We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house in a beautiful location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Mellow

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Marindame...
1 review
“Stunning house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 4 adults and 2 children, and a dog had a very comfortable stay in this gorgeous house. We particularly enjoyed our early morning walks on beautiful Camber Sands beach, and both the children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed exploring the sand dunes. This was our second visit to this coastal gem and we will be returning as soon as we can. Richard and his wife were very helpful, supplying extra bedding promptly when it was required. We also loved exploring Rye's cobbled High Street. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Marinda Meeuwis

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review, it was great to meet you all. We highly recommend early morning beach walks where its just you and the sound of Seagulls, skylarks and the sound of the sea! Look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon. Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxation !”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful week in marsh mellow House . It was really comfortable and home from home . It is tastefully furnished and modern . The layout of the house was perfect for us as we took our two year old black lab there on his first holiday !. The garden was perfect for sitting in on a rare hot day in april ( only suggestion is that sun loungers would of been appreciated ).The kitchen was great with its open plan design with lovely big table to sit and have our meals at . then we retired upstairs to the comfy lounge . The beach is absolutely out of this world and we walked for miles on it twice daily . Please be aware that dog restrictions exist during summer months , we went in April so it was unlimited access. there are two lovely pubs nearby which both do decent meals . All in all it was everything we were hoping for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the beach
Liked least: Bbq looked a bit neglected
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the property as the owners have furnished it to a very high standard for all guests and will appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstymil...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday in camber”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in this cottage in camber at Easter and had a lovely relaxing week. The house looks exactly like the photos and was very clean and light. Despite being next to pontins there was very little noise and the fact that the house is on the end means you have a larger garden and windows in the bathrooms and kitchen. The walk to the beach takes 5 mins through the sand dunes and there is 2 small supermarkets walking distance plus a fish and chip shop. We didn't eat out at the gallivant as we have a dog and didn't like the look of the hotel where you could take a dog. We ate at the Kings head rye which is just outside the town and had a fantastic meal and they accept dogs. Dungeness was surreal and worth a visit, battle was good, Hastings less so. We went to Canterbury which was good and rye itself though small is very nice and unspoilt. The holiday renting people were really good - I arranged a sainsburies delivery which they took in for me and put away at no cost. The layout of the house is particularly good as it gives you a second lounge and tv - good if you are holidaying with teenagers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Marsh Mellow, it is in a great position and we are glad that you were able to make the most of the outside space.

So pleased the weather was nice during your stay for all your trips out and about, it's great to hear where guests have been and what places they enjoyed.

No problems re the shopping, it looks like you were going to have a lovely week of food with lots of yummy stuff to eat!

We do hope you come and stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliJNW
London
1 review
“Perfect holiday house for family or group of friends”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The description and photos didn't disappoint in what we were hoping for, with the owners putting top quality furnishings and linen throughout.
Overall, we were very comfortable (family of four, with grandparent with us too), with layout making it easy for us to occupy top floor, and were greeted with lovely welcome pack.
Walk to beach is very easy, only need to be little careful crossing road, and sand dune makes it good exercise. Beach is splendid - massive of space for kids to run around, just need to keep an eye on tide times a bit.
Enjoyed it so much and kids had such good time, planning on returning next year for a week again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truong23
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family holiday by the sea”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Marsh Mellow was a very comfortable home for a family holiday (with a baby and toddler). It was great to have a travel cot provided and the kitchen was well equipped. There are lovely views across the fields from the living room- our little one enjoyed watching the sheep, rabbits and wind turbines!
The house benefits from being located a short walk from beautiful Camber beach which was ideal for lots of sandcastle making and paddling! The beach was often empty and never crowded throughout our stay, We also went on trips to nearby Rye, Dungeoness, Hastings and Bodium castle.
An excellent place to stay in a fab location!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenericMa...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and modern”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastically relaxing break here over Easter 2014. The photos do not do the house justice. It's brand new with all mod cons (including a great TV and reliable WiFi). It's tastefully decorated in neutral colours with a nautical themes.

It's on a modern estate directly adjacent to the Pontins but throughout our stay it was peaceful and quiet. The views to the wind turbines are great: we went out to watch the rabbits playing at dusk.

The hosts are very thoughtful: we had a great welcome pack with milk in the fridge and every detail seemed to be taken care of.

We travelled there and back by public transport and found it very easy. Taxis from Rye station are easy (but need to be booked in advance). There is a bus stop about 200m from the house that goes to Rye, Lydd and Hastings. The nearest place for top quality coffee (that we found) is the Mermaid in Rye.

Having suffered the patchy quality of many houses to rent in the UK, this house was a very welcome change.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
869alexan...
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming Seaside Cottage + Kite Surfing Thrills”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in May 2013

A perfect seaside cottage for a group of friends, with everything you need for lots of fun and frolics. Loved the power kites that we could take onto the beach to catch the breeze.

Plenty of good pubs and boozers really close by to finish off a busy day at the beach. Can't wait to get back to camber this summer! Would be super to get some cycling in next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing