We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFULL BEDS!!!! STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynnhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lynnhurst Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnstone
Certificate of Excellence
Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“AWFULL BEDS!!!! STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

After booking in this hotel whilst on business, I was expecting a lot better for the money paid. The hotel was lovely and staff was too, but I would never stay again. Having done a 6 hour drive, I was tired so ordered a bottle of Peroni.... That on its own was £3.80... A joke!!! I then when to bed and had about 3 hours sleep, the bed was tiny... And so uncomfortable... A joke for the price. I then had a shower at 7am.... The bathroom was freezing faulty radiator... Again bad for the money. After leaving I sent an email to the Deputy Manager Susan, she offered me a free upgrade when I stay again.... Do you really think I am going to drive 6 hours!!!! Fobbed off!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lunahousewainfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    115
    42
    25
    39
See reviews for
179
182
2
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Hi my husband and I had our joint 50th party we booked two party packages it was absolutely perfect Everything went really smoothly T he party was very busy but despite this there was never a long queue at the bar . Ross who was looking after us was fab and very professional The buffet was great as was the DJ would really recommend it I have had loads of positive messages today

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sus49186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely lunch with Aunt and two cousins as we had not met for some time and it was great to catch up.
Will meet there again as was very handy for all parties concerned and we all enjoyed our lunch very much .
Had a good choice on the menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyBrown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed on Saturday as a Christmas gift from son and daughter in law. They made a good choice. The room was lovely, decor very comfortable even luxurious. All that was required tea making,shampoo all the little things. We had invited friends for dinner and ate in the Weavers restaurant the food was delicious and service excellent. Breakfast in the morning was lovely again the staff could not do enough. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a dream and quiet. The heating worked which does not always happen in hotels or it goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé visited te lynnhurst hotel in febuary. It was one of our possible wedding venues. We had booked a standard double but when arriving we got given the Wallace suite which was the executive suite and it was absolutely beautiful. The room was massive, spotless and Couldn't fault them at all. The service was really good and helpful on helping us choose where to eat. We visited the restaurant and the food was amazing and the bar staff were really nice. Would visit again :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xjacky07x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was a gift from my daughter. One night.b&b. We upgraded to an executive room for £30. The room was very nice, and the bathroom exceptionally nice. The old part of the hotel has great character and the downstairs rooms (the Walton Room?) has beautiful cornicing and Rennie Macintosh style original decorations and features. The bedroom was spacious, refurbished with original coloured glass leaded windows (double glazed) with a comfortable big bed. The only disappointing features were the erratic and difficult to regulate heating, with 2 storage heaters and 2 additional oil filled heaters. You won't be cold, but it was difficult to regulate settings. The only other thing was that I would have liked more than one standard chair (dining type). Otherwise it was good. The staff were polite and friendly and on the ball. We had an evening meal. The menu had a wide selection but there were mainly rice and pasta dishes, and despite the extent of the menu you felt it was not balanced. You had to search through it to decide what to have. (Sometimes I can go into a restaurant and could eat every single thing on the menu - not the case here!) However, the meal was good and reasonably priced. We had a bottle of Australian Sauvignon Blanc, which was excellent (I prefer reds, but enjoyed this). The breakfast was reasonable. Excellent bacon, rubbish sausages, and if you wanted a fried egg you had to ask for one. The tea tasted awful - should have had coffee. Staffing could have been better, but it was acceptable. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay with us here at the Lynnhurst Hotel.
We pride ourselves on our gust services and always strive to deliver excellence in every aspect of customer service.
Once again thank you for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

For years me and my family have went to the lynnhurst for many occasions. On Friday we visited for my brothers birthday. We sat for half an hour before anyone offered us drinks and then no one came back until we went up and asked someone to serve us. This was just the beginning of the bad service. The starters came out and went away without problem. However the mains came and the sides with one of the mains never. We asked politely if we could get the side, they told us it would be out soon. Even asking different waiters the sides never came for the whole night. We gave up asking and the sides never showed up the whole evening. The music was so loud the singer ( who was extremely nice) apologised. We asked the staff if it would be possible to turn down. After other customers asked , the staff still never turned it down. Although it may seem pedantic to ask for the music to be turned down , it was so loud you couldn't hear the person sitting across the table. No one from the end of the starters to the desserts offered us drinks. We went up to the bar to order drinks as a result . The warier said they would be over with them in a minute. They never came over and the waiter stood at the bar speaking. It took us to catch a different waiter walking by before eventually being served. When the desserts came, we asked for sweeteners for tea , the never came again until we asked another waiter. Overall it was extremely disappointing. We thought it may have been short staffed but the restaurant was quiet compared to previous times and there was always staff up at the bar talking as they didn't have tables to serve. Incase those reading this think we may be the type to complain readily , we have never felt the need to complain about any restaurant never mind the lynnhurst which we have visited for years. The staff simply couldn't be bothered. All we wanted was reasonable service , but we never received it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misssam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaunlynnhurst, Manager at Lynnhurst Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay with us here at the Lynnhurst Hotel.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation with regards to our food service within the hotel; we pride ourselves of our customer service and food within the hotel.
I have taken all of your comments on board and have addressed any failings as a matter of priority
Thank you once again for your feedback


Shaun Donnelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstone
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnhurst Hotel

Property: Lynnhurst Hotel
Address: Park Road, Johnstone PA5 8LS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Johnstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynnhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone an extensive refurbishment, The Lynnhurst Hotel combines traditional grace with modern efficiency, making it Renfrewshire's new aspirational venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lynnhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynnhurst Hotel Johnstone, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing