We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Week at the Owl House”

Tregurnow Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Buryan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tregurnow Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 St Buryan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Truth is we have been coming since the conversions took place- Why? The location is brilliant for bird watching, walking the coast, dog walking and getting anywhere in the Penwith Peninsular. The accommodation is high quality and works well for us and our friends and most important is well equipped for cooking and is dog friendly. The Jeffery's are always welcoming and helpful and whilst we prefer Owl House, the Munnings Barn and the Forbes Retreat accomodation is equally good with a balcony that looks out to the Lizard.

Downside -we cannot get away more often.! Adrian and Ann Rogers Exeter

Room Tip: Munnings Barn and Forbes Retreat have upstairs sitting rooms with balconies overlooking the fields a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

I booked 3 of the self catering houses, built around a courtyard, for a birthday celebration and it could not have been a better place. The houses are beautifully converted barns. They are spacious, well equipped and elegant with wonderful views across the fields to the sea. We were welcomed with a cream tea and the owners were extremely helpful with all our extra requests. The Owl's House is a particularly good venue for a party as it is all on one level with a huge living space and a good outdoor area for bbq's. I would love to return.

The surrounding lanes were full of wildflowers and we could walk down to Lamorna Cove easily.

Cannot recommend this venue highly enough!

Room Tip: The Owl's House is all on one level; Munnings and Forbes are on two levels with the sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114BarbaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed in the Farmhouse as part of a friends 60th birthday celebrations. It was a wonderful weekend and we really enjoyed staying at Tregurnow Farmhouse B&B. Edwina & Gordon were excellent hosts and we were amazed at the size and quality of the self catering barn conversions where most of our party stayed. The location and views are stunning and there is a lovely walk down to Lamorna Cove Also recommend a visit to nearby Minack Theatre where we saw a performance of Jamaica Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We rented one of the larger barn conversions here last week - The Owls. Glorious, views and excellent standard of accommodation. As it was the birthday of one of our party we also had friends in a couple of the other properties and had a barbecue one night. The owners were very friendly and accommodated lots of extra needs. Lovely, lovely dogs too. Would certainly recommend it. It's fairly remote the only downside was the nearest restaurant that we could walk to was terrible and the local pub is closed for a refurbishment.

Room Tip: The Owls has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Have just returned from a short stay (2 nights) in the Tregurnow farmhouse B&B. We were welcomed by the very genial hosts and treated to a cup of tea and home-made cake on arrival, which was very nice. Not so nice was the odd odour which greeted us, a kind of cross between fly spray, wet dog and burnt cooking oil, which was to linger in the house throughout our stay. Luckily our room didn't have the same whiff about it. We had a large twin room (one single and one double bed) with ensuite shower room. The room was clean and comfortable, though the beds were both quite short - I'm 5' 11" and just about managed - anyone taller would struggle! The beds were comfy and the bedding was of a good standard. The TV in the room was too small and the light fittings (bakelite, would you believe) were, worryingly, a bit loose. Also a main bulb needed replacing, which meant the room was a little dark. Information on the B&B itself and the surrounding area, places to eat, etc. were a little scant and when asked about places to eat, the hosts could have been a little more helpful. We went out and explored ourselves and found a couple of places close by that were OK to eat in. Back to the room - The ensuite was clean and tiled from floor to ceiling, but not very modern - the shower was a bit askew and rather old fashioned, however it worked OK. The cold tap dripped incessantly and couldn't be stopped. One issue was temperature - our room and the ensuite itself were both freezing (mid Feb) despite the room heater being on all the time! The ensuite had no heating at all. A lack of mobile phone signal was irritating, but not the hosts fault, though the lack of WIFI in the house was annoying and could have been sorted out - this is the 21st century, though perhaps not in Cornwall! Breakfasts both days was traditional and ample but sadly overcooked - I think the hosts cook the breakfast for 08:30 and if you are not there on time, it sits in the Aga oven waiting for you. Overall, although Tregurnow Farmhouse describes itself as a 'luxury' B&B, I think its definition of luxury is probably rooted in the late 60's or early 70's - by todays standards Tregurnow Farmhouse B&B is altogether more average than luxury!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We stayed in one of the self-catering cottages rather than the farm house itself - the website has not been updated since they were built but if you look on Classic Cottages all the necessary info is on there.

We stayed in The Owl's House which was lovely and all one level so plenty of space for the dog to run around in. There are three bedrooms but as there were only two of us staying we only used the master bedroom which was very big and had an equally big ensuite! The bed was very comfortable and the furniture in the cottage was nice. The living space is open plan so a kitchen at one end and a lounge at the other, with patio doors looking out on to the sea. There is a patio and a play area for kids outside. We could connect to the wi-fi but we found there wasn't a very good signal so was quite slow/

The location is gorgeous and the views are beautiful. It is in a very quiet area but the surrounding towns and villages are lovely. You can drive to St Ives (10 miles or so away), visit Penzance (5 miles) or go to the bigger towns like Newquay (1hr away) or Truro (30 mins away). We spent most of our time walking the dog along the coast (you can start walking directly from the cottages) or taking her on the dog-friendly beach at Long Rock (5 mins away). There are pubs, good restaurants (we went to the Cornish Range and Fifteen during our stay which are worth a visit but there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from) and cinemas, shops etc all within a few miles.

The owners were very friendly and our dog and their dog spent most of the time we were in the cottages running around, keeping each other entertained! When we arrived we found a Cornish cream tea waiting for us which was much appreciated after a six hour drive. We loved having a holiday where we could get away from it all and it was nice to find a really lovely cottage that also lets you take your dog with you as we spent a long time trying to find one without much luck! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyloveswilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We stayed at this B&B at the end of September 2006.

The house is a lovely old farmhouse at the end of a long private road in the middle of nowhere, so it’s very quiet and peaceful, albeit a bit difficult to find.

The countryside around is very beautiful and just a few miles from Mousehole, which is definitely worth a visit. We did it by walking from Lamorna Cove along the coastal path, which is about 3 miles (6 there and back). This was probably one of the highlights of our visit to this part of Cornwall, although Porthcurno looked very pretty. We didn’t stop long due to the bad weather.

If you fancy somewhere nice to eat, try the Cornish Range in Mousehole. It’s a bit expensive but the food is of a very high standard.

The owners of the B&B are in the process of converting some barns to provide additional holiday accommodation so lots of building work and mud around. Make sure you take your wellies. We were there at a weekend so no noise or activity around the barn conversions, and no dust due to the regular downpours.

We stayed in the Green Room, which overlooks the small garden. It’s a fairly large room that does have a slight sea view if you are over 6’ tall and stand on your tiptoes. We did notice the owners suitcases on top of the wardrobe, complete with Heathrow airport labels, reminding us of where we could have gone and at times wished we had, due to the weather.

Unfortunately the double bed seemed very small compared to other places we stayed and was a bit uncomfortable. For young romantics with strong backs wanting to enjoy an intimate evening together, this bed was probably ideal for them. We both felt the shower needed to be upgraded to provide more power and were amused by the mechanical loo and flushing system.

Breakfast options not great and served at a large table in a slightly musky smelling dining room at 8.45 am (as we were told when we arrived). As we are early risers this wasn’t a problem. An elderly couple staying at the same time were very good company at breakfast and seemed to be enjoying their stay in this farmhouse.

The waitress that served us was very cheerful and the owners very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holidayheaven1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tregurnow Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregurnow Farmhouse

Address: St Buryan TR19 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Buryan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Buryan
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregurnow Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tregurnow Farmhouse St Buryan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing