We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you want to visit the gorge”
Review of Hotel To Exari

Hotel To Exari
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel To Exari
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Omalos
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good if you want to visit the gorge”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is a very basic hotel, looks nice from the outside but dated inside. It is just on the main road to the gorge, there is nothing else around so bring plenty of food if you are planning on staying and not eating in the restaurant.
Staff very friendly, and breakfast okay (just bread, croissants and boiled eggs).
Would not stay here if not visiting the Samaria gorge, which is wonderful and well worth the trip out. We just stay here for one night so we could do the gorge without lots of driving in one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Was on a self guided walking holiday with headwater. Hotel was chosen for us. It was what we expected, small, clean and comfortable. We had no choice of meal but it was delicious. Breakfast wasn't great but no worse than other places on Crete. Had a good packed lunch. Transfers to the gorge was fine and our luggage arrived at our next hotel a day late as the boats were not running but they had informed us of this. If you want posh avoid. If you want a simple friendly place to stay before the Samaria gorge, its great

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajhp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was made in 80s and has not changed since then. Our bathroom was literally breaking down (no lights!). The restaurant is poor offering frozen mills. No hospitality with raki and fruits, forget it. It s not a place that offers anything for free. I explicitly asked if the breakfast was included in the price. It appeared to be not, although i was told the contrary. And the final touch - a laugh in your face when you ask the receipt. If i could recommend, sleep in Lakki - truly beautiful place 10 min away. Omalos is grey and dull. No advantage over Lakki in starting the gorge walk early.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy-felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Omalos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Me and my friend were on a mission to visit the Somaria Gorge. We setted of from Malia (terrible place: for drunks and clubbers). We hired a 4x4 and made our way to Somaria; unfortunately when we got there the gorge was closed and was due to re-open the next day (Saturday 7am). We were dissappointed, but then decided to stay at a hotel in Omalos. There were three hotels to choose from, but I can definitely say Exari Hotel was the best in terms of rate, people, condition of room etc, and we do not regret staying there. The following day (6.30 am) the lady served us and the other customers breakfast (it was a huge breakfast) and she only charged 5 euros. Would highly recommend this place. Area is very quiet and isolated, but you will definitely see other tourist staying so nothing to be worried about.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilipGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omalos
0.0 mi away
Neos Omalos Hotel
Neos Omalos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Omalos
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Keramos
Hotel Keramos
#2 of 3 in Zaros
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zakros
Hotel Zakros
#1 of 1 in Zakros
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
To Hani Tou Kokkini
To Hani Tou Kokkini
#104 of 110 in Chania Town
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Idi Hotel
Idi Hotel
#3 of 3 in Zaros
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel To Exari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel To Exari

Property: Hotel To Exari
Address: Omalos, Crete 730 05, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Omalos
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Omalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel To Exari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel To Exari Omalos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing