We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern, clean holiday home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Mellow

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SHC00
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Modern, clean holiday home.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week in Marsh Mellow. The house was very clean, modern and had everything we needed. (I do love things to be really clean and this was perfect!)
We were so lucky with the weather and had a full week of sunshine. We spent most days at the beautiful beach which was minutes away. An easy walk for our three, 3 year olds!
The beach was one of the most beautiful I have been to in this country and big enough to never feel too over crowded, even in the summer holidays.
A lovely English beach holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you loved the house, its certainly in a great spot to enjoy our amazing beach! We hope to see you all back again very soon. Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B
1 review
“Truly an amazing holiday”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house was wonderful with everything you need and more. The bedrooms were stunning, and well presented. House was very mod and beautifully decorated. A main asset to us as well was having a toilet downstairs for parents and children. Towels was also supplied just needing beach towels.
We had a fab holiday with parents in there 80s, 2 granddaughters 2yrs and 3yrs, me, my husband, our down syndrome son who's 28 and our boxer dog Billy.
We was situated perfectly to the beach, shops pubs and restaurants 5min walk away. Rye was 10min drive which we enjoyed a relaxing walk around, ending up at the fresh fish shop for some tasty prawns, mussels and jellied eels.

It was truly an amazing holiday and we will be returning next year for some more fun by the sea.
We was very touched by the welcoming package that was there when we arrived, it went down rather well, a big thank you for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing
Liked least: Comming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review, it was great to meet you all. The owners will be delighted with your comments. Look forward to welcoming you all back next year! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindame...
1 review
“Stunning house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 4 adults and 2 children, and a dog had a very comfortable stay in this gorgeous house. We particularly enjoyed our early morning walks on beautiful Camber Sands beach, and both the children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed exploring the sand dunes. This was our second visit to this coastal gem and we will be returning as soon as we can. Richard and his wife were very helpful, supplying extra bedding promptly when it was required. We also loved exploring Rye's cobbled High Street. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Marinda Meeuwis

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely review, it was great to meet you all. We highly recommend early morning beach walks where its just you and the sound of Seagulls, skylarks and the sound of the sea! Look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon. Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxation !”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful week in marsh mellow House . It was really comfortable and home from home . It is tastefully furnished and modern . The layout of the house was perfect for us as we took our two year old black lab there on his first holiday !. The garden was perfect for sitting in on a rare hot day in april ( only suggestion is that sun loungers would of been appreciated ).The kitchen was great with its open plan design with lovely big table to sit and have our meals at . then we retired upstairs to the comfy lounge . The beach is absolutely out of this world and we walked for miles on it twice daily . Please be aware that dog restrictions exist during summer months , we went in April so it was unlimited access. there are two lovely pubs nearby which both do decent meals . All in all it was everything we were hoping for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the beach
Liked least: Bbq looked a bit neglected
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the property as the owners have furnished it to a very high standard for all guests and will appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstymil...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday in camber”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in this cottage in camber at Easter and had a lovely relaxing week. The house looks exactly like the photos and was very clean and light. Despite being next to pontins there was very little noise and the fact that the house is on the end means you have a larger garden and windows in the bathrooms and kitchen. The walk to the beach takes 5 mins through the sand dunes and there is 2 small supermarkets walking distance plus a fish and chip shop. We didn't eat out at the gallivant as we have a dog and didn't like the look of the hotel where you could take a dog. We ate at the Kings head rye which is just outside the town and had a fantastic meal and they accept dogs. Dungeness was surreal and worth a visit, battle was good, Hastings less so. We went to Canterbury which was good and rye itself though small is very nice and unspoilt. The holiday renting people were really good - I arranged a sainsburies delivery which they took in for me and put away at no cost. The layout of the house is particularly good as it gives you a second lounge and tv - good if you are holidaying with teenagers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Marsh Mellow, it is in a great position and we are glad that you were able to make the most of the outside space.

So pleased the weather was nice during your stay for all your trips out and about, it's great to hear where guests have been and what places they enjoyed.

No problems re the shopping, it looks like you were going to have a lovely week of food with lots of yummy stuff to eat!

We do hope you come and stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliJNW
London
1 review
“Perfect holiday house for family or group of friends”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The description and photos didn't disappoint in what we were hoping for, with the owners putting top quality furnishings and linen throughout.
Overall, we were very comfortable (family of four, with grandparent with us too), with layout making it easy for us to occupy top floor, and were greeted with lovely welcome pack.
Walk to beach is very easy, only need to be little careful crossing road, and sand dune makes it good exercise. Beach is splendid - massive of space for kids to run around, just need to keep an eye on tide times a bit.
Enjoyed it so much and kids had such good time, planning on returning next year for a week again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truong23
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family holiday by the sea”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Marsh Mellow was a very comfortable home for a family holiday (with a baby and toddler). It was great to have a travel cot provided and the kitchen was well equipped. There are lovely views across the fields from the living room- our little one enjoyed watching the sheep, rabbits and wind turbines!
The house benefits from being located a short walk from beautiful Camber beach which was ideal for lots of sandcastle making and paddling! The beach was often empty and never crowded throughout our stay, We also went on trips to nearby Rye, Dungeoness, Hastings and Bodium castle.
An excellent place to stay in a fab location!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing