We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage - so handy for the beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half Moon Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - so handy for the beach”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time at Half Moon Cottage. What a lovely place, comfy, welcoming and beautifully appointed. The cottage is a only a few minutes walk from the fantastic camber beaches. And it's a short trip into Rye where we sampled some delicious local scallops & found some very welcoming hostelries. We certainly hope to return as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Half Moon. We look forward to your return soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0bsy
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a group of girls staying for a short weekend hoping to escape from London life. This house was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. The house itself was really pretty, felt very homely and was very tidy. We were given a lovely welcome pack which was really appreciated. The house is in an excellent location close to the beach and there was a helpful information booklet for the local area and things to do.
Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for the review. Half Moon is the perfect bolthole away from the hustle and bustle of London, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of house outside and in + location to the beach
Liked least: Only one issue -downstairs cloakroom had a permanent smell similar to tobacco which was unpleasant.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for the glowing review! There is nothing quite like reviving your senses with a brisk, invigorating walk in the crisp winter air, followed by an afternoon warming your toes in front of an open fire in an historic oak-beamed pub. Half Moon is the perfect base to explore the fab beach just a short stroll away and the incredible array of historic places that surround this corner of the country. Hope to see you back again for some more winter sun! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarah t
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had an amazing stay in this cottage with our 3 children 12,11 and 8. Situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and a quick drive to Rye we had everything on the doorstep. The cottage is exceptionally clean and has everything you need. A washer and dryer are really handy and a great sized fridge. There is a fantastic hammock in the garden for everyone to rush too and a very large shed to store bikes and beach gear. Parking is very easy and a back gate means no carrying through the house and easy unpacking of the car. We ate out a lot as Rye has amazing pubs,restaurants and even a cinema. Everywhere let us take our dog which meant we had a true family holiday. Wifi was fine for us and husband managed to keep up with work daily with no complaints.
We have always gone to Cornwall and loved the seaside but after staying in this lovely cottage and on this beach we will be back. You really don't have to go in the car at all but Kent is also very near and we did go on a day trip to Bovey Castle which was fantastic. Our children have had a fantastic week and so have we. Rye is so worth a visit and they have some beautiful shops.Thank you for letting us stay in your cottage it is truly great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close to London and such a beautiful cottage and walking distance to the beach and so close to a beautiful town.
Liked least: only one Hammock
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for the great review. It was lovely to meet you on the beach and hear about this cracking cottage you was staying in! Hopefully this stay has persuaded you to drop Cornwall for Camber! Look forward to seeing you back at Half Moon very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claret196...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet location with a short walk to a gorgeous beach.”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Half Moon Cottage for a week in the Easter holidays. We are a family of four including two teenagers.The house was comfortable and nicely furnished. We were extremely lucky as the weather was fantastic and we were able to spend time in the small garden as well as on the beach.
The welcome pack of yummy goodies was very much appreciated .
I would recommend the house for a family of four but no more as the living area is cosy but it is not huge.
The beach is about a five minute walk from the house and even though Pontins is right next to the development the cottage is in,it did not affect us. We ate at The Green Owl which was a friendly pub.
Only improvement I would recommend is better WIFI which was poor and some padded loungers in the garden. If you are looking for a beach holiday and with the added bonus of being dog friendly then this is a great cottage for you.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are disappointed that you marked the property as only 3 stars when you said that the only improvement was better wifi, which is being upgraded in June when the area is able to have the super fast fibre broadband and some padded loungers in the garden.

The property sleeps 5 people comfortably and for shorter periods there is a sofa bed that can sleep 2 people making it a very cost effective option for 7 people looking for a short break, so I would disagree with your view that the property is for families of 4 people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgwells...
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasant cottage close to the beach”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A clean, warm and pleasant house, within 5 minutes walk of Camber Sands. Would sleep 5 comfortably - a bit small for our group of 6. There are two different photos of the master bedroom on the website which makes it look bigger than it is (although the written information is very accurate) but perfect for smaller groups and very warm, even in January!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach bums for the weekend!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Rented this cottage for our daughters 14th Birthday. Only an hour from where we live but wanted a complete change of surroundings. Beach short 5 minute walk away where we spent having fun on the dunes and in the water (dog included). Cottage itself is very well appointed and garden low maintenance (nautically themed). House immaculate and tastefully furnished. Lovely welcome pack when we arrived including locally made cake, cookies and milk in the fridge. Had a BBQ (gas type) Saturday night which was delicious and everything cooked to perfection. No shops appear to be within walking distance but I bought everything with us no worries there. All beds super comfy (including the sofa bed) so all in all a wonderful weekend!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing