We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Frances18...
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for families”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The Salty Dog is a real home from home. We were met by John, who was very friendly and helpful showing us around and giving us some local knowledge. There was plently of room for 6 adults, a 19 month toddler and a 7 week old baby. As promised all required items were provided and in excellent condition.
The welcome tray was a lovely touch and the homemade jam very tasty!
Although this is a dog friendly let, we would never have known as there was no doggy smell or hairs. If going out of season it may be advisable to check places are open, this didn't cause us a problem though. We didn't have great weather but even so the area is lovely and we will be looking to book again.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just like home
Liked least: We didn't have a long enough stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St albans
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Date of stay: July 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2012
We are always so pleased when guests enjoy staying at The Salty Dog and Camber Sands as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you and you lovely family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dartford
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Date of stay: July 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esher
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2012
I'm pleased you enjoyed your holiday, the Camber coast is certainly magical with its vast sandy beaches and skies and there is plenty to explore and do in the area on a family holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surbiton
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Date of stay: April 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Apr 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences. Camber Sands beach is certainly a fantastic place for dogs and so close to the cottage. It was nice to meet you and your lovely dog, who I can see from the photo enjoyed her games on the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Date of stay: March 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jox66
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great stay for all the family”
Reviewed 17 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We immediately felt at home in this clean, comfortable and well-equipped house. Although it is dog-friendly, there was no trace of previous doggy guests - no doggy odour or dog hair, the place was spotlessly clean throughout and well maintained to a high standard. The beds were very comfortable (I would say the main bed had a medium to firm mattress) with fresh clean white bed linen. The house is nicely designed to give a feeling of light and space, It is a short walk to both the friendly Green Owl pub and also The Gallivant Hotel if you wish to eat out, and it is about 8 mins walk to the nearest shop. Cups, glasses, plates etc were all modern and in good condition and there was a thoughtful welcome tray waiting upon our arrival. It really does feel like a home away from home and we will definitely return!

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of cleanliness and the homemade jam on arrival
Liked least: The washing machine was rather loud
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your short break at The Salty Dog. We pride ourselves on being dog-friendly but not "doggy"! We do charge a £20 supplement per stay to guests who bring dogs, which we use to pay for extra cleaning time, ensuring the cottage is bright and fresh for our next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.