We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and isolated -but nice!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Norton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and isolated -but nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent a week at Kenegie Manor with my fiance in late June. Took the Guival road from Penzance and were surprised at how far we had to drive, much further than it looked on google maps! Upon arrival we found that our Gold Apartment was right above the pub - oh dear we thought, would we be kept awake by the sounds of revelry below? The apartment itself was first rate - no complaints at all about the standard of accomodation.

After a long drive we decided to eat in the pub that first evening, and we soon realised that we we not be kept awake by the noise. The pub was virtually empty and closed at 9.30 anyway. As mentioned in other reviews the bar could do with a bit of a refurbishment but was ok. However, the fact that non of the fish items on the menu were available due to 'supplier problems' was odd considering there is a major fishing port just down the road....We both ended up having the chilli - one meat and one vegi - and it was fine. We didn't use the bar again, but mainly because we prefared to eat out or cook something ourselves in the apartment.

After our meal we had a walk around the site and both thought "where is everyone?". The place was deserted. The only sign of life was the white cat (Asbro?) who would keep us entertained for the rest of the week. At this point we did not realise that many of the properties were privately owned and only used occasionally. Conversely, some of the apartments/houses seemed to be lived in full time - how many people on holiday take their child to school every morning? The site remained quiet for the rest of our stay. As for facilities, the lack of a shop was a real disadvantage, although it was only a short drive to Tescos/Morrisons a site shop makes life so much easier. The swimming pool, like the bar, could do with an update and its limited opening hours meant it was closed by 6.00 pm - just the time we wanted a swim after a day out seeing the sights!

And seeing the sights is the main reason to stay at Kenegie Manor - from there it is only a short drive to St Ives, Mousehole, St Michael's Mount, Lands End etc etc. The location is perfect - as long as you have a car. We tried walking to Penzance one day and although it only took 40 minutes it was quite dangerous as you have to walk along country lanes with no pavemant. Not wanting to do the return journey in the dark we got a taxi back.

In short there are things wrong with Kenegie Manor but the location is perfect for a holiday in Cornwall. As long as you are not expecting a busy site with lots of entertainment you shouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

I wonder if this was a matter of perception and you were expecting a busy holiday park. In our publicity we explain that this is "no way a traditional holiday park" and the reason that the estate appears very quiet is that 60% of the bungalows and cottages are privately-owned and are not let to the public - they are used just weekends and 2 or 3 weeks during the year as second homes.

With regard to the bar, how do you reburbish a 400 year old building without totally ruining the character of the place. Our regular guests love it the way it is and describe it as "Quiet and peaceful", " nice and quiet" in their reviews.

I do hope you come back to see us again now that you know what to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    37
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
87
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have holidayed at Kenigie Manor several times. We have always stayed in the small bungalows(as I call them).
The accomodation is excellent. We can take our little dog with us which, for us is a bonus. The site and accomodation is excellent. Cant wait to go again. The bed was amazing as both my husband and myself have some awful sleepless nights but at Kenegie we both slept every night right through.My only regret is that I did not find out what mattress was on the bed. Hope Paul can tell me that. We were in NO.31.We tell everyone about this place as we love it so much.

Room Tip: We did`nt use a "fitness centre" And as for service a light bulb went and the maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpatSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our regular guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in a gold apartment and I loved the place. Clean big and equipped . It was lovely the living room had two sofas. The beds was nice, loved the un- suit and the balcony .

The things on site was not good. The pool was small and when we got out are eyes was red raw! The pub was dated and smelly they had non of are wanted drinks. The tenice court was uneven the play area had nothing but a climbing frame. But when we left something behind we called them but they said they through it in the bin!

But I will bace my review on the accommodation witch was brill

Room Tip: Go for gold apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to your comments about the park, we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

I am pleased to hear that you rated the accommodation very highly and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My family and I (comprising of two adults and three children) have just returned from a midweek stay at Kenegie Manor; booked with Hoseasons. We stayed in a dormer cottage, 29 Old Court and while the accommodation is somewhat basic, it's clean and comfortable and suited us perfectly as a base to explore. Kenegie Manor park is a quiet holiday park with a bar/ restaurant, indoor pool, small children's play area, tennis court and launderette. Don't book if you are expecting a tacky Haven type holiday with entertainment etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, the location of the park is in the lovely village of Gulval and a stones throw from Penzance. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend Kenegie Manor to other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarity971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped at number 50 old court on the complex it's self there is a tennis court and indoor swimming pool and bar area the pool was a bit on the cold side though could have done with it heated up at bit no lockers for your clothes in the changing rooms which would have been nice the laundrette on site is £5 per load of clothes and the tumble dryer is £1 for 25 minutes they are industrial washers and dryers I needed 50 minutes to dry my towels and other stuff also the John fowler owned pub on site which also runs the pool and laundrette sells bar meals which me and my family sampled it was ok find picture of the food below and if needed would eat there again my only gripe is the free wifi if to many people are online at the same time it's terrible in the bar area but in the lounge area it's not to bad the staff where very helpful and the grounds outside are well kept a children's play area is ok for younger kids but not over the age of 12 but get what 12 yr old wants to play on swings and climbing frames the town of gulvul is minutes drive away and penzance to lots of shops places to eat in and out car parking in tbe town is good right on the docks so far on our family trip we have done lands end only 7 miles away st Michaels mount the Eden project st ives and the tate gallery still 3 days left to do Newquay zoo & flambards theme park would defiantly come here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upayforwhatyouget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the cottage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Literally half the site seemed vacant during the holiday high season. There is a reason for this. The cottages are very basic, with no labour saving devices and no wifi. A load of washing costs £5!!! There are more than 100 cottages on the site. All of the ground is covered with cottages, leaving a tiny bit of waste ground as the only space to kick a ball about. All of the disadvantages of Butlins, with none of the advantages. There was no children's playground to engage children over the age of 3. The pool is open only 6 hours a day, in two sessions, and the rules were so restrictive it made it difficult for children to have fun (no jumping, balls, inflatables etc). There was no interesting features in the pool (eg slides etc) to engage children (and it was too short for swimming lengths). The staff were friendly and the proprietor helpful though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in a chalet, which was exceptional value for money. Everything you need inside with outside space to sit too and parking. The beds were comfy and the cooking facilities were perfect.

The location is excellent, very peaceful and tranquil.

Unfortunately the park has some strange opening times for the pool and bar. We was disappointed to find the entrance to the bar/recption chained and padlocked several times during the day, the opening times are stated on the door but they only class the peak season as the 6 week school holidays so if you travel outside that time you will find limited use of facilities.
A car is a must due to the location, not because it is far to walk into penzance but the road leading down has no paths, high privet walls at either side, narrow and windy and traffic moves fast including plenty of hgv type vehicles so it is not safe to walk.

The launderette is too expensive, £5 for a 20 minute wash is a joke. Ok soap powder is supplied but I have never been somewhere that charged that before.

The staff are friendly but not all are knowledgeable about the area and like I said, opening times are strange so often there are no staff.

The swimming pool was old, the room appeared to be dilapidated and it is quite small. We did not like it much.

Apart from these few negative points the park itself and chalets were perfect and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellywelly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent review.

On the few points that you picked up, we certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
20.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 17 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Property: Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing