We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent Staycation”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a seaside bbq in the coast inspired garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a seaside bbq in the coast inspired garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
17 reviews
Enjoy a seaside bbq in the coast inspired garden
Relax in the coastal inspired garden
enjoy hot sunny days on the beach behind the cottage
The sculpted groyne steps leading you onto the beach
surrounded by the atmospheric marsh landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
natalie t
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Staycation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We took a last minute break at this lovely cottage and loved it.

The house was beautifully furnished and was an eclectic mix of contemporary and beach that worked well.

The house was clean and tidy on arrival with a welcome pack. The boys loved their room complete with sea view but it was a shame the TV wasn't working. We had an amazing room with a massive bed, fluffy towels and crisp sheets, it was almost like a hotel just without other guests.

The courtyard garden was sun trap even in April and the beach was a minute away and what a stunning beach it is.

We went to Camber as well as Rye, Hastings and Folkstone which has a great creative quarters and coastal park and this makes a great day out.

The only thing we missed was a bath.

I would certainly go again and recommend this to others.

Natalie

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACoops5
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect bolt-hole for beach walks and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Coastguards Lookout is an excellently placed and equipped cottage for a beach break in Camber Sands. We were blessed with good weather for our annual fish and chips in Rye and experienced an atmospheric wet and wild night where the fire, jigsaws and wine were just what we wanted. It is also worth mentioning that this cottage is great for the dogs too as there is a secure, decked garden

In fact I have just booked again for September!

Amanda

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location was away from the main tourist area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Whitstable, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ashandtas...
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal weekend retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We loved it!

The house was lovely, finished to a very high standard, great location for the beach, plenty of wood for the fire and we were able to relax and unwind after a few too many stressful weeks!

It was exactly what we needed and would recommend to anyone.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fannyglad...
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This cozy cottage has all mod cons and is well-equipped and comfortable although the oldies missed having a bath (not sure why the owners decided against one as it looks like there would be room). Ideal situation for exploring Rye and the countryside (Dungeness and RSPB nature reserves) and for beach walking. Pluses for winter are the wood burner and the empty beach. Minuses are the bleak surroundings - an MOD firing range and a depot housing heavy equipment for sea defence work. However I should imagine it's ideal for kids in the summer.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionR39...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a week at Coastguards Lookout with our 15 year old daughter. Our 24 year old daughter was with us for the first part of the week.
The cottage is absolutely beautiful, full of character and yet with high standard contemporary equipment. The huge bed in the master bedroom was the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the flat screen TV in the second bedroom meant that our daughter could watch her own DVD's if she wanted.
A lovely relaxing week in a beautiful location, I would definitely recommend Coastguards Lookout.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The character and decor - and the lovely big bed !!
Liked least: The location is quite windy - great for kite-surfers !!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitepower...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A seaside gem in the heart of the East Sussex marsh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a happy week here in June with our 2 housecats - all 4 of us had a great holiday! One of our cats has become diabetic so we've switched from holidaying abroad whilst the cats stay with family to staying in the UK & taking the cats with us. It can be very tricky to find somewhere willing to accept cats but Richard was really helpful & the owners were happy for us to stay.

The cottage is one of a small "terrace" of Coastguard cottages. It's been really well decorated inside with lots of modern yet sympathetic touches. The decor's really nice, we particularly liked the reclaimed wood units in the kitchen & the bathroom sink/mirror. The kitchen is well kitted out with everything you could need as well as some fun extras like the coffee machine & wine fridge. The living room's cosy and has a woodburning stove as well as tv/dvd/freeview & games consoles if you're that way inclined. We spent much of the evenings watching the birds on the marsh & waiting for the fantastic dramatic sunsets. The modern bathroom has a big walk-in shower & there were a couple of fluffy dressing gowns waiting to welcome us. The bedrooms are lovely, although if 4 adults stay there might be squabbles over who gets the big double (queen size?) bed vs the pair of singles in the small back bedroom which has a sea view to compensate! There's a nice private decked back garden & the front garden is meadow/marsh land which was a mass of flowers when we visited.

There's quite a lot to do/see in the area but the cottage itself is pretty quiet. It's about 30-40 minutes drift on foot along the beach to the small convenience shops in Camber itself. As you'll probably have a car, you're free to explore Kent & Sussex. It's easy to get around although the car parking in some of the towns is pretty pricey (& we're Londoners!!).

For us, the main attraction was the proximity to the beach. You can pop out of the back of the property to hop up the sea defence wall & you're on the beach! We're keen kitesurfers so it was perfect for us as the Camber kitesurf area is actually at Broomhill/Jury's Gap which is literally on the back doorstep. If the wind's offshore, you're only a short drive across the marsh via Dungeness to Greatstone. If you fancy trying kitesports, windsurfing or SUP, there are a couple of schools in Camber who can sort you out.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we've booked to go again in September, If we're honest, we were a little reluctant to review the place for Trip Advisor as we don't want to many people finding out about this little seaside gem!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Proximity to the (kitesurfing) beach, tranquil location surrounded by "nature"
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing