We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kenegie Manor Platinum Appartment - John Fowler Holiday Parks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulval
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kenegie Manor Platinum Appartment - John Fowler Holiday Parks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at No 1 which was actually a cottage next to Kenegie Manor and not an appartment in Kenegie Manor itself which was a shame as the photos did not suggest this. Cottage was beautiful and clean in every respect and could not be faulted except for a main bed which sagged in the middle and a very noisy water pumping system. Children expected wi fi in the cottage although this was available in the main clubhouse next door free of charge. The main reception area come bar was rather dated and smelt of fried food all times and the swimming pool whilst having a certain amount of charm has seen better days. Could be very nice if John Fowler Holidays spent a bit of money on upgrading as the park is an excellent base for exploring Penzance, St Ives, Lands End, St Michaels Mount etc which are all within easy reach

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank carter1964steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Steve

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    37
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
80
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Monday after a 7 hour drive, first impressions the grounds and first few bungalows looked I kay! Given the key to our premises it was shocking nothing like we had seen on Hoseasons website. I could of cried was no room for travel cot in our room let alone landing! I'd of rather slept outside with the broken plastic patio furniture. It was like something of a horror film very weird set up,"The Old Court "area something very uncomfortable about it. My husband was shocked was really angry wasn't what he had booked by any means. Thankfully very nice lady at reception went the extra mile for us, and we where moved into an old barn at the back much nicer and more private! She did state that Hoseasons have never seen Kenergie Manor and they have nothing but problems with bookings through them! Worrying that a company would use them. We had a comfortable stay after a spot if cleaning, we didn't use pool or eat there but it looked okay! Place has potential does need a revamp and to watch what companies are giving misguiding information on the place. I am taking the matter with Hoseasons further what we paid for and what we where going to be given was not acceptable at all!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah131429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Sarah

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

I am sorry that you felt you were misled by our agents - that is certainly an uncommon occurrence. Your comments have been passed on to our marketing department in order that accuracy is attained. However, I am delighted that our staff recognised your distress and were able to look after you.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at 25, lovely 2 bed cottage, own parking bay lovely sunny spot, quiet, very comfy, all you need for a relaxed break, loved it, hope to return to same soon.
Staff are very friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble. See you all soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Suzanne

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent a week here, lovely remote location, excellent for exploring from. Accommodation was a two bed roomed cottage with all the conveniences for self catering. Avoid quarry road if using sat nav, typical country lane and very steep! My driving skills were well tested around cornwall and have gained the confidence to do it again. Staff were friendly and helpful, scenic location. I like the idea that you can also take your pet if needed. I would go back here for another holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimmi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked No. 36 Old Court, direct with the owners of that particular property within Kenegie Manor Holiday Park. After a bit of a kafuffle finding the correct property numbered 36, we let ourselves into the end terraced property and discovered it was really well kitted out with everything you could possibly need and thankfully (unlike some holiday rental places we have stayed in before) the furniture and decor was comfortable and modern, no mismatched old furniture here. The bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful and there was a great selection of books and dvd's. This cottage was clean, well looked after and well decorated.

On the first night we popped down to the bar and although it was quiet customer wise, the two members of staff were very friendly and entertaining.

During our stay we also used the swimming pool a couple of times (could not quite see the problem with the open windows that a previous reviewer mentioned, yes a couple of windows were open, but seeing as you were in a nice warm pool this was not an issue).

Whilst it was mentioned on here that the decor looked a bit tired, I suppose if I were to be harsh, I might agree, but I think the old fashioned look of the reception area and pool was part of the park's charm (and indeed, if it were spruced up, then presumably the prices would go up, you cannot win them all).

The park was, overall, clean, quiet and well looked after and we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Tina

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park.

Whether you book direct with us or through one of the many privately owned villas on the park, all clients are treated the same and our staff work hard to ensure that everyone has a great time.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were given what was supposedly a Gold Bungalow, what a shock from the pictures on website.., they look so drab & tired it put us off as soon as we drove in.. Had booked for 4 adults & I cot for baby, but this had the tiniest bedrooms, a corner of the lounge for a kitchen & a small bathroom. There was no way a cot could be fitted in either bedroom, so we went to Reception to say we could not all stay in the one unit, could we book another. Phone call made to Head office, who obviously wanted us to pay more, which I refused to do as the accommodation was way below my expectations, I would rather have checked into a B & B. The 2 ladies on Reception were really trying to find a solution for us & in the end asked H.O. if they could show us upstairs Apt.12. This was superb, totally new throughout with ensuite double room, twin room, large bathroom, fully fitted kitchen & lovely light lounge, this made a whole difference to our holiday, so thank you ladies for putting yourselves out. Whilst it is obviously out of season it was just too quiet for us, swimming pool was a 'no-no' as for some reason the guys in there had all the windows open, it was freezing. For those with young children, there is nowhere you can walk too as the holiday park is way out of Penzance, up a narrow winding road with no pavements. Gardens are being worked on all the time, so sure in the nicer weather they will be looking good. No entertainment (although I was told it all started from March 8th!)
& bar was hardly open, that is also badly in need of a facelift. We would never return here, although we did enjoy our holiday as there is so much to see & do out & about, by the time we'd been out all day, we were happy to eat in & relax in the evenings...We had a couple of issues with heating & toaster blew up, but these were quickly sorted by the staff. The staff were the saving grace here.

Room Tip: Had our accommodation not been changed, we would not have lasted the week here, but there are some v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello Linda

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Kenegie Manor. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

The entertainment is a puzzle - Kenegie does not provide entertainment at any time of the year. Perhaps you would be kind enough to let us know where you read about it so that the necessary corrections can be made.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and would hope to see you again now that you are aware of the situation.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My friend and I booked a week not knowing what to expect, we usually grab a week abroad,
We stayed in an amazing cottage, more than we would ever expect at that price! It was spot on,
I can,t wait to return this spring, it ticked all the boxes, l have never stayed anywhere that is so well equipped, very close to all sorts of things to see and do, you can be as active as you want or just relax,

Room Tip: Had a good look round, all seemed good , but the cottages, and barn ,got my vote, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Kenegie Manor Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulval
1.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
20.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenegie Manor Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenegie Manor Holiday Park

Property: Kenegie Manor Holiday Park
Address: Gulval, Penzance TR20 8YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Gulval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gulval
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenegie Manor Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hills overlooking Mount's Bay and St Michaels Mount, our 11 Acre Holiday Park is simply the perfect place for your holiday or short break in Cornwall. We offer a wide range of self-catering accommodation for guests to choose from, so there's something to suit all tastes and budgets. From beautiful barn conversions to contemporary apartments, the choice is yours ! With a grand 500 year old manor house at the heart of our Cornish country estate, our holiday park is the ideal place to stay, eat explore and have fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Hotel Gulval
Kenegie Manor Holiday Park Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing