We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsJam37
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned from a week’s stay at this lovely little cottage. On arrival the owners, Michelle, Paul and their family made us feel very welcome.

The cottage is clean, tidy and very well equipped and offers everything you would need for a holiday. It also has a lovely garden area.

The highlight of this holiday for my family were the gorgeous little lambs, Todd and Charlie, that both my daughter and son helped to feed. We don’t have any pets of our own, so my son and daughter loved playing with the friendly cats and the dogs. There are also donkeys, guinea pigs, and chickens on the farm. We even bought fresh eggs to have with our breakfast.

Another bonus for us was having the lovely beach just a short 5 -10 minute walk away. We also cycled into Rye, which was along a nice off the road cycle path.

We don’t normal go back to the same places on holiday and if we do its definitely not in the same year, but we loved this place so much that we have booked to go back for another week in a few months time.

I would highly recommend this place. In the words of my daughter and son ‘I love I, I love, it I love it’

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were made to feel very welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Ah, thanks so much. We loved having you here and can't wait to welcome you all back in the summer! I'm sure the animals will be pleased to see Lily and Ben! Thanks again Michelle and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninkynood...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog friendly cottage within easy walking distance of Camber Sands beach”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just spent the Easter weekend at this lovely little cottage. It is clean, fresh and tastefully decorated with beach related touches throughout. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and a great place to do an Easter egg hunt! We had a warm welcome and a little tour of the farm on arrival and Michelle was on hand when we wanted to buy some fresh farm eggs and Paul was on hand when we couldn't work the shower! A really comfortable stay and I could have happily stayed for longer. The beach is only 5 -10 minutes away and it is great for dog walking and getting some sea air into your lungs. I hope to come back for some more weekends away in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty cottage on a farm but in walking distance of the beach
Liked least: The pizza from Rye Grill ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you Nina and family, we are glad you had a lovely break and hurricane Katie didn't ruin it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. You just missed our new arrival - a one day old lamb arrived today a mate for Todd, video on FB.
Many thanks
Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab find”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely loved this place, clean with everything you could need to have a lovely stay.
Just a short walk to the beach with donkeys, sheep and chickens on the farm
Would highly recommend this place, looking forward to our next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Hi
Thank you for your kind words, we would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes
Michelle and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil r
1 review
“Excellent quiet cottage on the edge of Camber, perfect.”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A well appointed cottage with everything one would need for a holiday break. With nearby Rye, Dungeness or Hastings to visit, this rural location is perfect as a touring base or staying local and enjoying the dunes and sandy beach at Camber. The cottage is very well equipped and offers everything you would need for a holiday. Well worth a visit and we look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb bed !
Liked least: Can't fault the holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Hi Phil
We are glad you had a lovely stay, thank you for your lovely comments.
Best wishes Michelle and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahKen...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a 3 night break at Horseshoe. With my hubby and dog Jack in tow. From the moment we arrived Michelle greeted us and made us feel at home. The Cottage was beautiful We had a welcome table with treats for Jack and biscuits, coffee and tea. We had everything we needed for our stay with lovely special touches. The farm was and gardens were beautiful. We were greeted by the two resident black cats who were very friendly. There were also ducks geese, donkeys, chickens and we left with some fresh eggs, of which we have already started (they are lovely Michelle). This place was absolute heaven, sio quiet. The beach is a 10 min walk anfd there are lovely walks all around. Rye is very near for a nice amble and lots more. We will be coming back in April and October next year. Would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you Michelle and Paul for the most memorable break. See you next year Cherryl, Brian and Jack xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of owners and the quietness and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Hi Cherry, Brian and not forgetting the lovely Jack
You are very welcome and thank you for your lovely comments. So glad you loved it here, we do too! Look forward to seeing you all again in 2016. Take care for now. Michelle and gang (human and feathers/furies)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen-Sco...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed there in June of this year and were made to feel really welcome by the owners and nothing was to much trouble. The cottage is spacious, very clean, tidy and well decorated, a real cosy warm feel. There is a nice garden area and patio just outside the cottage too! Pound field Cottages is in an ideal location just a short walk to the famous Camper Sands beach and there is plenty of interesting places to visit nearby and some great restaurants.A big plus is that we could take our dog Harry who has already booked in to stay there again - 5 STARS!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great place to stay in a great location!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you and of course Harry back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean p
1 review
“lovely cottage,clean and comfortable,dogs loved it,highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we had a last minute booking,for 3 nights,we enjoyed every minute we were welcomed by michelle and paul and felt at home straight away,the dogs settled in and we all relaxed to a welcome tea and biscuits, fresh eggs available,lovely garden just a walk over the road to the beach,we will go back again for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxed atmosphere,comfortable bed,lovely garden
Liked least: not much space to store food,if staying longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you Jean, It was lovely to meet you all especially Ruby and Fluer, you are all very welcome back any time. Hope to see you all again in the future. Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing