We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of El Pontifical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pontifical
Fairfax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

It was an easy decision to stay here again this year after our wonderful visit last spring. Our flight arrives in Madrid at 7:30 in the morning after a long trip from the US and we really appreciate the ability to request early check in. We use all our stays as a basis for day trips and the quiet nights and mornings are welcome. This year we drove from El Pontifical to Segovia and my husband lost his wallet there, not stolen, dropped. We didn't realize it until we were halfway back to Madrid and no one was able to help us. We got back to the hotel concerned about the wallet and tired from our day of sightseeing. Our server at the hotel restaurant called Ms. Diaz and we spoke to her about the lost wallet. The next morning she had phone numbers, called Segovia police for us and the wallet had been turned in!! We got the address and picked it up on our way to the rest of our vacation. This is a long story to tell how helpful Ms. Diaz can be if you let her know what you need.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    1
    7
    10
See reviews for
4
36
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We recently returned from a fabulous vacation in Spain. On the Madrid leg we choose El Pontifical based on reviews here and on B&B websites. Using this small “Casa Rural” as a base for day trips to Madrid, Cuenca, Toledo and Alcala de Henares, we were well taken care of by Ms. Diaz, the owner. El Pontifical is a lovingly restored granary with 5 en suite rooms on the top floor, dining/breakfast room down one floor then a bar tucked into a basement “cavern”. After a long flight from the US, we arrived exhausted and jet lagged at 10 in the morning, expecting to drop our bags and explore the area until we could “check in”. We were told our room was ready and we were welcome to the breakfast laid out and coffee. Hot croissants every morning, my husband sooo looked forward to them each day. After our coffee and breakfast we took a nap in the queen poster bed and woke refreshed to drive back to Madrid and visit the Prado, free after 6 p.m. We had reserved a double standard room, but I think from the pictures, we were in the double superior. Our room, #4, queen poster bed, large double closet, desk and chair, flat screen TV, nice sized bath with shower, soaps, shampoo, shower gels, toothbrushes, hair dryer, small space heater, had a fabulous view; of the 5 rooms, #4, 5 and 2 will have the best views. The village Los Santos de la Humosa is perched on a hill 30 km east of the Madrid airport just off the A2 and is a great spot for hiking and biking, we were there early in the season so the fields weren’t as pretty as the brochures. A rental car is best to make the best use of your time and please bring maps and use a garmin type car navigation device. The village has many tight winding streets and Ms. Diaz has put up more signs for the hotel which is near the church at the top of the hill. El Pontifical serves lunch every day, but dinner only on Saturday; as we were out most of the day, we would eat before we returned. One evening, on Ms. Diaz’ recommendation, we ate at the Parador in Alcala de Henares, a lovely college town between Madrid and Los Santos de la Humosa, then strolled around the city square watching the storks building nests on the building spires. We would certainly recommend El Pontifical if you are looking for a quiet getaway, for a nature/athletic outing, or as we used it, for day trips in and around Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This is a wonder, quiet, out of the way place to go to avoid the busyness of Madrid yet be close for touring Madrid (I recommend taking the RENFE train from Alcalá nearby) and areas of interest around Madrid. The hotel is a Bed & Breakfast (with the best breakfast we had in Spain!). There is bus service to Los Santos de la Humosa but you will have to walk up a steep hill to get to the hotel. A small car is a better option with generous parking next to the hotel. There are limited services (bars and small grocery available) in the town but everything you would want is easily accessible in Alcalá (a university town) only a few miles away EXCEPT laundry service (there is a dry cleaner though) so you had better plan to get through your stay with the items you have on hand. This hotel would be my first choice if I return to Madrid for a future visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrettMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

A very small village with very narrow & curved streets.
This host house (5 rooms) is hard to found but very nice a romantic stay.
The suite had a too small heating, it was quite cold in winter.
Nice place & nice people.

Breakfast is inclusive.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Santos De La Humosa
4.1 mi away
Sercotel Encin Golf Hotel
Sercotel Encin Golf Hotel
#13 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
41 reviews
5.6 mi away
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Parador de Alcala de Henares
#1 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
936 reviews
6.9 mi away
Zouk Motel
Zouk Motel
#3 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Tryp Guadalajara Hotel
Tryp Guadalajara Hotel
#1 of 8 in Guadalajara
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Alcala Plaza
Hotel Alcala Plaza
#11 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
95 reviews
14.7 mi away
Casona de Torres Hotel
Casona de Torres Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mondejar
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pontifical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pontifical

Property: El Pontifical
Address: Calle Pontifical 14 | Los Santos de la Humosa, 28817 Los Santos De La Humosa, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Los Santos De La Humosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Santos De La Humosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pontifical 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 18th-century building, which because of its history and stately position has become one of the most emblematic constructions in Los Santos de la Humosa and was originally used to store the payment of the tithe to the Archbishop of Toledo.It is located in the heart of the village, next to the Town Hall Square and the San Pedro Apóstol Church. In the restoration work of the Pontifical they have preserved the original architecture, keeping the splendour of the ancient pieces, among which we can highlight the spectacular wine cellar. We have also preserved the original elements of the building such as the wooden beams in the ceilings and stone and brick walls, combining it with the strength and sobriety of the modern decorative features: glass, silestone, leather, and converting the building into a delightful accommodation, where the difference between traditional and modern decorative styles blend together to perfection.The hotel has 5 rooms: 3 standard doubles, 1 superior double and 1 junior suite with a whirlpool bath and shower. All the rooms have been exquisitely decorated and have all modern day comforts, as well as superb views of the River Henares and the Guadarrama Mountains. The restaurant has two large rooms, seating 60 people. It offers traditional dishes and a careful presentation with the possibility of arranging meals for groups or companies in the private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your El Pontifical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing