We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing break in beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deekayWat...
watford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break in beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I along with our Golden Retriever Piper had such a lovely break at this cottage for the past 2 days. The cottage is very warm and cosy and how anyone can say that it is draughty amazes me. We had some lovely homemade biscuits and a cake as well as a bottle of Apple Juice in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. We had some gorgeous long walks on the deserted beach. The bed linen and towels were of very good quality and the bed itself was so comfortable. Than you Richard for your help and kindness in booking this cottage. We will be back for certain. Gill, Derek and Piper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review of your stay with us at Coastguards Lookout. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72rachel1...
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxing...”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Coastguards Lookout for my birthday week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage was perfectly placed for solitary walks on the beach with the dog, or relaxing in the lovely garden. Rye, Camber and Hastings are all close by with great restaurants and amazing walks. Richard was extremely helpful and it was lovely to meet him. The cottage was lovely and warm....we didn't even need to put the wood burner on. The decor was wonderful and pretty much everything we needed was provided. The huge bed and linens were very comfortable and the views from the bedroom window quite relaxing. Would recommend to friends and family for a relaxing break....and Ruby the dog absolutely loved chasing the rabbits in the massive enclosed gardens. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge comfortable bed and lovely sunny garden.
Liked least: Leaving....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Coastguards Lookout. It was lovely to meet you and are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagosWorl...
Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Drafty Old Cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one week in Coastguard Lookout Camber Sands along with our 3 year old daughter, this cottage is not child friendly no safety gate on the steep stairs, sharp corners on the kitchen island (had to put blue tack on corners as our daughter injured herself on the first day). The cottage requires some TLC the sash windows rattle and let in drafts on the numerous stormy days we experienced during our stay.(the owners would save a fortune in electric as we had heating on to keep the cottage warm?) The lounge furniture is not at all comfortable, if you suffer from back problems forget this place, saying that if you have dogs they will be very happy to curl up on the furniture. The other problems no vacuum cleaner, other than a useless handheld dyson? The outside is in need of cleaning up, tatty back yard and out buildings, railings require painting, you would think as this is the start of the season it would have all been done?,went to shut the rear door and handle came off in my hand. When we arrived in the cottage went to have a BBQ,it took me a good hour to clean it up, suitable to cook food for human consumption on, the small fire was the same full of ash? This is not what we expected, looked good on internet? Can say the beds were very comfortable. The shower drain was also becoming blocked up and smelling. Not worth the money, its not an area of outstanding beauty more like a military zone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Going back home
Liked least: The Cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Coastguards Lookout. I have to say that I am disappointed by your comments and would like to point out that the property has had many families stay with young children, many of which have posted reviews of their stay which you can read here on Trip Advisor. The property is in an exposed position on the coast and so when a storm rolls through it can be quite an experience. Some guests love the atmosphere created by howling winds and crashing waves when the weather goes wild. The windows will rattle in strong winds, its an old building with many of its original features which retain its character. The log burner is meant to have a bed of ash as you would have read in the instruction manual supplied by the manufacturer inside the cottage. The BBQ however should have been cleaned and checked by the cleaners and they have apologised for the oversight.

Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyandD...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfort and luxury surrounded by wild beauty!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The pictures of the property are great, but Coastguards Lookout still managed to exceed our expectations.
The work on the beach and sea defences is complete now and pretty impressive too, giving access via some beautiful wooden steps over the new rock to miles and miles of pristine sand. Hugely loved by our dogs, who ran until they nearly collapsed. Or you can walk along the new promenade atop the sea wall if the tide is in.
The house itself has been modernised very thoughtfully and was warm and cosy, particularly once we lit the wood burning stove, which we did every night. Comfortable, cosy and equipped with every convenience, it was a lovely week and we were very sorry to leave.
If you come, you must visit Rye, boutique cinema, a range of lovely pubs and restaurants and so much history.
Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: One minute walk to the beach.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Coastguards Lookout. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay especially now they have finished the beach works that have really transformed this stretch of coast where this cottage is located. Hope to have you stay again very soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANdy T
1 review
“Very Happy with this accomodation”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were very happy with Coastguards Lookout, the weather was awful and cold but having a lovely warm house to arrive to made it much better. I would recommend this to any family with young kids as our daughter loved the house

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monarge
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - looking forward to returning again in 2015!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived on a very cold and windy December day to stay for Christmas to a beautiful warm and welcoming cottage. The sitting room with the log burner was great, complete with a beautiful real tree for Christmas. I had asked for the lights to be put on the tree, but for the children to decorate, and everything was ready for them :)
The kitchen is really lovely with everything you need and lots of space to eat and relax. Upstairs the two bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom with large shower is one of the best I have used! If you can tear yourself away from the fire, the beach walks are beautiful and you can walk into Camber Sands - we did this every day and loved it.
We will definitely return again in the summer to enjoy the beach some more!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage and would like to thank Richard and Sophie for making the booking process so easy and for being so helpful whilst we were there.
Thank you for giving us a wonderful memory.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason Y
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The accommodation was fine. All the amenities you could ask for. Beds were comfortable and clean and the shower was very nice. However, the house did feel cold. The most disappointing aspect was that the beach access which is directly opposite the house was closed! This completely defeated the purpose of our stay, as the intention was for us to simply exit the house and step onto the beach. It wasn’t even communicated to us prior to our visit that this would be the case. Instead, a 2 mile drive was required into Camber in order to reach a part of the beach that was accessible. Most disappointing. Had we known that the beach access was closed we would not have stayed at this property.

Additionally, the rear door didn't lock properly which left us feeling uneasy overnight and there was no bulb in the light fitting on the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was well presented
Liked least: No access to the beach!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

We would like to point out that there is private beach access via a wooden gate for guests which was in the information supplied in the property with the welcome pack.

While the Environment Agency carry out the sea defence works to Broomhill Sands the main public access to the beach has been shut due to it being used to get their equipment along the sea wall.

This information is noted on this site where you booked. It is also on your arrival information.

Regarding the light bulb and rear door, if you had contacted us during your stay this would have been addressed. These points have now been addressed by the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing