We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Gilpin Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilpin Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Crook B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely house, very comfortable bedroom, immaculate modern bathroom, welcoming and relaxed owners, excellent breakfast, great location in the depths of the countryside. Many thanks! I cannot imagine finding a better B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Definitely agree with the other reviews - this is a very high quality experience. What a beautiful home, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are decorated to an excellent finish, with exceptionally comfortable beds. We were very warmly welcomed. The setting is so tranquil, and the nights were just silent! Wonderful. Jo makes such an effort with the breakfast table - it is laid out beautifully with gorgeous little touches including flowers and pretty little jugs and pots - so tastefully done. The sun streamed into the breakfast room, and we really enjoyed chatting to the other guests. I genuinely feel that we were very fortunate to find this place, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManagementAssistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Upon our arrival, we were met with a warm welcome from Jo. After we had been shown around, we had tea, freshly baked scones and shortbread on the terrace, whilst admiring the hidden oasis, that is Gilpin Mill. The house is beautifully decorated and homely. Our room (2) had a comfy bed, TV, tea and coffee making facilities and homemade shortbread. The room was one of the best we have experienced and had a lovely ensuite with walk in shower and a lovely view of the garden. Jo and Steve were very helpful providing local information. Breakfast was one of the best with a choice of fruit, yoghurt and cereals, followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts. There was toast and plenty of fruit juices and tea/coffee. Unfortunately we only booked one night and did not want to leave. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 had lovely view of garden and great ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy8255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Gilpin Mill is hidden away in the peace and quiet of the countryside. It has the quality of a 5 star hotel with the addition of homely touches.

We were given a very warm welcome together with freshly baked scones and a pot of tea and were made to feel immediately at home.

The lounge, bedrooms and bathrooms are beautiful with great attention to detail. The beds are very comfortable and sleep is very sound as it is so dark and so very quiet. The showers are amazing and so big. There are fridges in the bedrooms equipped with fresh milk and spring water and home made biscuits are kept topped up daily. There are fresh flowers everywhere.

Breakfast was out of this world.! There are huge bowls of cereals, a selection of soft fresh fruit and the bread is home made so the toast is light, crisp and delicious. The enormous cooked breakfast really sets you up for the day. It is delicious and cooked to perfection using locally sourced produce. The bacon is amazing!

We went on a suggested circular walk from Gilpin Mill. It was so peaceful and quiet that even the sheep and cows that we passed were surprised to see us!

Gilpin Mill is excellent value for money and is now on the top of our list of B & Bs.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyAnthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have only glowingly good things to say about Gilpin Mill. It is the best B&B I've visited. Jo and Steve were immediately welcoming and went out of their way to help, without ever being intrusive. The breakfast was wonderful and we loved Steve's homemade shortbread! The rooms are of particularly high quality — bright, airy and beautifully furnished. Everything from the linen to the fresh flowers and the incredibly powerful shower was perfect. The garden, grounds and surrounding area are idyllic. We saw no other cars, even though it was a bustling summer weekend elsewhere in the Lakes. A haven — I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Gilpin Mill. Steve and Jo were fabulous hosts and the B&B was gorgeous. We were served delicious breakfasts (different each morning) and they were completely flexible about timing. We were given lots of helpful advice (and maps!) for walks in the local area and while the B&B feels like it is off the beaten track in reality you are close by to some excellent pubs (where they will book dinner for you) and it is only a short drive to some of the most beautiful parts of the Lake District. Touches like a jar of homemade shortbread in our room (which was topped up each day), bottles of water to take on walks, an extensive dvd library and a dvd player in our room really made the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Lakes District was covered in unseasonal snow and it was very cold outside, but we received a warm and friendly welcome from Steve and Jo. They are naturals at the B & B business and make the perfect hosts. Their home is warm and inviting. We slept well, ate outstanding breakfasts (different every morning) and received excellent directions/maps to local attractions. When we left for home I forgot to pack the power cord to my new tablet, and Jo promptly returned it to me by first class mail. We have travelled on 6 continents (not Antarctica!) and this is one of the very best B & Bs at which we have stayed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'middle' of the 3 rooms and it was excellent - even underfloor heating in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Mill

Property: Gilpin Mill
Address: Crook, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Crook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gilpin Mill Crook, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing