We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way overpriced!”
Review of Totoco Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Balgue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We didn't read many reviews before we booked this place, but all of the ratings were high. Now that we have stayed here we thought we should give our two cents.
First off, the staff was very friendly and help full, and the bar/restaurant area was nice and chill.

The car ride in was a bumpy treat. One that we did not want to do many times! Because of this we felt very isolated. We like to go to different places to eat and drink at night to enjoy the culture. Instead we felt like there was no options. There was one restaurant a couple km`s away but we didn't want to walk up that 1,5km hill in the dark.
So instead we were left with the only meal they provided, which was a set three course dinner in either meat or vegetarian. We tried it the first night and unfortunately didn't find it satisfying. Onion soup, with grilled chicken and garlic sauce. The meal was very bland. Is just ashame to only give one option when you have no more options..
The pool too was filled with cloudy water and dirty too. We didn't even want to go in and never saw anyone else using it either.
Now to get to the worst part. The room didn't even have a proper roof on it! It was made out of palm leaves with huge openings all over so that any type of bug, spider, Cockroach and who knowes what else can get in when your sleeping. The bug net around the bed want that comforting since it had holes in it and almost every bug we saw was inside the net.
I guess all in all, for the most expensive place on the island we were very disappointed. At the very least all we ask for is as decent roof over our heads. I've slept in cheap hostles and felt safer. Here we barely even slept at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leenie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn_Priester, General Manager at Totoco Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Leenie127, after reading your review I just wanted to express my sincere regret that we weren't able to provide you with a satisfactory experience. Generally speaking we get very positive feedback from guests regarding the food and both the onion soup and garlic chicken are normally amongst the most popular recipes! Equally, the palm-thatch roofs are normally a popular feature since they are aesthetically pleasing, a local renewable material and very cool in this hot climate. I appreciate our product may not be everyone’s cup of tea so to speak but I still want to assure you we are taking your comments very seriously and will be using them to further improve. I hope the rest of your stay in Nicaragua was more enjoyable. sincerely, Martijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Totoco for 3 nights total, while travelling with our children ages 3 and 5. The staff were all friendly and attentive, but only a handful had any level of English so be prepared to communicate in Spanish. The resort is well kept, tidy and felt very safe, but it was more rustic than we had anticipated. While the composting toilets are surprisingly odour free, my husband and I both never got used to them. The food was excellent and fairly priced and very healthy. My kids loved the pool and we had it to ourselves most of the time. The road in to the resort definitely requires 4x4, and we did it as few times as we could. We signed up to do a horse back ride to the coffee plantation, and our guide walked in flip flops as we went horseback which just seemed really uncomfortable. He spoke no English, so made it difficult to get anything our of the trip. There was no tour of the plantation, and the facilities there were very "rustic". We paid the few extra dollars to hike up to the petroglyphs, which would have been fine with only a five year old but we ended up carrying the 3 year old and the petroglyphs were rather unremarkable and with no explanation about them it definitely felt anticlimactic. The horseback riding was straight up/down at points which felt a wee bit much to do with small children. Our guide seemed totally unenthusiastic and we were surprised the resort suggested it even possible to do on foot with small kids, thank God we rode the horses! In the end, we don't have complaints per se, but would not recommend for families with young kids unless you do A LOT of hiking and outdoor activities with them already. Would I return without kids? Probably not, but I can see the appeal for others, thus my rating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank travellingbird888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from four wonderful nights at Totoco. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is outstanding, the views are spectacular and the mission inspirational. We toured the farm, visited a nearby coffee plantation and rode bikes from Balgue to Santo Domingo beach. One of our best vacations stays ever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just spent there 2 nights. I loved this resort. The views are truly amazing, you will find yourself surrounded by beautiful untouched nature, the staff and the owner are very helpful, friendly and professional. The lodges are comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The cabins are located approximately 1.5 km off the main road up a very rough track which can be accessed by a 4x4 or on foot.There is only a very small town with a few shops and restaurants near this junction.If you've got your own 4x4 then fine,otherwise getting around will not be easy.We stayed for 3 nights and remained in or around the resort,soaking up the incedible birdlife,butterflies,monkeys and other creatures which are plentiful,not to mention the active volcano in the distance.Simply lying in a hammock on the porch of the cabin for a few hours was a hugely enjoyable experience,and not something I would normally do at home.The meals were very good althogh choice was limited to two set meals (meat or veg).However you must remember there are only about 8 cabins.There is no mains electricity but we found the solar power adequate.Bring a torch to get around at night though as there is limited lighting.Be prepared for the odd snake basking on the grass near your cabin or ants even venturing inside it as you are so close to nature.The gauze covered window frames mean you can hear every shriek or sound at night.It was a great experience.

Room Tip: There are approximately 8 cabins.We stayed in Guanacaste which had a great view of the volano and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prest0nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at Totoco Eco-Lodge for a couple of nights and it was fantastic! Martin was a great host, the food was great, the lounge area was very comfortable and the pool was very nice. Rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were beautiful.

The sunsets on the island were stunning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The cabins are nice and peaceful and the views are beautiful. It's a good spot for couples to get away to, but the food is pretty mediocre and expensive. Plus the hotel is located up a long, bumpy road and taxis are very expensive which makes day trips or eating at other places difficult. It was nice but not really worth the high cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unprodigal_daughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgue
2.5 mi away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
371 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and ...
#5 of 52 in Isla de Ometepe
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 7 in Balgue
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totoco Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totoco Eco-Lodge

Address: Maderas Volcano, El callejon publico la palmera, Balgue, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Balgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Balgue
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of a pristine biosphere nature reserve with an abundance of wildlife and a cloud forest above you, the Totoco experience is pure comfort in pure nature. Guests can stay in one of our custom designed private lodges all made using local materials and labour. Each lodge enjoys a private garden setting and offers spectacular views of Lake Nicaragua and active Concepcion Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Totoco Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totoco Eco Hotel Balgue
Totoco Eco-Lodge Nicaragua/Balgue, Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing