We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place!”
Review of YHA Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing place!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

very pleasant and friendly staff who made you feel welcome. family room was adequate but clean and airy with comfy beds.lots of showers/loos. house was amazing, spacious. kitchen clean& spacious. dining room clean and spacious-very interesting as in the cellar part of the house were the maids/butlers would have been years ago. lovely garden. good location. definitely will return with my family :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeladelangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    41
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
15
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Penzance Youth Hostel is very well equipped and comfortable, with good facilities including the self catering kitchen. The evening meals were good value and the staff were accommodating in serving me slightly after the usual hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first time in a youth hostel but it felt more like a hotel! Really good value and there was a restaurant on site for breakfast and for evening meal and it's licensed. Well done to paul and his team we felt very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stayed here for easter break.all of the other accomodation are very expensive at that time.this is the only choice and we not regret it. very clean, nice location, near to penzance and lands end.very good stay to tour around cornwall. the only problem is the rooms are too small but you cant complain with the amount you pay.very worth it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I recently stayed at the above and was more than impressed. The venue was well equipped, clean, warm, comfortable, licensed and the staff were exceptionally friendly. Many original features and within walking distance of the centre. However, I would suggest that a taxi back in the dark would be safer option. With regard to breakfast, if all you want is a fry-up go to Wetherspoons. Here you can have a 'full breakfast' to start your day off. That's cereal to toast, fry-up, hot drinks, juice, fresh fruit etc. Very good deal for the dosh in my opinion. If you decide to go to Lands End consider catching the Greyhound double-decker. More frequent than the First service. Lots of walks to consider and lots of local information readily available from the staff. Some 'reviewers' haven't been too kind about the atmosphere of the place/staff. Don't know what their expectations were. I have absolutely no complaints to make and will ensure to book here again very shortly. This is indeed value for money and then some. This is, without doubt, a value for money destination. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant stay at this YHA with 15 of our friends over the NY break - we had a great and as always, what superb value for money! All of our friends would recommend this place to anyone - a big well done and thankyou to Paul and his team, you made our time in Cornwall fantastic
Happy new year to you all

Best regards

Sharon and Tim Walton

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallerswalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Our family of four stayed on a £29.95 per night deal which included family room and evening meal.
The hostel is large but well lit, very warm, spacious and has a lovely welcoming atmosphere. There is a large lounge with tv, books and games (puzzles, board games etc) a small games room with pool and table football, good sized members kitchen and separate dining hall. Most of the facilities are in the basement so lots of going up and down stairs. The hostel is licensed so you cannot take your own alcohal but you can purchase a pleasant bottle of wine for £8.95.

The bunk beds were exceptionally comfortable and long enough and sturdy enough so no squezing or cramped legs or rattling/wabling.

When we stayed we were the only guests in the hostel, but the staff were still very helpful and obliging and didn't make us feel watched at all.

The only small gripe would be the meal that was included was very small portioned and you all had to agree one thing to eat between you. So there was little choice and we made up the volume by ordering extra chips. But for the cost overall for the money for a family for it was unbeatable.

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyJerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
1.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
6.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.8 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Property: YHA Penzance
Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Castle Horneck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck
YHA Penzance Castle Horneck, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing