We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coldstreamer Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulval B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Combines great food, B&B accomodation with all you want in a local pub. Only gave it 5 stars because 6 are not allowed! Staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and, surprisingly quiet being above a pub. Can't fault the place and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Coldstreamer is an attractive Pub offering B&B in Gulval. Lovely old Victorian building and recently refurbished bedrooms. The cooked breakfast was good and evening meals looked very good although we didn't have one. The en-suite bedrooms are clean and simple. However, the double bed was extremely uncomfortable. It had a thin open coil mattress - with very thin padding, that was extremely bouncy. We just didn't expect this. Pocket sprung or foam mattresses are virtually universal in the hospitality industry. Didn't sleep very well and were consequently grumpy the next day. Only one chair was provided in the room (although there was room for a second). The toilet lid didn't open fully because the toilet had been squeezed in directly next to a wall in the small en-suite shower room. Coffee provided for the cafetiere, plus ear plugs in case you want to sleep before the pub closes! Seems a pity to scrimp on the beds when they are so fundamental to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A really nice comfortable Pub/Hotel in a good location. We chose this location as it was easy to drive to the different locations on the sharp end of Cornwall, a bonus was the 18.09 bus that stopped right outside the pub Mon-Sat which meant we could catch this into Penzance, have a few drinks in the really amazing and ancient pubs in town and get a taxi back. The food was outstanding both the breakfasts with a great selection of cooked breakfasts, yoghurts and fish, all locally sourced. We ate in the hotel two nights and the food was of high quality and presentation standards you would expect from a top notch restaurant. Parking is easy outside the pub or in front of the church and the location is on a great spot close to the A30 for easy driving out to the different sites we visited. The room was big and airy as was the bathroom and very well maintained and cleaned. A great place to stay a while - thank you!!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned we asked for a room not on the Church side as we were concerned about the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_wendy_woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights B&B, The room was very inviting very comfy bed, big shower room, coffee,tea, etc. The downside was the sound coming up through from the bar, not loud music, but a deep bass sound resonating up into our room. Then in the morning they emptied the bottles onto a lorry outside room, and with a noisy tractor going by as well didnt make for the best of stays. but all in all was good value and such a nice little village and church, apart from when the bell chimes on the hour.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

What a wonderful time my partner and I had whilst staying at the coldstreamer. When I booked the room for 2 nights stay I stated that my partner is gluten free and I was assured that he would be well catered for.. We were not disappointed! Not only were the staff and chef very helpful in pointing out what would and would not be suitable for him, the chef also very kindly sourced gluten free bread for the table at dinner and for breakfast! The food was absolutely delicious - the chef is very talented! I can strongly recommend the crab salad starter. Great choice at breakfast - lovely freshly cooked hot food, as well as a fish option, fruit and yoghurt, cereals and toast so something for everyone!
We also took our dog with us.. The coldstreamer do provide dog beds if required. It is a very short walk to the beach, and from there it is a level walk along the seafront into Penzance.
The rooms are nice and clean with extremely comfortable beds, nice soft towels also provided. Spacious bathroom with large shower - maybe they should provide instructions as it took a few minutes to figure out how to work it, but no big deal. What impressed me the most was having real coffee and milk rather than the usual instant and long life!! Plenty of it provided as well which also made a pleasant change. The only reason I gave the rooms 4 out of 5 was that we found it to be very stuffy and hot, even though we had the bathroom and bedroom windows wide open for the duration of our stay. Personally the church bell did not bother us and one of the negative comments on here is about the birds.. I don't consider this to be the responsibility of the coldstreamer??!! Maybe I'm biased as I live in a small village in Devon and would not be happy without the sound of wildlife - better that than traffic noise!
My only criticism is that the bar area looks very tired. However, everything else made up for it! Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiknakDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The room we had was opposite the church and town roundabout. Unfortunately it had a strong odour like methylated spirits - so we opened the window - however the historic church across the street had a bell which rang every hour on the hour. Then around 3 am the local birds had a major confab right outside the window. Apart from the external disruptions, the bed linen was extremely slippery, and we found it difficult to work the shower.
The redeeming feature was the food - we had dinner in the pub and had a lovely meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelon4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stopped on our way back from The IOS, for a one night stop over, before driving back to the North. Room clean & Modern, even a cafetiere with fresh ground coffee, fresh milk available from the restaurant to take to your room, no UHT! Good shower & complementary items, eccellent village location yet only minutes from Penzance.
Restaurant top class food 10/10, waitress (Kelly) looked after us very well, asking us within minutes of serving food if everything is OK, the correct time to ask!
Pub also very friendly the French Barman Vincent, making us very welcome,
Well done Tom, Dick & Harry, you'll understand that if you stay, we will be back, thanks Coldstreamer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andybonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#32 of 84 in Penzance
78 reviews
0 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#45 of 84 in Penzance
282 reviews
0 mi away
Penmorvah
Penmorvah
#38 of 84 in Penzance
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coldstreamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coldstreamer Inn

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulval
Price Range: £80 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coldstreamer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coldstreamer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coldstreamer Hotel Gulval
The Coldstreamer Inn Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing