We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John fowler”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent a week here, lovely remote location, excellent for exploring from. Accommodation was a two bed roomed cottage with all the conveniences for self catering. Avoid quarry road if using sat nav, typical country lane and very steep! My driving skills were well tested around cornwall and have gained the confidence to do it again. Staff were friendly and helpful, scenic location. I like the idea that you can also take your pet if needed. I would go back here for another holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimmi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked No. 36 Old Court, direct with the owners of that particular property within Kenegie Manor Holiday Park. After a bit of a kafuffle finding the correct property numbered 36, we let ourselves into the end terraced property and discovered it was really well kitted out with everything you could possibly need and thankfully (unlike some holiday rental places we have stayed in before) the furniture and decor was comfortable and modern, no mismatched old furniture here. The bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful and there was a great selection of books and dvd's. This cottage was clean, well looked after and well decorated.

On the first night we popped down to the bar and although it was quiet customer wise, the two members of staff were very friendly and entertaining.

During our stay we also used the swimming pool a couple of times (could not quite see the problem with the open windows that a previous reviewer mentioned, yes a couple of windows were open, but seeing as you were in a nice warm pool this was not an issue).

Whilst it was mentioned on here that the decor looked a bit tired, I suppose if I were to be harsh, I might agree, but I think the old fashioned look of the reception area and pool was part of the park's charm (and indeed, if it were spruced up, then presumably the prices would go up, you cannot win them all).

The park was, overall, clean, quiet and well looked after and we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello Tina

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park.

Whether you book direct with us or through one of the many privately owned villas on the park, all clients are treated the same and our staff work hard to ensure that everyone has a great time.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were given what was supposedly a Gold Bungalow, what a shock from the pictures on website.., they look so drab & tired it put us off as soon as we drove in.. Had booked for 4 adults & I cot for baby, but this had the tiniest bedrooms, a corner of the lounge for a kitchen & a small bathroom. There was no way a cot could be fitted in either bedroom, so we went to Reception to say we could not all stay in the one unit, could we book another. Phone call made to Head office, who obviously wanted us to pay more, which I refused to do as the accommodation was way below my expectations, I would rather have checked into a B & B. The 2 ladies on Reception were really trying to find a solution for us & in the end asked H.O. if they could show us upstairs Apt.12. This was superb, totally new throughout with ensuite double room, twin room, large bathroom, fully fitted kitchen & lovely light lounge, this made a whole difference to our holiday, so thank you ladies for putting yourselves out. Whilst it is obviously out of season it was just too quiet for us, swimming pool was a 'no-no' as for some reason the guys in there had all the windows open, it was freezing. For those with young children, there is nowhere you can walk too as the holiday park is way out of Penzance, up a narrow winding road with no pavements. Gardens are being worked on all the time, so sure in the nicer weather they will be looking good. No entertainment (although I was told it all started from March 8th!)
& bar was hardly open, that is also badly in need of a facelift. We would never return here, although we did enjoy our holiday as there is so much to see & do out & about, by the time we'd been out all day, we were happy to eat in & relax in the evenings...We had a couple of issues with heating & toaster blew up, but these were quickly sorted by the staff. The staff were the saving grace here.

Room Tip: Had our accommodation not been changed, we would not have lasted the week here, but there are some v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hello Linda

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Kenegie Manor. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

The entertainment is a puzzle - Kenegie does not provide entertainment at any time of the year. Perhaps you would be kind enough to let us know where you read about it so that the necessary corrections can be made.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and would hope to see you again now that you are aware of the situation.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My friend and I booked a week not knowing what to expect, we usually grab a week abroad,
We stayed in an amazing cottage, more than we would ever expect at that price! It was spot on,
I can,t wait to return this spring, it ticked all the boxes, l have never stayed anywhere that is so well equipped, very close to all sorts of things to see and do, you can be as active as you want or just relax,

Room Tip: Had a good look round, all seemed good , but the cottages, and barn ,got my vote, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My family and I stayed in one of the apartments in the October half term. The site was very quiet and the apartment was modern and clean. After reading the other reviews I was very dubious about what to expect however when we arrived the apartment exceeded our expectations. It was well furnished and very clean. It was equipped with everything you could possibly need including dishwasher, washer/dryer, vacuum and ironing board/iron. They even provide complimentary soaps and shampoo.
Very good value for money and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoFreefrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes the poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers of the really bad ones to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the third year we have been to Kenegie and we will certainly be booking again!
The cottage we had this year was lovely, well-equipped and cosy. The grounds are well kept and very quiet, which is lovely.

There is so much to see and do nearby that we spent very little time in the cottage. Every year we find something new to explore, and the helpful staff at Kenegie are always happy to point out new things to see. The only down side is that the beds are very hard, but given the numbers of people expecting to sleep on them, it's not too surprising.

This park represents excellent value for money, especially for those who don't need or require constant entertainment or for those who, like us, prefer a peaceful place to spend our hard earned holidays away from the bustle and constant noise we have while at home and work.

Oh! And to answer the nasty comment below, my house is spick and span, thanks! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Narnia2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

I am delighted that you enjoyed West Cornwall and all it has to offer and I would like to thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at Kenegie Manor in August with my partner, daughter and boyfriend. Got a good deal as nearing the end of the season. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a silver bungalow which we expected to be some sort of chalet but it was actually a charming semi- detached bungalow set in beautiful grounds. The place was clean and tidy.
This is a very quiet camp with a small clubhouse that serves food. There is no entertainment which suited us but wouldn't suit everybody.
The pool is small but has a deep end so take care with children. I actually loved the pool which was rather quirky.
The sauna is electric rather than coals. That I did not like.
There is a small putting green which is not brilliantly maintained but is free. The tennis courts looked past their best.
This place is great for couples wanting peace and quiet. Not really family orientated.
We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Silver bungalows are comfortable and you can take a dog in silver accommodation unlike most holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the bungalow.

With regard to the sauna, all our saunas are electric - they are so much safer than other types, especially for public usage.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
834 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
498 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
5.3 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing