We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coldstreamer Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gulval B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay again, although we were in a different room to our last visit. The room we had this time had a huge damp patch on the wall where a fire place had been boarded up, mould on the curtains and unfortunately had a noisy, quite smelly macerator on the toilet. Other than these point room was fantastic! Overlooking the church (couldn't here the bells!) we had a lovely view across the village, fresh filter coffee, a huge clean room and of course, dog friendly!
Breakfast, as last visit, was fantastic. Quality ingredients, gorgeous apple juice and friendly service.
I think most of the staff were new from our last visit but all were friendly.
If there were a few tweaks with the room I would have given a five star review.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stumbled across this little gem for a bite to eat last September and were so impressed with the quality of the food decided to book in for a bank holiday break away. Room rates a very reasonable £85 a night inc breakfast for the 2 of us and we were not disappointed!
The hosts were great, really friendly and the French gentlemen mentioned in other reviews was a gem! We were offered dinner reservations on our arrival which we declined the first night but booked for the second night. Book for the dinner as part of your stay, you will not be disappointed! Fabulous quality and very reasonably priced. The drinks in the bar are also a good price per pint.
The breakfast is out of this world! Freshest produce and the black pudding is the best I've ever eaten (never liked the stuff before now!) Choice of eggs, and delicious local apple juice on tap! Not forgetting unlimited toast and local preserves and cereal too! Easily worth £20 so really your overnight stay is only £65, really can't grumble!
The room was perfect. We stayed in Room 3. Good size, huge bed! Filter coffee and bottles of water in the room is a great touch! Bathroom huge! Great shower, takes a couple minutes to warm up but once it's warm, it's really a great shower!
The Coldstreamer has got things just perfect, great local pub setting with fantastic B&B facilities and a brilliant chef serving a wonderful menu! If staying for more than one night, do the restaurant one night and the bar snacks the next! Fab! Thanks for a wonderful stay, we are planning to book for December to visit the Mousehole for the Christmas lights.
Cannot recommend this place enough as it's within walking distance of Penzance (footpath takes you to sea front, about 1.5mile walk from B&B) but you are within driving distance of everything in Cornwall! We are from Devon so only across the border and we have fallen in love with this village and surrounding areas! Ample on road parking in the village too!
Add this place to your bucket list, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay as part of our anniversary road trip, The Coldstreamer is a charming friendly place to stay, excelent valuefor money and good service. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lornab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I choose this hotel/pub to stay in when we visited Penzance because of its location and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food served in their restaurant. It made our stay a most memorable one.

Room Tip: Ignore comment about Swimming Pool and fitness centre - they are none but I can't delete them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked into the Coldstreamer again hoping it would be as good as before. The evening meal was fantastic with fresh local ingredients. The reasonable prices do not reflect the quality of the food. Breakfast was equally good with witty service! Gallic humour abounds! We watched as the local fisherman, butcher, veg grower arrive with their goods first thing. Rooms immaculately prepared. We will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EricaHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I found the Coldstreamer when searching for dog friendly hotels near Penzanze because as we wished to visit my Aunt and Uncle who live nearby, but also wanted to explore West Cornwall with the dog.
When booking the price seemed very reasonable and at £70 for 2, (plus the dog) including breakfast and if anything it lowered my expectations. However this only served to make the hotel seem more impressive and even better value!
We received a warm greeting when we arrived and were shown to a comfortable, clean room. The hotel provided a big bed and towel for the dog, who quickly made himself at home. Whilst the room was simple in appearance, it was well equipped and had a homely feel. There was a great selection of free hot drinks, biscuits and free bottled water, which at the price was impressive! Having seen a couple of pairs of ear plugs we were concerned that the room may prove noisey, particularly as it was over the bar. However these fears proved unwarranted and we both slept very well without the ear plugs!
We spent the evening in the bar and ate a selection of excellent bar snacks that were again great value and very tasty. There was a good selection of bar and board games to keep us entertained, whilst sampling the well kept cider and very nice wine, (suggested by a friendly and knowledgeable French barman).
Breakfast proved to be fantastic - delicious fresh ingredients in the cooked breakfast, which wasn't at all greasy. There was pleanty of tea, fresh coffee and juices, plus loaves of bread to cut your toast exactly to your own liking. Throw in a wide selection of cereals and there was no chance of leaving hungry!
I was in 2 minds about writing a review for the Coldstreamer because selfishly I'd like the place to remain a secret, however it deserved to be recognised as a well run, friendly and welcoming pub with good food, drinks and atmosphere. The rooms are simple but well equipped and comfortable - add in the fact that they are dog friendly and for me you have a real gem of a find!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwrb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ate here last night and the food was absolutely amazing! It's a lovely restaurant (accommodation available), just a five minute easy drive from Penzance. We found it by pure luck when looking in the AA restaurant guide. I think the pork terrine is the best I've ever tasted. We had three courses and they were exceptional! The staff were polite & entertaining. They had an exhibition of pencil drawings which were so good we had to buy one! My only regret is that it's not closer to where I live!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
832 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#64 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coldstreamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coldstreamer Inn

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR18 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gulval
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coldstreamer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coldstreamer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coldstreamer Hotel Gulval
The Coldstreamer Inn Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing