We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kang Ultra Stop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kang Ultra Stop
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed over here on a recent trip to Namibia. Although convenient and one of the few places to stay at Kang, we were really disappointed with the lack of information and poor service received at reception upon check in.

The rooms were clean and a reasonable size, however for the price we paid for the accommodation, we felt like certain things could be improved on. The towels were super thin and left fluff all over you once you've dried yourself off with it. No hand towel was provided for the basin. There were coffee and tea facilities in the room, yet no teaspoons! All in all, very basic accommodation and not great value for money. No breakfast was included either in the price.

We decided to have dinner at the restaurant, but was advised by the waitress that we could only order toasted sandwiches (at 7pm at night) as they have been 'cleaning the kitchen' since that morning. Together with the other travelers we were very disappointed as we were looking forward to a nice meal after the long drive from Joburg.

Unfortunately Kang is very remote and you do not have a lot of accommodation options, although I will definitely try to search around a bit more next time to try and find something a bit more cost effective or worth my money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roelien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    33
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
21
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Kang Ultra Stop is advertised as budget accommodation and camping. But imagine our shock when we arrived after 600km of travel to a place where there is no real space to put up a tent. We were told we could set up anywhere, meaning "pick a spot between the cabins parking and braai areas." We had to pitch our tent on gravel. Its probably fine if you have a rooftop tent but there is certainly no place for a ground tents.
I dont know how we would have camped if the chalets were booked and other people would have wanted to use the braai and parking area. We were just lucky it was empty.
Also dont expect to get any quality rest as you will be sleeping 20m from the main road and the trucks racing past is pretty noisy.
Its cheap...and there isnt many other options in Kang...but dont expect a relaxing nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBritsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheewick, General Manager at Kang Ultra Stop, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for expressing your opinion on tripadvisor. Your bad experience could have been easily avoided had you been properly informed by our reservation staff on our camping facilities at the time of your visit. We sincerely apologize for neglecting to do so. Our camping ground has been under construction since early 2012, making way for a new luxury development including 24 hotel rooms and 6 private camping sites due to open in September 2013 (almost completed). We did allow camping on the budget side of our property during this time due to our remote location. We did however state on our website and tariff sheet that the camping site was under construction. The cheap rate charged for camping basically covers usage of our ablation facility. Its a pity you did not ask to speak to a manager on duty as we could of explained this to you in person and help to accommodate you in the best way possible. Please feel free to interact with us via email if you wish to do so ultrastopmanagement@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

A very good half way stop to Namibia. Clean, quiet, affordable rooms. A nice pub next door with good food and cold beer. And it is not too close to the petrol station as one would expect (due to the name Ultra Stop)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Rating 6/10. Kang Ultra Stop is just about halfway between the South African and Namibian borders in Botswana. Neat chalets, with own bathroom/WC. Well looked after and clean. If you are a light sleeper, the trucks passing through at weird hours of the night will probably wake you up quite often. Did not bother us that much. They have fuel, a restaurant/bar, shop and curio shop. We bought hamburgers (take aways) which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safrican4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at this convenient stopover on our way from Johannesburg to Mabuasehube in the Kalaghadi Transfrontier park. Perfectly situated for arriving well before dark. The rooms were clean and comfortable and suitable for a couple. Any larger and you'll need to book >1 room (eg. with Kids). The small restaurant food was very good and the beer cold.

It took us about 8 hours from Johannesburg and from there about 8 hours to Mabuasehube National Park.

Well recommended

Room Tip: Book in advance as there are no alternatives in the area and you are about 200km from the next accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank African_LandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Kang Ultra Stop for one night on our journey from Johannesburg to Windhoek and its location at the halfway point is definitely its winning feature. It's a convenient little complex on the highway with a fuel station, convenience store, restaurant and provides accommodation in chalets or camping. The room provided a comfortable bed, ensuite bathroom,TV and tea/coffee making facility and the aircon was divine in the desert heat. The pool also looked very inviting although we did not get a chance to swim. Service was friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant was average but portions were very generous. There are also picnic tables outside the rooms and shady braai facilities available if you prefer. While not worthy of a visit in and of itself, I'd definitely recommend it as a stopover.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

We did not know what to expect when we booked our overnight accomodation at Kang Ultra Stop. As there was nowhere else to overnight on our way through Botswana to Windhoek. Its position makes it the ideal stopover point on the Johannesburg Windhoek route, which is the shortest way to travel.
We arrived late afternoon in searing heat, and check in was quick and efficient.
We had 2 rooms in our unit, both ensuite, with toilet and shower. Rooms were small, but tastefully decorated. And more importantly , the aircon worked and was almost too effecient.
The restaurant was adjacent to the fuel station, and while decor was very basic the food was a lot tastier than the decor suggested.
I would recommend this lodging to anyone wanting or needing a place to stop over half way between Johannesburg and Windhoek.
Because of the price and what you get, this place deserves a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kang hotels
0.0 mi away
Nkisi Guesthouse
Nkisi Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Kang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kalahari Rest Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Echo Lodge
Echo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kang Lodge
#4 of 7 in Kang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kang Ultra Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kang Ultra Stop

Property: Kang Ultra Stop
Address: Zone 40: Trans Kalahari Route, Kang, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Kgalagadi District > Kang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kang Ultra Stop 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kang Ultra Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing