We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday meal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Douglas Bader

The Douglas Bader
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We wanted somewhere to eat on sunday with the family grandkids etc, we were thinking of staying in woodbridge then our daughter suggested the bader glad she did!!!. Great for the kids with the indoor play area or small outdoor area also, anyway now on to the food very good value as portions were generous with good service our 5yr old grandson had a full on sunday roast for £3.95 with properly cooked food you can't find better value than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank collinsjcbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent staff and nice location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Compared to the nearby alternatives (Farmhouse and Black Tiles) this pub is a breath of fresh air. No high quality or fast food pretences it is just a traditional pub - good food, good ale and friendly service.

Great for kids as spacious, got games and toys plus a small play area.

Kids menu is excellent value, good choice at a sensible price....and not all chips!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister ate today both had fish and chips which was very lovely, the pub was lovely and quiet so you didn't have to speck loudly

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rapidly going downhill!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This used to be a great pub...family friendly,good food,good entertainment and fab atmosphere but that has all changed in the past year or so!
I frequent this pub on a regular basis to eat and to drink and although the food is still good everything else has gone to pot!
The staff are excellent and the manager is a lovely man but this doesn't explain the rediculous prices being charged for drinks.From what I hear the manager gets complaints all of the time but as he isn't the owner his hands are tied.
I went in the Douglas Bader with my partner and some friends on Xmas Eve for drinks and it was one of the worst Xmas Eve's I've had in there.It wasn't overly busy but the staff were still rushed off their feet...I assume because they weren't allowed to employ anymore,as seems to be the case on a regular basis in here!And they had the same boring 'Mr Tucan' playing who may aswell be part of the furniture!Such a shame as this pub has so much potential!
The Douglas Bader needs to put on better entertainment and have a better food menu to justify charging the amount it does for drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We got together there for one of our family birthday meals, there were 9 of us, adults and kids of various ages. It's a good meal and reasonable prices. Staff are friendly too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Douglas Bader also viewed

Martlesham, Suffolk
Martlesham, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Douglas Bader? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing