We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend stay in rains ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jawhar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shanti Sarovar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice weekend stay in rains ...”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

IN last rains couple of us had been to dhabosa and we stayed in Shanti Sarovar. Found the place the be very functional and fine. The staff is courteous and the owner & his son are usually around to call out for any assistance.
The location of the hotel is on the outskirt of the village and in rains the surrounding were pristine. Its around a 8-10km drive from here to the dhabosa falls.
Generally Jawahar, dhabosa, wada with there unending rice fields and nice green surroundings is a good weekend outing in rains.
The hotel has a small working kitchen which has decent food. We had kids who could also eat well there. The food is more local so expect functional food & local cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback regarding our hotel.

We appreciate you spending the time to share your experiences with us and shall surely share your kind words with the team. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed food,location & services.

Our first priority has always been our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanti sarovar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good place for a day trip.Satay overnight.Lovely view of the lake.Road leads to the Dabhosa waterfall if you can call it a road".Rooms are ok. A trifle expensive .Food was alright.Being a veggie,I stuck to the Paneer Tikka Masala.Sadly,no tandoori roti available.So,went with the Tawa Chapati.Some swings and slides are kept outside for children.The tiny tots can have a free run around.Volleyball court.Do visit the dam and the lake in front.Do take some time out to visit the Hanuman Point(near breathtaking view) ,The Jai Vilas Palace(empty save a for a few paintings in dilapidated condition) which could easily be a hotel by the time people read this as the Royal Family based in Pune,Maharashtra,India are keen on doing so(as told by the caretaker who I paid Rs 10/- for a guided "tour") and a place called Sunset Point/Sunrise Point(the name says it all).The Shirpamal(gate where Shivaji-the MAratha leader met the local king is just that,a gate;so,nothing exciting about that)This Hotel is probably the best from reviews I read by fellow travelers.All in all,

Room Tip: Always,always ask for the ones facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raydnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you had a memorable stay at Shanti Sarovar Resort. Your feedback is most valuable to us and I have personally shared the same with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Shanti Sarovar Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Merits : Good place to stay for a weekend, homely food, excellent view and weather, clean rooms and helpfull staff. , Nice place to visit nearby , visit Dhabosa dam although the roads are bad the scenery is beautiful.

Demerits : Swimming pool was not clean, no indoor games for kids

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francisalbin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback regarding your stay at our Resort.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that service rendered by my team contributed to the memories.

We have taken into consideration your comments regarding Swimming pool and have started soon with maintaining it best as much we can.Also we have introduced a variety of indoor & outdoor games as well.

I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

we visited the resort on 2-5 november 2013.the location is good. the weather is good. the staff is helpful but little slow. but polite. the owner, Mr. santosh is local resident and stays nearby. It is a marwari family run resort built two years before.
Good points: the location is good. The quality of services is good. the staff and owner are helpful and money-mindedness is very less. the service is little slow. the rooms are spacious and two extra beds can be easiliy accomodated. We stayed in 3 non-ac rooms on top floor, which had the best view. (only 4 non-ac rooms and 4 ac rooms have best view of Jaysagar lake.) the food is limited veriety. paneer verieties were bad. but the if u prefer homely food, the dal, rice, jeera rice, pithle(maharastrian veriety) and batata wada was good. upma was good. Chinese noodles and rice was ok. u get limited variety and u have to order it 1/2 hr before.but u get hot and freshly cooked.if you suggest any special dish, they can prepare it with prior notice. but the prices of food are mumbai style. e.g.vadapav for Rs. 30/-. But there is no decent place we could find nearby to eat. Non-veg food is also available but we did not test it as we r vegeterians.
bad points: room, specially bathrooms needs cleaning. carry your bedsheets. the weather is dry and cool during season. mosquitoes and other insects truoble at night if u dont close doors in evening. not much to see. one waterfall - dabhosa.20 km.but road is very bad.one palace. but in good condition. we could not see from inside as the owner had come to stay. the palace is built in 1940. the location is scinic. if that can be converted into resort, nothing like that.
we stayed there for rest and we were in resort most of the time. indoor carrom and badminton is there. but carry batball or football. swimming pool is bad. We could not get warli paintings as the shop in bazar was closed.
MORAL: worth visiting once for relaxation in winter. but road from manor is bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gargis2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was wonderful to read the great things about our property and services. We do apologize for the problem with the bathroom and Bed linen that you faced and will ensure that this problem is not repeated in the future. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We have also kept variety of indoor & outdoor games now.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and the location of our hotel and hope you can give us another chance to serve you better in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you at Shanti sarovar sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is the best place to stay in Jawhar. It is located on the edge of the city and being on top of a hill provides a good view all around. It does have a swimming pool but it is quite small. The people are friendly and they cooked meals as per our choice. Slightly expensive for the amenities provided by them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay at Shanti sarovar resort.

I look forward to welcoming you, awaiting a comfortable and invigorating experience every time you visit the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was assome stay at this location
You can not expect anything more at such low cost.
Food is as good as home made food unlike those oily stuffs in other hotels.
It was rainy season..no doubt there would be any dry n insect free area in nature valley.
Superb is the word what i can say.though roads are bad due to rains.but u cannot get everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and we could make your trip a memorable one. We thank you for your valuable feedback which helps us to serve our guest in a better way.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Shanti Sarovar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our group of 15 family members went on our annual monsoon trip & spent the night at the Shanti Sarovar resort. A decent place but great location overlooking the Jaisagar lake. The rooms are decent but many of them had wet patches due to the heavy rainfall received in this part of the year. This is a fairly new property and not seen many hotels around, this surely is one of the best. The food is good with a local touch, even the rotis are like homemade ones unlike the ones in other restaurants. They have a liquor license but allow you can carry your own liquor as well. Staff are friendly, well mannered and provide quick service even thought the hotel was fully sold out over the long festive weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santoshssr, Owner at Shanti Sarovar Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your genuine feedback on tripadvisor. On behalf of entire team I extend my heartiest thanks for such a great gesture. It is heartening to know that that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

Request you to recommend our property to all your friends, family, colleagues and neighbours. We are eagerly waiting for your next visit and ensuring you to enhance your experience even better.

Thanking you once again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jawhar
19.0 mi away
JenJon Lake Vaitarna Resort
1.1 mi away
Prakriti Agro Farm
Prakriti Agro Farm
#2 of 6 in Jawhar
13 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dabhosa Waterfall Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Sajan Nature Club
Sajan Nature Club
#1 of 1 in Sajan
92 reviews
15.2 mi away
Greenarth Lakeview Resort
27.0 mi away
Forest Village Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Sarovar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Sarovar Resort

Property: Shanti Sarovar Resort
Address: Near Jaysagar lake, Silvassa Road, Jawhar, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Palghar District > Jawhar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Jawhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to give you the best and make your stay a memorable one. Unwind, relax and make the most of the verdant beauty of Jawhar located right infront of Jaisagar lake at Shanti sarovar resort. Nestled in the lush green environs, Jawhar is a destination for those yearning for tranquillity and peace. At a distance of just 130kms from Mumbai, Shanti Sarovar Resort is the perfect place to unwind and rejuvenate. The landscape boasts of beautiful lake,breathtaking air,fog and magnificent hills. The presence of the Dabhosa waterfall & Jaivilas palace adds to the beauty and charm of Jawhar. Amongst this heavenly beauty, our property "Shanti Sarovar Resort" will add to your holiday experience with its hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing