We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous base to explore Cornwall from!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous base to explore Cornwall from!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the third year we have been to Kenegie and we will certainly be booking again!
The cottage we had this year was lovely, well-equipped and cosy. The grounds are well kept and very quiet, which is lovely.

There is so much to see and do nearby that we spent very little time in the cottage. Every year we find something new to explore, and the helpful staff at Kenegie are always happy to point out new things to see. The only down side is that the beds are very hard, but given the numbers of people expecting to sleep on them, it's not too surprising.

This park represents excellent value for money, especially for those who don't need or require constant entertainment or for those who, like us, prefer a peaceful place to spend our hard earned holidays away from the bustle and constant noise we have while at home and work.

Oh! And to answer the nasty comment below, my house is spick and span, thanks! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narnia2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

I am delighted that you enjoyed West Cornwall and all it has to offer and I would like to thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    37
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
87
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at Kenegie Manor in August with my partner, daughter and boyfriend. Got a good deal as nearing the end of the season. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a silver bungalow which we expected to be some sort of chalet but it was actually a charming semi- detached bungalow set in beautiful grounds. The place was clean and tidy.
This is a very quiet camp with a small clubhouse that serves food. There is no entertainment which suited us but wouldn't suit everybody.
The pool is small but has a deep end so take care with children. I actually loved the pool which was rather quirky.
The sauna is electric rather than coals. That I did not like.
There is a small putting green which is not brilliantly maintained but is free. The tennis courts looked past their best.
This place is great for couples wanting peace and quiet. Not really family orientated.
We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Silver bungalows are comfortable and you can take a dog in silver accommodation unlike most holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the bungalow.

With regard to the sauna, all our saunas are electric - they are so much safer than other types, especially for public usage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had an amazing time. everything about the place was fantastic from the staff to the accommodation. would definitely recommend and go back. the area is beautiful. we had a quick and easy check in and was very happy with the size and cleanliness of the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigbearRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet park as advertised and very good value for money. We were in an "upside down" cottage which was spotless. It was fully kitted out with everything we needed and more, such as a garlic press! Quick check in and out no sales hassle or waiting around, check in opened prompt as per the out of season opening hours. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet holiday or base to explore from. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nizzie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the cottage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent four nights here and overall we both found it very good the house we got was clean tidy and had everthing we needed
Check in was swift and helpful
only niggles i have was as i am over six foot tall the light fittings are a little low so i kept hitting my head
Also people not using the dog walking area and not cleaning up after their dog
Apart from that we had a great time exploring cornwall again and we shall return to Kenegie as long as we can book same accomodation

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozzaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon and I can assure you that booking the same accommodation again is so easy by phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have stayed at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park several years running and have normally been quite lucky in the Old Court Bungalows we have been allocated. Sadly this year we were not so lucky and the chalet was very basic. No double-glazing and only the minimum of furnishings and fittings. There was not even a frying pan in the kitchen and we had to request an extension cable in order to use the bedside lamp. There was also no patio furniture but this particular chalet (no.3) did not get much sun anyway due to the direction it faced. However, that said, the staff were helpful, the lady behind the reception desk/bar was very pleasant and helpful. (We didn't request a move as, after a long journey we just wanted to settle in with a minimum of fuss and we were only staying a week plus many things only became obvious after we were fully unpacked). For instance, we found that the water did not heat for the kitchen sink although the shower and bathroom basin both got hot water and the towel rail heated well. The fridge was rather old and the icebox didn't keep frozen things frozen. On the positive side: the park itself is lovely and quiet and very well situated for exploring this area of Cornwall - Sennen Cove, Mousehole, St Ives, etc. I am a little puzzled by people expecting entertainment or a shop as it is well advertised as a quiet park and this is one of the reasons we like it. There is a large Supermarket just down the road so a shop is not really necessary. Due to its position - and as we have been satisfied with our accommodation most years - we will very likely stay here again but I will request a different chalet. If you are exploring South West Cornwall by car, Kenegie Manor Holiday park is a very good base.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

I have been able to identify you from the content of your review and can see that you are one of our VIP customers. To ensure this does not happen again, when you book next time, make the booking by phone and then you can choose the unit - booking online is obviously more random.

I am delighted to read that you still had a great holiday and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We returned to Kenegie Manor this year following an amazing stay last year, and highly recommending to the family. This time my husband and I were accompanied by our daughter her partner and three boys aged 18 16 and 14. We had booked a large barn and on arrival were shown to one which we felt was not suitable for 7. After discussing with the housekeeping manager, we were moved to a larger more suitable accommodation. I have since found that a lot of trouble was gone to to effect this change, but feel it was not on the part of the individual we spoke to as she seemed to have no interest other than to "move to another park" " "there's nothing I can do".
This is no reflection on JF holidays as a whole ,just on the individual at the time. The new accommodation was brilliant for our needs and the rest of our holiday was enjoyed by all.
The only other criticism would be that the facilities were lacking for our party, the pub food was not up to standard and closed at 9.00pm having only opened at 6.00 ( low season and lack of custom) which had it been just the two of us like last year ( when incidentally the food was AMAZING and pub atmosphere ace)we would have been happy with a quiet retreat after days if sightseeing, but with three teenagers !!!
This being said, the park is advertised as quiet and we HAD been before so...we would choose John Fowler again no question, but for this particular combination of ages etc wouldn't choose Kenegie but rather Tolroy Manor nr Hayle which we visited and found more suitable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sceneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review. As you are aware there has recently been a change of management on this park and I feel sure that the new staff will take on board all that you have to say and make improvements for the benefit of future guests.

Thank you for your understanding and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that you will coming back to see us again next year, staying at Tolroy Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
20.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 17 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Property: Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing