We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YHA first time excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“YHA first time excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first time in a youth hostel but it felt more like a hotel! Really good value and there was a restaurant on site for breakfast and for evening meal and it's licensed. Well done to paul and his team we felt very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    39
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
15
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stayed here for easter break.all of the other accomodation are very expensive at that time.this is the only choice and we not regret it. very clean, nice location, near to penzance and lands end.very good stay to tour around cornwall. the only problem is the rooms are too small but you cant complain with the amount you pay.very worth it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I recently stayed at the above and was more than impressed. The venue was well equipped, clean, warm, comfortable, licensed and the staff were exceptionally friendly. Many original features and within walking distance of the centre. However, I would suggest that a taxi back in the dark would be safer option. With regard to breakfast, if all you want is a fry-up go to Wetherspoons. Here you can have a 'full breakfast' to start your day off. That's cereal to toast, fry-up, hot drinks, juice, fresh fruit etc. Very good deal for the dosh in my opinion. If you decide to go to Lands End consider catching the Greyhound double-decker. More frequent than the First service. Lots of walks to consider and lots of local information readily available from the staff. Some 'reviewers' haven't been too kind about the atmosphere of the place/staff. Don't know what their expectations were. I have absolutely no complaints to make and will ensure to book here again very shortly. This is indeed value for money and then some. This is, without doubt, a value for money destination. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant stay at this YHA with 15 of our friends over the NY break - we had a great and as always, what superb value for money! All of our friends would recommend this place to anyone - a big well done and thankyou to Paul and his team, you made our time in Cornwall fantastic
Happy new year to you all

Best regards

Sharon and Tim Walton

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallerswalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Our family of four stayed on a £29.95 per night deal which included family room and evening meal.
The hostel is large but well lit, very warm, spacious and has a lovely welcoming atmosphere. There is a large lounge with tv, books and games (puzzles, board games etc) a small games room with pool and table football, good sized members kitchen and separate dining hall. Most of the facilities are in the basement so lots of going up and down stairs. The hostel is licensed so you cannot take your own alcohal but you can purchase a pleasant bottle of wine for £8.95.

The bunk beds were exceptionally comfortable and long enough and sturdy enough so no squezing or cramped legs or rattling/wabling.

When we stayed we were the only guests in the hostel, but the staff were still very helpful and obliging and didn't make us feel watched at all.

The only small gripe would be the meal that was included was very small portioned and you all had to agree one thing to eat between you. So there was little choice and we made up the volume by ordering extra chips. But for the cost overall for the money for a family for it was unbeatable.

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyJerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Impeccably clean, large, updated bunk rooms, very friendly staff, great food. Delightful place to stay during your adventures through Penzance and surrounding areas. If on foot, it's about 20 min walk from train station.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed for two nights. The hostel was at full capacity but it didn’t seem overcrowded. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had dinner on one evening which I felt was a little overpriced. My breakfast was better value. The bar/restaurant is airy and pleasant. The hostel was quiet at night and I slept well. I only used the self catering facilities to store some food for lunch. The fridges were very full and the self catering kitchen was really busy at breakfast.

The hostel is slightly out of town. It is about a 20mins walk or a short ride on the number 5 or 6 bus. There is a lot of do in the local area. I would recommend the Wayside museum in Zennor (bus 508). St Michael’s Mount at Marazion (Bus 2). St Ives (bus 300 or the really scenic train line). Mousehole and walking on the coast path to Lamora Cove (bus 6). If you area planning on taking buses then ask for a day ticket (£7.50 for First buses only or £10 for all bus companies and the trains in Cornwall).

I intend to return to Penzanace YHA next year. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
1.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
6.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.8 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Property: YHA Penzance
Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Castle Horneck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck
YHA Penzance Castle Horneck, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing