We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One not to miss”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Croscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Healthy, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The George is an award-winning, traditional, dog-friendly, family-owned and operated 17th-century village pub. We serve fresh food prepared from local ingredients, including local meat, game and foraged foods. We grow our own veg, herbs and fruit and make our own ice creams as well! We are renowned for cooking fresh fish and seafood from the south coast -- some say our scallops are so good they are "to die for." And our locally reared meat is mouth-wateringly good. We have two craft beers produced exclusively for us, three other guest ales and eight local ciders. With a lovely beer garden for the summer and a log fire in the winter, families and dog-walkers are always welcome. We have four en-suite bedrooms for b&b and a multi-purpose self-contained function room and skittles alley. But most of all there is "... ALWAYS A FRIENDLY WELCOME."
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Friendly, village local with friendly welcome, excellent ales and good value meals. We called by chance and returned for more the next day.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank plannerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018

I’ve eaten their twice in the last month. On the 8th of November, my 60th birthday I had a lovely meal with a friend. We both had steak and chips, delicious! We will return.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bertie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Our first visit here, and it was very nice. Passed it loads of times and said we must give it a try and we weren’t disappointed. Food came quickly and was all home made and piping hot. Helpful staff and also dog friendly.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank juliepZ2293EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

It's like visiting old friends when lunching at the George Inn in Croscombe. the canadian landlord and his wife always make us welcome, and served really good food.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juneclarke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to the George, whilst on a short break to Wells.
Everyone very friendly, good homely food ( the bread and butter pudding was excellent), large portions, all fresh.
Will definitely recommend and visit again if we’re in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Trip221587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
West Pennard, Glastonbury
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing