We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful homely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Praa Sands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home
The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
The Kitchen - New in 2011, it has a traditional wooden kitchen with granite surfaces.  Dishwasher, F
The Dining Room - Duck egg blue Aga (decommissioned) and traditional cottage dining table for family
The Snug - Double sofa bed and digital TV.  Perhaps a playroom for the kids?
The patio
The en suite - new in 2011
The family bathroom with bath and on demand shower - new in 2011
The single room with antique bed and chest of drawers
Twin Room 1 with antique beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers and chair
Twin Room 2 with antique beds, wardrobe and chair
Double room with en suite, wardrobe and chest of drawers
The en suite walk in shower - new in 2011
Praa Sands beach 1
Praa Sands beach 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Praa Sands, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
37amanda
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful homely cottage”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our stay at Star cottage in October 2015 a family of four adults and two small children our short visit over the weekend was for a wedding. The cottage was spacious clean with lovely original features and modern bathrooms and kitchen that were lovingly decorated and very well equipped with all the utensils you need for cosy family meals in.The cottage is situated very close to the beach and a local shop. The whole family enjoyed their stay and felt really at home. We will definitely be back again for a longer stay next time. We will also be recommending Star cottage to all our friends and family. Thank you very much for a wonderful experience. hope to see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2015
Amanda - Thank you so much for your kind review. We consider Star Cottage as our home from home so are delighted when our guests have a good stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
2 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our stay in Praa Sands and in this cottage. It has been lovingly done up with lots of care for detail. It is well equipped in terms of kitchen utensils, furniture etc. the bathrooms are modern and comfortable. The cottage feels spacious offering ample room for our party (family of five plus a couple). The beach is within easy walking distance even for our children. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back in 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UKtravell...
London
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a Cornish weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a most enjoyable stay in this thoughtfully equipped cottage. Nothing was to fault. Parking, a nice sitting-out area in the delightfully planted front garden, plenty of space for 7 adults to spread out in 3 downstairs rooms, short walk to the sea and furnished with good furniture (not the cheap stuff you find in some rental properties). We never found a teapot but sure it was somewhere! This property is highly recommended. (Beware the local shop is not very well stocked out of season although it has most things you would need and doubles as a post office).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a good time in our home from home. We have updated our letting guide for guests to let them know about the nearby supermarkets and what is available locally.

Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinawill7...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best holiday rental cottage I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and well appointed, this cottage ticks every box for young and old. I can't remember a holiday in the uk that I hVe enjoyed more. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and quaint, The house has a great fully equipped kitchen and safe outdoor space with a BBQ and outdoor furniture. The cosy lounge has a wood stove . We had fantastic weather and I can see that this house is certainly one for all seasons. ( the thick stone walls and stove would be real Xmas fare)
The locals are friendly and the the local pub serves up great food to accompany your breathtaking beach/sea view. Take a stroll down the beach, pop into the Xmas shop ( I'm not joking!) and head for the roast on a Sunday in the Sandbar and you might just be in heaven. Live music at the weekends and a cracking steak night there on a Friday, we will be back again& again
& again!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you so much for kind review. This is our home from home and we hope everybody has a well earned break.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Star Cottage the second week in August this year and could fault our stay. We were a party of 6 adults and one 18month old on a family holiday and I was a bit worried the cottage would feel a little cramped especially as 2 of us are around 6"3 but it didn't at all - once one of them learned to duck his head slightly when coming down the stairs he was fine, even if it did take him 4 times to remember! The cottage was light, homely and very well equipt, lots of big dishes for family meals for nights in. The location is great, a short 5mins walk to the shop, then 2mins to the beach.
It was our second visit to Praa Sands and definitely not our last and would highly recommend Star Cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped, clean and well maintained cottage with lots of original features. Nice seating area outside and a short walk to the beach at Praa with a food shop/ post office nearby. Might be worth having a visitors book for suggestions of places to visit and eat out etc. Had a great week, thanks, would recommend

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilcockso...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped, spacious yet cosy cottage just over 5 minutes to beach.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is very spacious and full of character with everything you need. Praa Sands is an ideal base for visiting all of Wesr Cornwall and we found ourselves visiting The Sandbar most nights. Good off-road parking for two cars but three can be a bit of challenge. Lots of good eating places and attractions in the area with fabulous coastal walks.

Mobile reception in West Cornwall is, at best, patchy.

We have been to Cornwall many times and this is definitely one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing