We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit”
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Sportsmans Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Heamoor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: On the north side of Penzance. 19 c. pub completely renovated, new owners, new menu. Excellent food, excellent value. I'd love to tell you more.
1 review
“A must visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visited the pub during my summer break. Spent the afternoon enjoying good food, drink and conversation. Friendly staff and a wonderful environment. Must visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
1 review
“What a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our first visit to the pub, which was located close to our holiday cottage. We found a warm and friendly welcome from both the landlord and locals. The menu was wide, I chose the whitebait, and my husband had the homemade chicken liver pate. Delicious. For mains the pork belly with apple mash was hard to beat and my husband was very pleased with his lamb shank. We would have liked to try the homemade desserts but were too full. Prices very reasonable. Very nice - would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“food used to be better.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Every year I visit this pub. This time food was average. lady who serviced us was very off hand and unfriendly.Very disappointed that the standard dropped.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 234Joost234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great home made food”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Very good food reasonably priced excellent atmosphere & service.
An excellent choice of food on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“This is a really good pub”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have been to this pub several times and will definitely be going there again on our next visit to Penzance. Its just what a pub should be. Really good beer and really good food. The food is freshly prepared and has always been excellent. Good portions and reasonably priced.

The staff are great, very welcoming and they just do the job right.

We often have a large group and we are always well looked after and made to feel very welcome.

We will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sportsmans Arms also viewed

 

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing