We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirstie27...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage was so quaint and so so cosy. Beside The Sea were so helpful when I was booking and I couldn't decide which cottage to book!
The cottage was stunning and in a perfect location on the beach - and up the road from Rye and Dungeness!
I'm just about to book again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktonge1
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Isolated and perfectly cosy”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We only stayed 4 nights and would have loved to stay longer. Great position for a quiet get away. Extremely dog friendly too - enclosed decked garden and also a further communal grass marshland area for dogs. Tasteful interiors with good quality linen and beds. Empty beaches and clear roads this time of year which we appreciated. Had a wonderful delivered take away curry from Rye and we are very picky about our curry! Would have had a 5 if windows were cleaned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingzz
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay and nice location, but.....”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I had organised a surprise weekend to Camber/Rye for my boyfriend's birthday and we stayed at Coastguard's Lookout for 2 nights. We didn't arrive until around 7pm on a Friday, so couldn't really see much outside because it was already getting dark. I like how isolated the house is - the main reason for booking this house was because I wanted to stargaze in the garden at night (no light pollution) and because it's right by the sea so we could go for romantic strolls during the day.

First impressions of the house was good - small but cute with a modern seaside/nature themed decor. We thought the complimentary shortbread biscuits, chocolate cake, bottle of milk and apple juice were a nice touch! The bed was comfortable and we thought the upstairs attic area with the bathtub and velux window was cool - we didn't use the bathtub but we did try to do some stargazing through the velux window at night.

Unfortunately, there were some downsides to the house and they are mostly cleanliness and equipment related. On our first night we wanted to cook some dinner on arrival. The plates we got out from the 'plate trolley' were dirty, so we had to wash everything thoroughly first before we used them. There were no kitchen towels, tin foil or cling film available at the house and the bathroom bin was not lined. While I don't expect these things and they're really no big deal, I do think these are basic items that would be nice to have when visiting a home away from home. The oven light was also broken, so the owner may want to get that fixed.

We had discovered lots of small black lumps around the house during our stay. They were mainly on the sofas and footstool, but we also saw some on the kitchen floor. At first I thought they were just those tiny little furry bugs and thought nothing of them... until my boyfriend told me that they are in fact mouse faeces. I didn't believe him at first, not until I heard skittering and gnawing noises across the wooden floor in the kitchen when we were watching TV in the lounge. I didn't think it was that big a deal, but later when we were in bed trying to sleep we heard more noise above us coming from the attic. Again, same kind of skittering and gnawing noises. The next day, we decided to set up our own humane mouse trap using an empty mop bucket and some chocolate cake to see if we can catch anything. There were indeed some mouse action during the night, because the chocolate cake had disappeared by the morning and the mouse had left 4-5 lumps of faeces inside the bucket.. Unfortunately we didn't know that mice could jump and climb up smooth vertical surfaces of up to 1 feet (says google), so that meant the mouse was able to escape after it fell into the bucket. It clearly enjoyed the cake and had fully digested it before deciding to leave!!

All the windows were extremely dirty and needs a desperate clean both inside and out. I understand that the house is right by the sea, so windows will understandably get more dirty more frequently.. but the windows are also extremely dirty on the inside. We had to wipe the attic window down (using tissue, which ended up being black) from the inside, just so we could see some stars in the evening.

There are quite a few dead bugs and spiders around window sills, inside cupboards and on the ceiling hanging off spiderwebs. Some floorboards are not properly nailed down (note the one in the double bedroom, at the end of the bed near the wall) and some areas of the downstairs floorboards were quite rough.

It was nice that towels were supplied (and bed linen), but one of the bath towels smelt really badly of damp and one of the hand towels were dirty. Luckily as it was just the two of us, it meant we could just grab the spare towels from the spare twin bedroom.

We weren't provided with many logs for the log burner/fireplace, maybe 5-6 small logs - less than what their picture shows. We did expect more (every house/cottage we've been in had provided a good supply), but we went out to buy some more anyway which was only £3.50 a bag, so not bad I guess.

Other than the cleanliness and mice, my boyfriend and I had an enjoyable stay at Coastguard's Lookout and we would definitely recommend it to others - as long as the house gets a good clean / mice evicted! Sophie the owner had also very kindly let us check out at 12pm instead of 10am, which meant we were able to have a lie in and cook some breakfast in the morning without having to rush.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S
1 review
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An amazing location for a relaxing week by the coast. Well appointed house which had everything we needed and more. Loved the garden and sat out and relaxed every evening. Cosy living room with wonderful wood burner made the late evenings lovely. Very comfy bedrooms and a great shower. Such a peaceful location and would thoroughly recommend it as a great location for sailing, walking, beaches, railways and cream teas!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deekayWat...
watford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break in beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I along with our Golden Retriever Piper had such a lovely break at this cottage for the past 2 days. The cottage is very warm and cosy and how anyone can say that it is draughty amazes me. We had some lovely homemade biscuits and a cake as well as a bottle of Apple Juice in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. We had some gorgeous long walks on the deserted beach. The bed linen and towels were of very good quality and the bed itself was so comfortable. Than you Richard for your help and kindness in booking this cottage. We will be back for certain. Gill, Derek and Piper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review of your stay with us at Coastguards Lookout. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72rachel1...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxing...”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Coastguards Lookout for my birthday week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage was perfectly placed for solitary walks on the beach with the dog, or relaxing in the lovely garden. Rye, Camber and Hastings are all close by with great restaurants and amazing walks. Richard was extremely helpful and it was lovely to meet him. The cottage was lovely and warm....we didn't even need to put the wood burner on. The decor was wonderful and pretty much everything we needed was provided. The huge bed and linens were very comfortable and the views from the bedroom window quite relaxing. Would recommend to friends and family for a relaxing break....and Ruby the dog absolutely loved chasing the rabbits in the massive enclosed gardens. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge comfortable bed and lovely sunny garden.
Liked least: Leaving....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Coastguards Lookout. It was lovely to meet you and are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagosWorl...
Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Drafty Old Cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one week in Coastguard Lookout Camber Sands along with our 3 year old daughter, this cottage is not child friendly no safety gate on the steep stairs, sharp corners on the kitchen island (had to put blue tack on corners as our daughter injured herself on the first day). The cottage requires some TLC the sash windows rattle and let in drafts on the numerous stormy days we experienced during our stay.(the owners would save a fortune in electric as we had heating on to keep the cottage warm?) The lounge furniture is not at all comfortable, if you suffer from back problems forget this place, saying that if you have dogs they will be very happy to curl up on the furniture. The other problems no vacuum cleaner, other than a useless handheld dyson? The outside is in need of cleaning up, tatty back yard and out buildings, railings require painting, you would think as this is the start of the season it would have all been done?,went to shut the rear door and handle came off in my hand. When we arrived in the cottage went to have a BBQ,it took me a good hour to clean it up, suitable to cook food for human consumption on, the small fire was the same full of ash? This is not what we expected, looked good on internet? Can say the beds were very comfortable. The shower drain was also becoming blocked up and smelling. Not worth the money, its not an area of outstanding beauty more like a military zone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Going back home
Liked least: The Cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Coastguards Lookout. I have to say that I am disappointed by your comments and would like to point out that the property has had many families stay with young children, many of which have posted reviews of their stay which you can read here on Trip Advisor. The property is in an exposed position on the coast and so when a storm rolls through it can be quite an experience. Some guests love the atmosphere created by howling winds and crashing waves when the weather goes wild. The windows will rattle in strong winds, its an old building with many of its original features which retain its character. The log burner is meant to have a bed of ash as you would have read in the instruction manual supplied by the manufacturer inside the cottage. The BBQ however should have been cleaned and checked by the cleaners and they have apologised for the oversight.

Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing