We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty Much Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kjb73
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Perfect”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely time at Coastguard's Lantern with our four year old twins. The cottage is very stylishly furnished and extremely well equipped. Lots of thoughtful extras like a picnic bag, beach towels and a good selection of DVDs, books and games. We also loved the enclosed outdoor space, log burner, comfy beds, views of Romney Marsh and beach on the doorstep.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWStaly
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Easter in E Sussex”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had excellent weather during our stay Coastguard's Lantern. The bread, butter, milk and choccy biscuits were much appreciated. We made use of the BBQ most nights before settling down to watch a DVD from the cottage selection. Beds were comfy and all the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Having the beach on the doorstep was a highlight. We could walk the 2 miles to Camber and only see the occasional dog walker. We do like a ride on a steam train and days out at Romney, Hythe & Dymchurch and the Kent and E Sussex Railways were brilliant. Tenterden is worth a visit, with its busy High Street shops and excellent gluten free cakes at HunnyBeez cafe. We also enjoyed Rye and a drive over to Brighton. The Wi-Fi didn't work at all whilst we were at the cottage, and seemed to be poor in other areas we tried (except Brighton) - so we were unable to see the walks and things to do email we had been sent until nearly the end of our holiday

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann C
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A lovely cosy seaside cottage, very well equipped, clean comfortable and tastefully furnished. If you like long walks along the beach or a lovely picnic this is the perfect place to stay, it is quite secluded but within easy reach of local shops or nearby Rye which has loads of coffee/tea shops and junk shops.

The kitchen has a huge dining table and fantastic aga style cooker great for entertaining. At the end of the day you will fall asleep in the most comfortable bed you can imagine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelej574
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Coastguards Lantern. The cottage is really lovely, tastefully decorated and cosy. The log burning stove was great especially when the weather outside is wild and windy. We were really pleased with the welcome pack and didn't expect the lovely bread and wine. The cottage was very clean and well equipped.

The location is so atmospheric, it has a very timeless feel. The views are wonderful, the beach almost deserted. The dogs loved it.

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy going feel of the cottage
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeP1712
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great views, beautiful sceanery.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Jan & I had a lovely peaceful stay. Alfie (our dog) loved it. Wish we were still there. Great walks for dog owners. Beach is on your doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quite peaceful area, right on the beach...perfect!
Liked least: My wife survived walking across the range no matter how many times I sent her there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to a beautiful beach
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing