We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat on Ometepe”
Review of Cafe Campestre

Cafe Campestre
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Balgue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Asian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafe Campestre prepares fresh food daily using organic ingredients many of which are from our farm. We are passionate about food and have created a varied and interesting menu featuring local and international cuisines. We have great local coffee, a relaxed environment, Wifi and some of the most interesting and innovative English language tours on Ometepe.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to eat on Ometepe”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Went with some friends for lunch and was impressed with the very extensive menu - and pleasantly surprised by quality and freshness of our meal. Hummus appetizer with homemade bread was absolutely delicious. Green Thai chicken curry with fresh steamed local Kampuchea squash was also wonderful, as was the hamburger and banana chips. Pina colada smoothie wash refreshing.
Clean and concrete floors - surprising for such a remote place.

Helpful?
Thank jhofsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    53
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Went twice to cafe campestre during my stay in Balgue. Great menu, really hard to make a choice. Had a hamburger and two days later red curry. They were both delicious and at a good price (145 cordobas). However portions could be a bit bigger and paying for wifi (although its only 20 cordobas) is a thing I haven't done in a long time. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to other people visiting Ometepe/Balgue.

Helpful?
Thank Maarten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The menu alone took my breath away. Such good choice between homemade pastas, wraps, sandwiches, burgers etc.
I had the beef burger in a homemade bun with coleslaw and plantain chips. Everything was so fresh I didnt want it to end. My friends had pasta and the garlic bread. Both so delicious especially the bread. I would have loved to try everything!! Also had the ice cream which was so tasty. Definate must visit if near the area!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over the top AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ate here for lunch and dinner the 2 days that we were in Ometepe. Thai green curry chicken off the wall good! Guacamole, fresh juice, tomato plate, desserts all off the wall delicious!! Owner is very pleasant! Can't wait to return in the next few weeks!!!! :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBG_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedictslow, Owner at Cafe Campestre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for the review. It really means a lot when people take the time to write one, I always make a point of sharing it with the super hard working team in the kitchen. They simply can't try harder and I'm so happy you appreciate the results. We're a small business so positive reviews really make a big difference. Thanks again and hope we can chat again when you come back. Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bloody Lovely!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Everything about this place is flawless! From the beautiful setting on the island, the fabulous varied menu - food is delicious, some of the best I have had in Nicaragua (and it's all locally sourced or from the owners farm), to the restaurant itself - a buzzing, quirky & atmospheric cafe where you'll see fresh pasta hanging in front of the stone bread oven along with a the aroma of freshly prepared ingredients - a foodies bliss!

Highly recommend a visit here :)

The owner is a great chap too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chickenstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedictslow, Owner at Cafe Campestre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks you for being our 100th reviewer! It was great to have you come and see our humble little restaurant. Thanks for staying and thanks for reviewing! Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Campestre also viewed

Balgue, Isla de Ometepe
 
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Altagracia, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to Cafe Campestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing