We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and super location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have stayed at Kenegie Manor several times and been allocated various 'Old Court' chalets. The standard of the actual accommodation does vary as some of the chalets have been updated by their owners. This year our chalet did not have double glazing but was clean and comfortable and the kitchen had been updated. This is a quiet site with lovely views over the bay. We find it an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area and the staff at the park are helpful and friendly.
As mentioned by others, you do need a car as the site is on a country road outside of Penzance but, if like us, you holiday in Cornwall to visit the lovely St Ives, Porthcurno, Mousehole, Sennen Cove etc. it is ideal.
We frequently park in Penzance and take the bus from the bus station to Mousehole or St Ives. [Parking in St Ives is at the top of the town and involves a steep walk or bus trip back to the car park and Mousehole being a quaint and tiny fishing village, only has limited parking.]

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We rented flat number 20 (in the actual manor house, not the holliday bungalows) and it was a very beautiful flat with a lot of light and great views; it was also very newly renovates to a high standard. The property is near enough Gulval and Penzance but you do need a car every time you go out as the road that leads to town is very narrow and not safe for pedestrians, not to mention very, very steep! The location is good to allow to explore the local area. There was free wi-fi in the flat but I understand that that is not the case for every property you may rent in Kenegie. The only disappointment for us was the swimming pool and sauna facilities. First of all, they are only open when most people are out, such as 10:00-13:00 and 15:00-18:00 (not sure about the exact times) when it would be nice to use the facilities after a long day walking around Cornwall. If you've had a good day, chances are you will not be back at Kenegie for the "last swin" at 5:30... Moreover, the swimming pool was very, very dated so it was quite a disappointment as it was one of the easons we had picked Kenegie Manor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Kenegie Manor, the first time we stayed we hired a cottage and it was brilliant, recently we hired a Bungalow in Park 10 and it was superb, private warm, comfortable, great value for money and clean and warm. The staff at KM are great and friendly, booking is easy and you have everything you could need. We will be back again next year for sure.
Lynne and Doug

Room Tip: Property nearer the entrance to the park is quieter, but overall it's peaceful anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in the old court booked directly with the owners. The accomodation was a bit basic and had an air of dampness about it. But it was clean. However the real issue was the thiness of the walls. You could have a conversation with your neighbours without going outside. The pool was ok but had strange opening times. Needs some cash spending on it as do the tennis courts. Overall average place desperately needing some tlc

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. Most reviews paint a totally different picture, but we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

We have owned the park since 1998 and during that time you are the first person that I have heard comment on "thin walls". I had always been given to understand that these properties were built to housing standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Having read other reviews we ( my husband and myself ) really weren't expecting much. We can only assume we are not staying in the same place!!! We are just on our first day here and already are more than happy. Our park bungalow is immaculate, brilliantly equipped and VERY cosy. We were greeted and given our keys on arrival and immediately told " any problems come straight back and we'll sort them out". We have just returned from the. "pub" where we enjoyed a delicious and well prepared meal ( steak and the trimmings), beautiful. Very friendly place/staff. We are just looking forward to the rest of the week, and will DEFINATELY be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sceneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

I assume from your "expectations that you had read some negative reviews before you came. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We are a family of four and stayed at No1. Old Court in July and thought it offered excellent modern facilities that have been completed by the current private owners. The bathroom was new and spotless. The kitchen was new and modern with everything you could think of. Having read some of the previous comments on Tripadvisor I was worried what we were going to get. The children used the site indoor pool, as well as the tennis courts which kept them away from the TV and entertained outdoors. The site staff were very welcoming and helpful with ideas for things to do, but we just ran out of time. Having spoken to others during our stay it seems that not all accommodation is of a similar standard. We thought it was a quiet site with well maintained grounds. Only criticism is that the bar needs an extraction system to prevent food smells circulating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had the perfect summer holiday this year staying at The Pendennis Bungalow in Kenegie Manor. The Bungalow itself was a private let and was fresh, clean and comfortable. We are a family with 2 young boys ages 4 & 6 and they loved the swimming pool and tennis courts.The pool has restricted opening hours (10 till 1 and 3 till 6) but we went most days and at times we had it to ourselves. The grounds of Kenegie Manor are well kept and quiet. The area is close to many beautiful beaches and places to visit. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good value holiday home to spend time with their family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgtsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments - everyone will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
5.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing