We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are hoping for a fun family break go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you are hoping for a fun family break go somewhere else”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived on 15.08.14 for a three night stay and paid 242.00 with the bedding. We had a 2 bed classic appartment.
checkin was at 4pm and was very efficient no problems occured, we found our appartment and was very disappointed. The appartment was filthy; there was mould spores on all curtains, terrible smell throughout appartment, bathroom ceiling was damaged along with walls and door including flooring, the toilet brush was on top of toilet covered in human excrement. The double sofa bed was broken and is not really suitable for two adults. The self catering facilities are very poor.
The park facilities are passable for smaller children. The arcade is not great and health and safety is questionable; whilst in the arcade we witnessed a child being slightly naughty which resulted in a slot machine breaking glass went everywhere and a member of staff was bleeding yet no first aider was called? Just attendant to hoover up all the glass that had shattered.
The pool i cannot comment on as i did not use this particular facility.
Queen Vic Pub that was an experience that i never wish to repeat. The serving staff was pleasent and did her best however it states in big bold letters that any customers that are to be deemed intoxicated will not be served this was not the case on serveral occasions.
The sands cafe was filthy we arrived at 10.45 on sat morning to sample breakfast; front of house staff was pleasent however that was it, all tables were uncleaned foors filthy although i did observe a cleaner requesting more help to clear tables and he was advised that there was no one else available?. The breakfast was poor cerial containers not refilled no clean eating utensils either. The bread which was available to toast was handled by all guests no tongs to handle it with before toasting ect.. The cooked breakfast was shocking the servers were not wearing hairnets which is required alongside gloves when handling food in kitchen environment.
The entertainment i can not comment on.
There were several play parks for the younger kids which were popular however there was on occassions a strong smell of weed near the play parks close to the shop.
I did raise the concerns about the state of our appartment on the sat and i was just looked at in a blank manner by a young person. After the breakfast on the saturday morning we all became very sick and decided for our own health and safety we would check out on the sunday which we did at 8.30 in the morning. When handing our keys back the receptionist asked why we was leaving early and i advised her why and she apologised. Our overall experience with pontins is poor which is a shame as camber and surrounding areas is very nice. The pontins resort is used by a variety of people however a lot of the guests just got drunk all of the time while there kids run riot.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    450
    546
    423
    1,685
See reviews for
2,142
206
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a three night stay and we booked again for october as soon as we were home.i must admitt I was really dreading it after reading the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived checkin was quick tgere were no delays,the challet was absolutely spottless I was so chuffed the kids absolutely loved it ,it did help with our neighbours being really friendly to it was like one big family and I was sad to leave but cant wait for our return on Halloween weekend the kids are over excited !!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night break at pontins camber sands & I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel, but this particular pontins is being advertised as having had a recent refurbishment, where? The chalets are tired looking, clean but internally & externally need tidying up. The carpets in the main building need a desperate clean, sticky underfoot.
Checking in was a complete nightmare massive queues & very little organisation. We wanted to eat on site one evening & the only place that was open was a take away burger place, the burgers could have been used as door stops! It was only 8 pm & there was nowhere else to eat.
Parking a car was a gamble everyday, we used more petrol driving around looking for a space than at any other time, surely pontins can allocate one space per chalet?

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camber hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a weeks holiday at Pontins for the family me, my wife and son aged 7) starting on 09/08/14. When we eventually found somewhere to park which was nowhere near the Chalet, we then found where our Chalet was 501. We walked into the Chalet the floor was dirty we walked into the bed room and there was no mattress or pillow protectors and on 1 pillow there was sick which is unbelievable. we paid for the bed linen and when we took it out of the packet it smelt fusty!!! we took it back as it was for single beds and not for the double bed we told reception that the linen smelt, they were not interested. As we were self catering we thought lets eat in the Sands restaurant on the 1st night......................what an experience that was.........not. food was not very good, not enough cups, desserts running out. Only two foreign ladies clearing tables that could not keep up. we went up to get our starters only to come back to the table and people had piled dirty plates etc on our table despite us leaving our drinks and belongings on the table.
We went to the amusement arcade so our son could spend his pocket money that he had saved up on the slot machines, it was busy but good for him.
we went to bed about 10.30 Saturday only to be woken up in the early hours by some very noisy people coming back from the club house and continued to be noisy for sometime.

I took my son swimming on the Sunday morning and the pool was ok it had a few slides and was not over busy.

On the Sunday evening we decided to go and see the entertainment in the club house. When we first walked into the room you are met with an overwhelming smell of sick, which puts you off straight away, hence to say we didn't stay in there very long.

From 11.30 pm on Sunday some people came back to their room and decided to have a party outside their Chalet until 2.30 am and let the children play football outside all the Chalets. They were told to quieten down by other people, but they just gave verbal abuse.....................after reporting to Security they never showed up.

This was the final straw for us and we packed up and left first thing on Monday morning.

This needs a visit from environmental health and then pulled down!!!!!!
Reception were not interested in anything we had to say to them. I am still waiting for a response to the e mail I sent to the General Manager.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Worse break EVER, would never go back, only good thing was the nice Beach (nothing to do with Pontins), whole place was dated and filth, Entertainment was very poor and very repetitive, arcades constant problems, buildings look like they should be condemned, all windows including main building, pub and chalets look like they have not been cleaned in at least a year. they say a total renovation has been done all i can see is they have painted inside chalets, tv in room was out of arc, i plug socket in each room 4 in total for whole chalet, if it cold then thats 2 sockets used for heaters, 1 for tv and 1 for kettle thats it all gone!!!!!! you have to switch water heater of to use cooker and visa versa, nothing but parks for kids which your kids can go park anywhere, character not to be seen until you go home if he is there then. food expensive, severe lack of staff, need I go on felt more like a prison break than holiday, the sofa bed turns into more like large single bed. i am size 12 and husband is 38 waist we struggled in the sofa bed, cooker was rusty, I can not go on anymore you get the picture AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Room Tip: you can not choose a good room they are all the same upgrade or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

considering this is supposed to be a kids holiday park the evening entertainment is non existent for them more for the adults as they know that's where the money will come from to pay for this pathetic attempt of a holiday park!! the kids bingo you pay £1 a flyer and you get to win one prize a teddy of 6inches unbelievable. the rooms are a disgrace and unbelievably filthy we actually scrubbed everything down before we unpacked!! we had no oven tray as well as other basic kitchen utensils and despite asking twice never got them so went and brought our own!! the pools were always over crowded and even had to be closed at one point as a child had had a poo in it a regular occurrence we were told NICE!!!! the staff at the resort openly spoke loudly about others who should be sacked. they all looked miserable and I certainly wouldn't have eaten in there restaurants if that's what you would call them anyway as they didn't look very hygienic. they also don't tell you that you have to pay for most of the things there apart from crazy golf? oh and the parks. you even have to pay for taking your own picture with the owls I mean come on budget means budget and you go there because its cheap you don't expect to then pay the same amount for the accommodation as you do the entertainment on the park!! and half the time not everything was open go karts for kids I noticed it twice in a week??? aswell as the bouncy castle , but of course they opened them for new comer days Friday?? if you have not got enough staff to manage it why advertise it?? I only come here as it looked good on website and stated been modernised well if that's what they class as modernised im david beckham!!! would never ever visit a pontins site again especially this one utterly shocking. make sure you have a hot bath after you come home to wash the dirt of you if you do go especially your feet!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Camber Sands beach is beautiful and clean, with safe bathing and nice beach café and facilities.
Sadly Pontins is not up to the same standard. The accommodation looks like army barracks - grey concrete blocks with very thin walls. We did not expect luxury only basic , but basic was even lacking here - the accommodation was small and standard, which was fine, but it was not clean and had holes in the wall and dirty bedding left from the previous occupant. We had to clean it thoroughly before we could even unpack. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, and there was minimum crockery and cookware. On arrival I found we had not paid for bed linen - apparently this is an 'extra' - really????!!!?? I complained that this was not clear on the booking form as I understood extra bed linen to refer to if we wanted more - and I was given free bedding (which I appreciated).
The resort itself has good swings and play facilities, and a nice crazy golf course, but there are cigarette butts all over the grass absolutely everywhere, and lots of blocked drains near the buildings so that pools of water are everywhere. The indoor facilities are shockingly poor. All the communal rooms smell of sweat and dirty carpets, and there is a pervading smell of urine as you pass any of the toilet areas. Nothing seems clean or cared for. Everything needs a lick of paint and a good deep clean.
There is very little information available about the site - you have to find most things out for yourself.
The on site 'supermarket' shop was extremely expensive, with £1.70 being charged for a small bottle of diet coke for example.
The machines in the arcade kept breaking down and we waited for over an hour to redeem our 'tickets' because the machines broke down 10 times in the space of an hour. The assistants tried to be helpful but were too overwhelmed by the constant complaints from so many people to really deal with a fairly simple problem of the ticket bin inside the machine being full, which would have stopped the machine constantly breaking down. And then we took our tickets to get our 'prizes' - again, you expect fairly basic, but this was beyond ridiculous - cheap nasty stuff that you would reject in the £1 shop.
One of the pleasures of being on holiday is not cooking but here the food is truly shocking - the 'restaurant' is not a restaurant - it is a canteen style room with absolutely disgusting food. There is little alternative - a takeaway burger 'shack' was horrid as well.
Luckily we found a fish and chip shop within walking distance of the site, but you cant eat that every night!
I would not recommend this site to anyone - I would certainly NEVER go back there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ValP546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
0.1 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
754 reviews
5.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Camber Sands Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Camber Sands Centre

Property: Pontin's Camber Sands Centre
Address: New Lydd Road | Camber Sands, near Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Camber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Camber Sands Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Camber Sands Centre Hotel Camber
Pontins Camber Sands Centre Rye
Pontin's Camber Sands Centre East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing