We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Star Cottage

Praa Sands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home
The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
The Kitchen - New in 2011, it has a traditional wooden kitchen with granite surfaces.  Dishwasher, F
The Dining Room - Duck egg blue Aga (decommissioned) and traditional cottage dining table for family
The Snug - Double sofa bed and digital TV.  Perhaps a playroom for the kids?
The patio
The en suite - new in 2011
The family bathroom with bath and on demand shower - new in 2011
The single room with antique bed and chest of drawers
Twin Room 1 with antique beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers and chair
Twin Room 2 with antique beds, wardrobe and chair
Double room with en suite, wardrobe and chest of drawers
The en suite walk in shower - new in 2011
Praa Sands beach 1
Praa Sands beach 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Praa Sands, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
G M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for the May half term. The cottage is enchanting with old stone walls, and creaky floorboards, window seats log burner etc. It has endless charm and character and you would happily live there if you could. The furniture provided to sit on in the main living area is my only gripe as it is not very comfortable, but that aside it is adoreable. You would not be disapointed with a stay here.

Just a side note on the state of Praa Sands beach:

Praa sands beach is a little on the "rocky" side and I think Cornwall county council could be well advised to give it some attention as I heard many dis-satisfied beach goers when I was down on the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The nostalgic charm of the cottage
Liked least: The furniture to sit on in the main living area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamma...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Star Cottage for three nights for our first wedding anniversary. I booked the trip and it's safe to say that I earned serious brownie points as the beautiful cottage met our expectations and then some.
The cottage is a very short walk to the stunning Praa Sands beach and also Sandbar, which I would also recommend for either drinks or a bite to eat. Porthleven is walkable and we had trips to St Ives, Lands End and Marazion which were all short drives away.
The cottage itself was spacious, spotlessly clean and peaceful. Parking was no problem and I particularly appreciated the mod cons e.g. TV & DVD player and high speed wireless broadband.
Star Cottage comes highly recommended from both myself and my wife, and it would be equally suitable for larger families as there was plenty of space. I would happily return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, cleanliness and location
Liked least: We could not fault our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Hi there, thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Star Cottage soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallJ...
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable with all the facilities we could want”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

7 friends stayed for a week. Everyone liked the "cottagy" style of the house. We were warm and cosy and the shower and bathrooms were very modern. We were delighted to find all the necessary essentials to enable us to do a bit of cooking, and when the sun shone, we sat out in a delightfully private patio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Smart shower room
Liked least: Lack of pillows, which I am sure will be rectified.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Star Cottage, we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevicoup...
Cirencester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and beautiful property”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Star Cottage in mid May as our first holiday with our 17 week old son. The cottage has absolutely everything that you could need for a self catering holiday and more!

The cottage is beautiful, the decor and furnishings were lovely and we had a perfect week away. Only 5 minutes easy and safe walk to the beach, and close to all the major south Cornwall attractions. Porthleven is a must and St Michael's Mount is only a 10 minute drive away.

We are already looking forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property and it had everything you need, home from home!
Liked least: Small garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We rented Star Cottage for a long weekend in February and had a great time. It was the perfect base for us to explore the surrounding area - St Michael's Mount, Penzanze, St Ives. I had never been to this part of Cornwall before, but the cottage was everything I imagined a coastal cottage to be. Very quaint and very comfortable.
The wood burner in the living room created a great atmosphere for us when the winter winds were whipping around outside and the kitchen had a great dining table so we could all eat together. The bedrooms are small, but very comfortable and the family bathroom had been renovated so very modern. There is also a wet room, so if you're down there in summer and surfing there's somewhere to put all your gear.
All in all it was a really great weekend and I would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“cosy cottage with a great beach close by”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here over an Easter weekend - a little further than we would normally travel for a long weekend but with an early start and latish finish the journey was fine. The cottage is finished well, if you want to cook there is all you need to knock up a few of Jamie Oliver's recipe's and if you don't then a walk down to the main bar overlooking the beach will give you plenty of food options (we had Easter Sunday lunch there).
The beach is really nice and just a five minute walk down the hill, just past the local store(s) which sell everything you need. Bedrooms are nicely done, and bathrooms look to have had a recent upgrade so cosy with the right mod cons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: cosy feel with mod cons
Liked least: low door frames :-)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing