fish fan, the Romney Marsh Lamb will delight all meat lovers!! Basically we don't have a bad thing to say about The Gallivant, it was perfect and the perfect weather helped, but even if it had been raining, the hotel was the perfect place to hole up in - the sitting room, is a great idea, full of books, board games and comfy sofas.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We have just spent a lovely couple of nights at the Gallivant with the kids.
Everyone was really nice and helpful, the food was delicious and the room (studio) very comfortable for the 4 of us though we would have liked more bedside lamps to read while the kids are asleep.
Our stay was helped by great weather, the beach is a stone throw away and the bicycle lanes fabulous to ride with the kids.
Sitting room with games (such as monopoly) was great when it gets dark so early.
Lots to do in the area with kids too. (Castles, steam train, forest with bicycle trails and play areas)
A great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaFamilleAnglaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Spent 2 nights 28 & 29 Oct. Hotel completely full. Stayed in 'studio/family' room. Very comfortable. Also took my father & he was in main hotel in a dbl room and was also very comfortable. The restaurant was top notch. All produce are locally sourced wherever possible. The lamb was fab & the catch of the day was a treat. Couldn't fault the food. Can't see the sea from the hotel but it looks on to the dunes. Where the hotel is is the better/'posher' part of Camber Sands and there is sand on this end of the town- the other end ...not so great and the beach is shingle. Was surprised by the high class of the clientele staying at the hotel. You cannot see Dungeness from the beach as we were led into believing, but it was really windy on the Friday. Lots to see and do around the area but not in Camber Sands itself - just the beach. We had a half day in Rye & we drove up the coast to Greatstone & Romney Marsh. Also had great fish 'n chips at the Pilot Inn in Dungeness and mooched around the lighthouses. Would definitely go back and stay at The Gallavant again. There is a substantial housing development at the back of the hotel called White Sands and adjacent to that is Pontins

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
2.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2.6 mi away
The George in Rye
2.6 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
846 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camber
Price Range: £87 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye
The Gallivant Camber, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing