We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead chips and boring fish”

Mariners Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Dead chips and boring fish”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

More a drinks place, the bar was well attended but the restaurant empty. Good location but the food was really poor to average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank KelvinZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Owners?”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We ate at Mariners restaurant a few times during December 2011 and the food was amazing. The restaurant was always packed and the seafood platters were superb.

During our June 2013 holiday we visited them on our first night and was shocked how bad it was. There were at least 4-5 cats running around the place, irratating the customers. We all took turns to chase them out of the restaurant and the seafood platters were dry en terrible. I was really disappointed and suspect that they might have new owners... I won't recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Anandav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
189 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“good seafood and pub right on the beach”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Ours was a mixed experience.....one night the food was excellent, the next not. But generally the food is great and well prepared. The pub is tiny, well supported by locals and visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I visit this restaurant atleast four or five times a month. Everytime the service is great, atmosphere excellent and all the food on the menu is great. The location is amazing and on a sunny day you almost sit with your toes on the beach. Highly recommend a visit here, and they are pet friendly which is amazing. Obviously your doggies need to stay on a leash. The photo shown next to the name is not of the restaurant, but it is just as amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPiment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Initially came here with friends and then visited a second time. Good food and good value - Hake and Chips. Booking essential in high season. Great views and atmosphere. Recommend a visit if in the area and would visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariners Restaurant also viewed

Trafalgar, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Trafalgar, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing