We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cakes and coffee.”
Review of The BREWery

The BREWery
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Sileby
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Description: Speciality Coffee Shop, with Deli; locally sourced produce. Artisan Bread, Homemade Cakes, Fresh, local produce. Breakfasts, Lunch, afternoon Tea. Also opens as a pop up restaurant in the evening, as a monthly event. Available to hire.
Restaurant details
Description: Speciality Coffee Shop, with Deli; locally sourced produce. Artisan Bread, Homemade Cakes, Fresh, local produce. Breakfasts, Lunch, afternoon Tea. Also opens as a pop up restaurant in the evening, as a monthly event. Available to hire.
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Stop,t off here for a coffee and cake with family
lovely little cafe .
Service very good .
good choice of cakes plus Gluten free available.
Very child friendly.
Lovely coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaineharrison_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAHnPAUL, Owner at The BREWery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you so much, our cakes are hand made in Mount Sorrel & coffee roasted locally in Leicester, so I am pleased you enjoyed our local produce.
We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave us kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017

We arrived in the area after as 3 hour drive and went in search of food and a drink. There was limited choice in the immediate area but we happened across this little gem. It was 4 0'clock and they were actually about to close the doors but still welcomed us in. We had coffee and cake as the hot food had finished but were grateful for that. The staff were so friendly and chatty even though they should have been closing up to go home. We did not at any time feel rushed. While there we checked out their menu and found it very reasonable with a nice variety of meals and snacks. If we go to this area again we will be sure to visit this cafe again and promise to arrive before closing next time, thanks girls! :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PamelaWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAHnPAUL, Owner at The BREWery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Our pleasure!
So pleased we could accommodate you, albeit minus the food menu! So sorry, we serve food from the menu, from 9am -3pm; We close at 4pm, and in the final hour we serve scones, cakes & drinks. We hope to see you again soon if you are ever in the area! Pleased we made you feel welcome. Thanks so much for your generous words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We visited Brewery on a busy Saturday lunchtime. As was a cold day & this meant the soup was a popular choice. We asked what the soup of the day was and it was butternut squash, yummy we thought. Placed our order & waited for the food to arrive. About 5 minutes later we had a waitress come and apologise and say they'd run out of butternut soup & would offer a replacement. We noticed another waitress come in with Tesco bags who are on the opposite side of the road. We were browsing at the counter & noticed tesco's vegetable soup being unloaded. We were not surprised when our soup arrived to be told it's country vegetable. This is on the menu as homemade organic soup, which is not Tesco soup. It wasnt even their finest range. At £5.50 a bowl I dont expect this to be served to me. Very very disappointing. In future, they should let customers know they have sold out instead of passing off Tesco's food as their own leaving customers disappointed

4  Thank lorrainegol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAHnPAUL, Owner at The BREWery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Huge apologies that your lunch was not as good as you expected.
We have always served 'fresh' soup since we opened a year ago. Our menu states this, which is true. As opposed to 'tinned' soup, which we have never served. Unfortunately, when soup is 'fresh' & not tinned, this does mean sometimes supplies run low & we quickly have to change to another flavour. Tinned soup obviously allows for long term stocks to be kept in the store cupboard. Fresh soup does not.
Our soup does not say "homemade' on the menu & never has.
One particular supplier we used was Organic soup, which is why the menu stated this in the past.
However, I do write "Homemade' on the chalk board, when the soup is in fact homemade. For example, last week, on the chalk board, I personally wrote 'Homemade Beetroot Soup'. This was because it was homemade by my husband. It is also homegrown; He lovingly grows the beetroot, onion & garlic in an allotment in Sileby, along with numerous other vegetables. And then roasts them, cooks them and creates his 'Homemade' soup for The BREWery. We try to do this as often as possible. In addition to this, we have other local suppliers too, who we also purchase the fresh soup from, as sometimes crops are not ready at the correct time. Rod & Ben's soup is an example of one British Fresh organic soup supplier we are proud to use.
Apologies if our soup was not up to the standard you expected on this day. We hope you visit us again soon & give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to have a light bite on a Saturday afternoon. Good food. Nice atmosphere with a rustic shabby chic interior. We munched on the vegi and away boards.

1  Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAHnPAUL, Owner at The BREWery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Really appreciate your wonderful review. Pleased you enjoyed our Deli boards, our interior! And the atmosphere too. Very kind :) Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Great place in Sileby! Everything they do is done right! Top quality and reasonably priced too! Keep up the great work!

Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAHnPAUL, Owner at The BREWery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. And for taking the time to leave us such kind words. Means a lot :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The BREWery also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Sileby, Loughborough
 

Been to The BREWery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing