We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an awesome and beautiful place!!”
Review of Totoco Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Balgue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an awesome and beautiful place!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Nestled up the side of the volcano with breathtaking views all around you, Totoco Eco-Lodge is a must see/stay if you're on the Isla de Ometepe. Martin (the owner) is a fantastic guy with incredible stories, and can serve drinks and entertain all night. What a treat to meet and hang out with him. Great guy.
He even went so far as to hire someone to track us down on the ferry home when he realized that he accidentally overcharged us a few bucks on our bill. What a refreshing treat to get that tap on the shoulder! Thanks Martin, but that should have been your tip! See you next time we're down there!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflocal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    62
    19
    15
    8
See reviews for
61
180
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

If your idea of an overseas vacation is a Hilton type hotel complete with shuttle from the airport, and all the conveniences, this is not the place for you. An absolutely breathtaking location with a view of islands in the distance and set on a slope in between two volcanoes, Totoco offers a total break from the tedium of day -to- day work-oriented existence. An intensely private setting with several different types of private casitas, each totally constructed of local materials and in indigenous styles, provides a serene experience. Whether you hike into the cloud forest to the top of the volcano, tour the coffee planatation, take advantage of a kayaking adventure, or just relax in the hammocks and soak up the location, this is a memorable experience. The staff of the lodge is totally there for you, assisting with all arrangements, to include transfers from the airport to the ferry and then on to the property. And, it is totally eco-friendly. This is a new property, and it is still evolving. There are small hiccups and glitches in an all- natural environment and the roads on this end of the island are abysmal. We are already planning our return visit--if you are looking for something different and out of the ordinary, you will love this place and the people.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyRoadwarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

What a wonderful place to relax. it's totally isolated and quiet (except for an annoying cat the first night but that situation was quickly remedied the next night).

Amazing views.

The staff is attentive and helpful.

The food is terrific.

Bring flashlights; you'll need them!

Great hiking if you don't mind the heat.

There are a lot of activities available...or you can do a lot of gazing at the volcano as we did.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were so happy to come across Totoco Lodge. It's the most beautifull place on the island. The project is done with some much love and the hosts are very helpfull. Very thing is posible.

The food is organic for the most part and it's simple but with much flavor. We loved eating there.

We stayed in the small lodge, such a romantic lodge with beautifull view.
For activities, you should go on the water with a canoo or hiking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaNona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

...great place, incredible view...very friendly staff. food is good, cabins und architecture of the eco-lodge are of the finest - u can tell all the love that was put in! again, incredible view! quiet, relaxing .... woderful :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiburon
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We were met at San Jose harbor by the taxi driver and his son hired by Totoco to pick us up. It took about an hour to arrive at Totoco Eco Lodge. When we arrived we were greeted by Ros and Jonathan. We immediately felt at home. The main lodge had fantastic views of the volcano and Lake Nicaragua. The meals were organic and very delicious. Our stay was so relaxing and the feeling of the whole area was so magical. The staff was fantastic and helpful with all our questions. We wish we would have had the opportunity to stay longer, but we will definitely be back. We wish the best for Totoco's bright future, which is well deserved.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flamenco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My friend an I stayed there for 3 nights. We have both traveled extensively and can honestly say that this place was among the best. Upon arrival we were greeted by Roslyn, Martin and John. They treated us as if we were long last friends. We then walked down to our cabana, which had a view of a volcano and lake Nicaragua. Surrounding us were flowers and butterflies in their hundreds. Not even in dreams could we have imagined such an exotic experience. As it is an ecolodge everything is natural. We had the best night sleep. Totocolodge was by far the most enjoyable part of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgue
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.6 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 7 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 43 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#10 of 18 in Moyogalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totoco Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totoco Eco-Lodge

Property: Totoco Eco-Lodge
Address: Maderas Volcano, El callejon publico la palmera, Balgue, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Balgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Balgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of a pristine biosphere nature reserve with an abundance of wildlife and a cloud forest above you, the Totoco experience is pure comfort in pure nature. Guests can stay in one of our custom designed private lodges all made using local materials and labour. Each lodge enjoys a private garden setting and offers spectacular views of Lake Nicaragua and active Concepcion Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Totoco Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totoco Eco Hotel Balgue
Totoco Eco-Lodge Nicaragua/Balgue, Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing