We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Long Weekend at Rock Lobster!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
We aim to make holidaying with children as stress-free as possible.
Rock Lobster is located on the award winning Whitesand development at Camber Sands.
We are proud of our 4* Gold Award from Enjoy England.
We welcome dogs as Rock Lobster.
Church Square in Rye, a picture perfect ancient town just 3 miles away.
Ypres Castle in Rye, one of many attractions within a few miles of Rock Lobster.
Mermaid Street in Rye (3 miles away) is one of the prettiest cobbled streets in the UK.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness.
Dungeness a baron landscape but a great place to explore - much loved by photographers and artists.
Bodiam Castle, one of many National Trust properties within a short drive of Camber Sands.
The 'little train' - The Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway - a great family day out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alex R
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Long Weekend at Rock Lobster!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Rock Lobster!

Immaculately clean and well positioned for Camber, Rye and surrounding areas. The house is well set out and great for families and young children. Our little boy (aged 2) loved the garden and could safely play in it. The decor is clean and modern and everything had been thought of so we didn't have to worry or think about anything.

We all loved the extra touches - Daisy the Dog, delicious homemade scones & jam and tea, coffee & milk provided.

We look forward to staying again and will definitely be recommending Rock Lobster to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have put a lot of thought and effort into making our holiday homes as children friendly as possible without detracting from the enjoyment of those without children and other adults. It's good to know we have got it right.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Modern, clean, well equipped and close to the beach.”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable modern semi-detached house which sits within a quiet attractive modern development. It has everything you need. The décor is tasteful and nautical themed. Comfy bed with crisp white linen and rain shower.
The house was immaculately clean and dog friendly.
The garden was enclosed but bland. It consisted of decking and pebbles which is low maintenance but lacked colour and didn't inspire you to sit outside even on a sunny day. A few shrubs/flowers would have made all the difference.
The beautiful beach was a 5 minute walk away and dog friendly.
The owner supplied delicious freshly baked scones and homemade jam on arrival. She also contacted us during our stay to ensure everything was alright.
We would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, tasteful and close to the beach.
Liked least: The garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. Early May is not the best time for our little garden which we have tried to keep as dog/ child friendly as possible with tough ornamental zebra grass, pampas type grasses and herbs. I'm afraid the herbs got a bit of a bashing over the winter and either had to be removed or at best looked a bit battered during your stay. We are sorry you did not feel inspired to sit out as the garden is lovely and sheltered and the furniture quite comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you and your dogs back in the future.

Carol (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley_Ca...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday chalet near the beach”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Well appointed holiday cottage in a lovely area for a seaside/country break. Little touches - such as the scones and home made jam and the dog biscuits made us feel really welcome. I would definitely recommend this property and the owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickandKa...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ticked All The Boxes!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for five nights in April and it did all we wanted it to.
The place was clean and had all we needed for a short break on the coast. We were met on arrival and had everything explained very clearly and the milk, scones and jam were very much appreciated.
The beach is a very short walk away and Barney our dog loved running in the sand dunes and along the beach. If you are planning a visit with a dog you cannot use the middle section of the beach from May 1st - Sept.30th but there is lots of space either side of the restricted area and plenty of good walking places around the area.
We would happily go back again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you and Barney back again sometime. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You will not be disappointed; great accommodation and location.”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Everything advertised matched our experience. A wonderfull cottage, home from home, and location for humans and especially for dogs..Nice touch supplying scones and jam on our arrival. I would recommend starting your day and have a breakfast at Beryl's kitchen, next to Salty Farm all freshly cooked from local produce. Eddie our 2 year old working Cocker Spaniel loved the nearby beach where he could run and have fun until his heart was content.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the beach
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogfaldo
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Mother's Day weekend at Rock Lobster”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I booked a weekend away at Rock Lobster as a Mother's Day weekend treat for my wife and our 2 young children (4 mth old and 3 yr old) and from the time I booked to the time we left (and beyond), the whole experience was fantastic.

After I booked the trip around 3 weeks before our booking, the owner contacted me with further information regarding the accommodation and loads more useful info regarding the surrounding area - the letter from 'Daisy the dog' to our little boy was a really nice touch!

The directions to the cottage were very useful and we were met by the housekeeper who was extremely helpful and showed us around. The Rock Lobster cottage is beautifully kept and has pretty much everything we needed for a toddler and a young baby - which meant we only had to take one car! (The only thing we couldn't find was a changing mat) - For those without children don't worry the child-useful items aren't in your face, one of the beauties with this place is that there is plenty of storage and everything has a home. Bedrooms are a lovely size and we could have had the cot in either room.

Camber Sands has a beautiful beach which we would love to sample again in the summer. We had breakfast at the Camber cafe which was really lovely and good value. We also spent a day at Drusillas which I would definitely recommend to those with young children - it's about 1hr 15 mins away but thoroughly worth it.

We were sorry to leave Rock Lobster and the whole experience was great (we even received our security deposit back promptly) - the owners have obviously put a lot of thought into this holiday let and we're soooo pleased that we found out about it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The efficiency of the whole experience and accomodation
Liked least: The WiFi was a little unrealiable
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased you found Rock Lobster to be well equipped and comfortable for both you and your little ones and enjoyed your visit to Drusillas. We are so fortunate to have so many family attractions in the area, Drusillas is always popular with pre-schoolers.

A new changing mat will be purchased - it must have taken a walk unnoticed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxstar83
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved staying at Rock Lobster. I travelled with my husband, our 14 month old and our dog. The cottage is tastefully decorated and has everything you might need for a short or extended stay. It is very child-friendly with plenty of equipment for babies and toys, books etc. The location is fantastic for walking to the beach or restaurants and is only a short drive to the pretty town of Rye. This is our second time staying at Rock Lobster and we would not hesitate to do so again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern decor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We aim to make our holiday cottages as child friendly as possible without compromising the comfort for adults. We are pleased you're little one enjoyed the toys etc. provided. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing